Friday, April 29, 2011

Alexa Hops

These are new hops to me. Do you want to join me in improving your Alexa rating? Come play along.





Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Friday 4/29/11 Blog Hops!

I hope that you all are well on this Friday. The sun is out here, but it's cold. I can't believe it's been this cold in April...really all month. Brr! I'm ready for some warmer days. For now I'll deal with it, because I enjoy the sunshine no matter what. Besides we have a beach vacation coming soon, and I know that will be worth the wait.

What are you waiting for or looking forward to?

Make sure you get in on these great giveaways going on now:




Smart and Trendy Moms












#ff63e0




Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Jamie Broza’s “I Want a Dog” CD Review + {Giveaway – Ends 5/10}

I Want a Dog
He’s back with his first new children’s CD in five years. Jamie Broza knows how to connect with children in his latest CD I Want a Dog featuring Israeli superstar David Broza. Broza has a great voice, and the songs will make your children want to sing along. The lyrics are catchy very relatable to children.

A little more about it from the publisher:
I Want a Dog2 NEW YORK, NY (Jan. 13, 2011) – Broza is back! Four-time Emmy-winning composer/performer Jamie Broza announces the March 15 release of his first new children’s album in five years, I Want a Dog! (Good Mood Records, $12.99, for ages 3 – 7, run time 41 minutes). The Latin-infused album features a guest appearance by Jamie’s cousin, Israeli superstar David Broza.

Although I Want a Dog! opens with some fine canine rhythmic banter on its title track, don’t expect 41 minutes of strictly dog talk.  Get set for more surprises than you ever thought possible on one disc.  For many of the songs on I Want a Dog!Jamie Broza has brilliantly called upon the sophisticated stylings of Brazilian bossa nova, which experienced a tidal wave of popularity in the 1960s but often flies under the radar of today’s young families. This is music that never gets in the way of the lyrics, creating the ultimate story-song setting.   Listening to I Want a Dog! is almost like listening to the sound track of a hysterically zany home movie -- a document of off-the-wall family fun creatively imbued with terrific comedic timing and brainy humor.  

I Want a Dog! follows Jamie Broza’s critically acclaimed children’s albums Bad Mood Mom (and other Good-Mood Songs), winner of the Parents’ Choice® Gold Award and named by Parents’ Choice as one of the top 25 children’s CDs in the last 25 years, and My Daddy is Scratchy, winner of the NAPPA Gold Award.

In the five years since the release of My Daddy is Scratchy, Jamie Broza's alter ego, Jamie Lawrence, has been busy writing music for HBO documentaries, indie films, and the Tony Awards and watching his little kids turn into teenagers. Praised by The New York Times for his “superb jazz and funk-tinged orchestrations,” Jamie’s credentials include producing the music score for the indie film The Ballad of Jack and Rose starring Daniel Day Lewis, composing the theme song of As The World Turns, and scoring special segments for The Tony Awards and The Kennedy Center Honors.He has written the scores for numerous documentary and feature films for CBS, NBC, PBS, HBO, and the Discovery Channel. Jamie has worked with such luminaries as Burt Bacharach, Ray Charles, Placido Domingo, Aretha Franklin, Herbie Hancock, Quincy Jones, Carly Simon, Nathan Lane, Jessye Norman, and Smokey Robinson.

Jamie credits his family’s rescue dog, Dusty, adopted from North Shore Animal League America, as his muse for I Want a Dog!  In gratitude, Jamie will donate 20 percent of the profits from this album to North Shore Animal League America, and he hopes that this CD will encourage others to adopt rescue animals.
I Want a Dog3
This has been a fun CD to add to my son’s growing collection. Zachariah loves dogs (we have one), so the title song really appealed to him. And you can’t help but have a little fun with song titles like-I Like Dogs, I Want a Dog!, Waters of March, Turn That Phone Off, Three Blind Mice, Guatemala, New School, Difficult Friends, Birthday Parties Always End in Tears, The No Game, My Work is Never Done, Lost Cat, Where’s Charlie?, Monster Voice, Trick or Treat, Choo Choo Train and Sisters.

You can get I Want a Dog! by Jamie Broza online from Amazon, www.goodmoodrecords.com, BigKidsVideo.com and CdBaby.com. And you might also see it at independent children’s retailers. Or if you’d like to win a copy, see below how you can do that.


Prize – 1 I Want a Dog! CD by Jamie Broza

To Enter – Tell me which song on this CD you like best? 

Extra Entries:
-Subscribe by RSS feed or feed reader
-Subscribe by email
-Follow by Google Friend Connect
-Posy my button on your blog/website
-“Like” my Facebook fan page
-“Like” Jamie Broza on Facebook 
-Be my friend on Facebook
-Follow me on Networked Blogs
-Enter another giveaway here
-Comment on a non-giveaway post
-Follow me on Twitter
-Post about the giveaway on TwitterEnter to #win “I Want a Dog” CD by Jamie Broza from @psmomreviews – http://tinyurl.com/3c4nhrk #giveaway


This giveaway is open now through Tuesday, May 10th. I will post the winner on Wednesday, May 11th.

Open to USA & Canada only!


*Disclosure: I was not paid to post this, but a product was provided for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.*

Monday, April 25, 2011

Action Pack 4 DVD Set Review + {Giveaway – Ends 5/8} (CLOSED)

Action Pack

First we had one for the girls (and boys too), now this one is for the boys (and girls too). If there’s anything I know about boys, and I’m still learning so much, it’s that they lead action-packed lives. The energy level for a little boy is just crazy. And action is what they crave. That’s why the new Action Pack 4 DVD Set from HIT Entertainment and Lionsgate is perfect for preschool boys. You will find Thomas, Bob the Builder, and Fireman Sam all in one great set.

Here is what you’ll find on this exciting Action Pack 4 DVD Set:
Any boy is sure to love the set, which is also perfect for Easter gift-giving!  Including two titles from Thomas & Friends, the #1 Preschool DVD and toy brand plus exciting adventures from the all-new CG animated series of Bob the Builder and Fireman Sam, HIT Entertainment continues to create entertaining content and rich characters that become lifelong friends to children.  The programs encourage kids to explore their imaginations and the world around them and teaches early lessons to grow in both heart and mind.

DVDs included:

Thomas & Friends: Steamies vs. Diesels: On the Island of Sodor, two kinds of engines help keep Sir Topham Hatt’s railway running smoothly – Steamies and Diesels. But is the Island big enough for both? It’s not always easy for these engines to put aside their differences and work together. Will Thomas come to their aid when they need this Really Useful Steamie’s help? Get on board with the Steamies and the Diesels and see how they finally learn that, from brake pipe to buffer, all engines are more alike than not.

Bonus Features
: “Steamie Stumpers” Trivia Game • “Sodor Sounds” • “Steamie or Diesel?” DVD Game • “Friend Facts” • Songs & More • Web Fun

Thomas & Friends: Track Stars: The Island of Sodor is always bustling with trainloads of work to be done, and keeping it all on track are the engine heroes! Can Thomas slow down? Will Emily deliver her passengers? Has Percy made a big mistake? Is anyone as bright as James? Find out as Sodor’s track stars ride the rails to adventure!

Bonus Features: Read-Along • Sing-Along • “Sodor Activity Depot” DVD-ROM • Character Gallery • HIT Extras • “James’ Colors of Sodor” • “Thomas’ A-Mazing Adventure”

Bob the Builder: Heavy Duty Diggers:
Bob and the team are hard at work in their new location in Harbor Town where Lofty leads the construction of a new ocean pier and transforms an old shack into a surf school. Scratch is digging his way into all sorts of adventures with Scoop at the museum, and Scrambler attempts to build a tree house at the school by himself. So grab your hard hat and get ready to find out why the fun is in getting it done!

Bonus Feature:Ready, Steady, Build!” Music Video

Fireman Sam: Help Is Here:
Join Fireman Sam and his friends as they make courageous rescues throughout the town of Pontypandy. Fireman Sam saves the supermarket on Fire Prevention Day, helps the rescue dogs find missing people, shares important safety tips, and makes a daring helicopter rescue in the midst of a forest fire. Fireman Sam is here to help you learn about fire safety, teamwork and having fun with your friends.
My preschool son loves these DVDs. All the trains and adventures on Sodor, Bob’s construction zones, and Fireman Sam saving the day appeal greatly to him. He likes to pretend along with the stories to build things, save things, and drive trains. Again, I think these DVDs are gender neutral. Boys and girls alike can enjoy the tails of Thomas, Bob the Builder, and Fireman Sam.

The Action Pack 4 DVD Set is geared towards preschoolers ages 2-5. The DVDs have a runtime of 38-50 minutes (which varies for each). I would recommend these educational and entertaining DVDs for anyone. You can find the DVD set in stores now and online. I also have one to giveaway, so be sure to enter below.



Prize – 1 Action Pack 4 DVD Set 

To Enter – Tell me from the shows on this DVD, which character does your child like best? 

Extra Entries:
-Subscribe by RSS feed or feed reader
-Subscribe by email
-Follow by Google Friend Connect
-Posy my button on your blog/website
-”Like” my Facebook fan page
-Be my friend on Facebook
-Follow me on Networked Blogs
-Enter another giveaway here
-Comment on a non-giveaway post
-Follow me on Twitter
-Post about the giveaway on TwitterEnter to #win a Action Pack 4 DVD Set w/Thomas, Bob the Builder & Fireman Sam & @psmomreviews – http://tinyurl.com/6coy4cf #giveaway


This giveaway is open now through Sunday, May 8th. I will post the winner on Monday, May 9th.

Open to USA & Canada only!


*Disclosure: I was not paid to post this, but a product was provided for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.*

Friend Pack 4 DVD Set Review + {Giveaway – Ends 5/8} (CLOSED)

Friend Pack

From HIT Entertainment and Lionsgate here is a new DVD with all of your child’s preschool favorites. All the great characters are here to share their friendship with you. The Friend Pack is a 4 DVD Set that includes Fifi and the Flowertots, Angelina Ballerina, and Barney too. There’s a little bit for everyone in this set. Your kids will learn about what it means to be a friend with their favorite friends.

Here’s a little more about each DVD:
It’s the ultimate girls’ night in!  Get your groove on as Angelina Ballerina, Barney and Fifi and the Flowertots teach you what friendship, dancing and playtime are all about while showing you how great it is to be you!  And get a front row seat to the premiere, full-length DVD, “Fifi’s Talent Show”, exclusive to this 4 DVD set!”
DVDs include: 
Angelina Ballerina: Love to Dance: Put on your dancing shoes and get ready to take center stage with Angelina Ballerina! On Angelina’s first day at Camembert Academy she discovers new forms of music and dance, like jazz, tap and hip-hop. Get ready to step, leap and groove as you discover your own love of dance in these fun-filled episodes!
Bonus Features:Angelina Says” Game • “Get Up and Dance” Music Video • “I Will Be a Star” Karaoke Video 

Barney: Let’s Play School: The children enjoy a fun-filled day at “Baby Bop™’s School” where every lesson includes unexpected surprises. Join Ashley, Hannah, Robert and Jeff as they sing an alphabet song, eat macaroni and cheese and bounce into gym class. When the day is just about done, settle in with Baby Bop and her “blankey” for an afternoon nap. It’s an unforgettable day of learning and laughter! 
Bonus Features: “Barney - Let’s Play School!” Sing-Along•
“Barney’s ABC Animals” Read-Along • “It’s a Great Day for Learning” Song Sampler • “Behind the Scenes” Special Features (Meet the Dinos and Cast) 


Barney: Everyone is Special: Join Barney and his friends on a dino-mite day in the park as they celebrate all the things that make them special! From special talents and skills to their very own color, the kids find the fun in being unique. Young or old, short or tall, big or small – Barney knows that from head to toe, everyone is special! 
Bonus Features: “The World’s Greatest Toy” Interactive Game • “A Healthy Snack” • “Picture Yourself” • “Barney’s Jukebox” • DVD-ROM Activities 


Fifi and the Flowertots: Fifi’s Talent Show: In a magical garden full of excitement and adventure, watch Fifi and her bunch of flowery friends put on their very own talent show. Fifi is so busy helping her friends that she forgets to rehearse, but don’t worry – Fifi’s friends come to the rescue! Join Fifi and the budding starlets as they sing, dance, laugh and learn in these stories filled with flower petal fun! 
Bonus Feature: “Fiddly Flower Petals” Sing-Along

The DVD set here is geared towards girls, but I don’t think that means boys can’t enjoy it as well. My son likes these characters too! This DVD set included some DVDs that we already have and a few we don’t yet. I like having a variety of videos and it is great to have them all in one place. This would be a great take along set to have in the car or at Grandma’s house. Then your little ones can enjoy them anywhere.

Zachariah has always loved Barney, do the 2 Barney DVDs here are perfect for him. With the sing along fun and great imaginations, he always has a good time with Barney. And with Angelina Ballerina he wants to get up and try some new moves. I think your kids will have just as much fun as he did.

The Friend Pack 4 DVD Set is made with preschoolers ages 2-5 in mind. It helps them to use their imaginations, sing fun songs, dance along, and have a fun time learning. The DVDs are 45-62 minutes in running time (each varies), and I like that they include extras like games and sing-a-longs too. You can purchase this set in stores and online. And you have a chance to win one here as well.



Prize – 1 Friend Pack 4 DVD Set 

To Enter – Tell me from the shows on this DVD, which character does your child like best? 

Extra Entries:
-Subscribe by RSS feed or feed reader
-Subscribe by email
-Follow by Google Friend Connect
-Posy my button on your blog/website
-”Like” my Facebook fan page
-Be my friend on Facebook
-Follow me on Networked Blogs
-Enter another giveaway here
-Comment on a non-giveaway post
-Follow me on Twitter
-Post about the giveaway on TwitterEnter to #win a Friend Pack 4 DVD Set w/Angelina Ballerina, Barney & Fifi & @psmomreviews – http://tinyurl.com/3pesrkl #giveaway


This giveaway is open now through Sunday, May 8th. I will post the winner on Monday, May 9th.

Open to USA & Canada only!


*Disclosure: I was not paid to post this, but a product was provided for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.*

Giveaways Going on Now!

I don't want you to miss out on any great giveaways. I have several posted right now (and many I'm working on at the moment too). There are some great ones that you will want to get in on. Many of these have low entries, so make sure to enter now to win!


EatSmart Precision Bathroom Scale - Ends 4/26

“Kurt Warner’s Football 101 for Kids Pocket Edition” App for iPhone, iTouch & iPad {Giveaway – Ends 5/8} (CLOSED)

Kurt Warner iphone app
Football season might be over, but there still are many football fans. My husband and son (and myself too) really enjoy football and related activities. Unfortunately I don’t have an iPhone or iAnything for that matter. But there is a great new app from football great, Kurt Warner that you and your kids will love. And your young kids will love learning more about football.

Here are some more details:

Huddle Up for Family Football Fun –

Right in the Palm of Your Hand
“Kurt Warner’s Football 101 for Kids”
Now Available for the iPhone and iPod Touch

Phoenix, AZ (January 18, 2011)KurtWarner’s Football 101 for Kids - Pocket Edition for the iPhone and iPod Touch arrives just in time to add to the excitement of the NFL Playoffs and Super Bowl, putting the ease of teaching kids the principles of the game in the palm of your hand. Kicking off in conjunction with its release is a Sweepstakes to win a football, iTouch or iPad autographed by Super Bowl MVP Kurt Warner! 
Available now on iTunes for $1.99, the family-friendly app, spearheaded by retired NFL Quarterback Kurt Warner features the two-time NFL MVP along with his sidekick animated football friend Qubee, the leader of the Good Sports Gang. The duo introduces budding football fans of every age to the fundamentals of the game. Completely interactive with cool videos, verbal instructions and on-screen animations, the app makes learning the basics both fun and easy. 
Football 101 for Kids breaks the game into four quarters: “Read the Field,” “Who’s Who,” “First & Ten” and “Know the Score.” From identifying the features of a football field to recognizing each player’s role and position, understanding the basics of scoring to learning about downs, and more, Kurt and Qubee will get kids ready to tackle the joys of watching the game and cheering on their favorite teams. Best of all, players can rack up points in the exciting “Lightning Round” timed quizzes designed to test learning comprehension at the end of each quarter. 
Requirements: Compatible with iPhone and iPod touch. Requires iOS 4.0 or later. Version 1.0, size 242 MB. 
The iPad version of Kurt Warner’s Football 101 for Kids was released in late December. In reviewing the iPad app version Commonsensemedia.org said “Lots of little kids with an interest in football may be completely confused by an overload of action they see onscreen during a televised game, but working their way through this app should help them sort it all out. It’s all explained in a clear and kid-friendly manner, with interactive elements to back it all up.”
Developed by GSG Media (www.gsgmedia.com), a new multimedia development group from Kurt Warnerand his wife Brenda, the company is developing a number of electronic products designed to teach problem-solving and critical thinking skills as well as impart values such as teamwork, perseverance and fair play in young sports enthusiasts ten years old and under.
Portions of proceeds from the sale of the Good Sports Gang products benefit Kurt and Brenda Warner’s First Things First Foundation (www.kurtwarner.org), a non-profit public charity dedicated to impacting lives by promoting Christian values, sharing experiences and providing opportunities to encourage everyone that all things are possible when people seek to put first things first
GSG Media’s producing partner is Schwartz & Associates Creative, a media company that designs and distributes compelling, immersive, multi-platform content.
For more information about Good Sports Gang products, visit www.gsgmedia.com.
Be sure to get this fun app from the iTunes store for your football lovers. And I have a cool iPhone cover for one of you to win as well.
Kurt Warner iphone cover

Prize – 1 Kurt Warner Good Sports Gang iPhone cover 

To Enter – Tell me who loves football in your family. 

Extra Entries:
-Subscribe by RSS feed or feed reader
-Subscribe by email
-Follow by Google Friend Connect
-Post my button on your blog/website
-”Like” my Facebook fan page
-“Like” GSG Media on Facebook
-Be my friend on Facebook
-Follow me on Networked Blogs
-Enter another giveaway on my blog
-Leave a comment on a non-giveaway post
-Follow me on Twitter
-Follow GSG Media on Twitter
-Post about the giveaway on Twitter (once a day)– Enter to #win a Kurt Warner football-themed iPhone cover from @qubee & @psmomreviews – http://tinyurl.com/5s8mrrl #giveaway


This giveaway is open now through Sunday, May 8th. I will post the winner on Monday, May 9th.

Open to USA only!


*Disclosure: This is not a paid post, I received the product for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.*

Sunday, April 24, 2011

4/24/11 Winner

I have a fun spring giveaway that ended. I hope that you got in on the Glade Spring Fragrances giveaway. You’ll love the little touch of spring they bring to your home.

The winner is…
#18 – katychick

Congrats! An email is on it’s way to you.

Thanks everyone for entering! Be sure to check out all the other giveaways going on here now. Good luck!

“Shabbat Shaboom” CD by Mama Doni Review + {Giveaway – Ends 5/7} (CLOSED)

Mama Doni
A new CD is here from a Doni Zasloff Thomas, better known as Mama Doni. “Shabbat Shaboom” is a CD that celebrates Jewish culture with the entire family.

MAMA DONI’S BACK WITH A “CHALLAH-DAY” ALBUM!

ROLL UP THE RUG AND MAKE SOME ROOM
for
SHABBAT SHABOOM!

“Her stage name may sound as if it belonged on a jar of pasta sauce, but Mama Doni is an indisputably Jewish performer.  Doni Zasloff Thomas in real life, she specializes in putting a Jewish spin on all kinds of  musical styles, including reggae, rock, disco and Latin.” The New York Times

“A zany musical chicken soup of reggae, rock, disco, Latin, Kelzmer, and other styles.” The Boston Globe

“Wacky Jewish indie-rock for kids.”  - The Star-Ledger

“Mama Doni … is part ‘Weird Al’ Yankovic (for the hilarious and surprisingly insightful lyrics), part Sarah Silverman (but much cleaner and only the parts of Sarah’s show where she innocently sings her little heart out), and that adorable mom down the street who manages to wear bright red lipstick and cute track suit to put out the recycling at 6 a.m.”
KIWI magazine


MONTCLAIR, NJ (Jan. 7) – The inimitable Mama Doni brings her special brand of “funky music with a Jewish twist” to a new “Challah-Day” album, with the March 22 release of Shabbat Shaboom (Mama Doni Productions, $15, run time 42 minutes, all ages).
Doni Zasloff Thomas, aka Mama Doni, is the lead singer/songwriter in The Mama Doni Band.   Doni’s “wacky, Jewish indie-rock band for kids” won the Simcha Award for Inspiring Joy Through Music in competition with more than 100 bands from 15 different countries at the 2008 International Jewish Music Festival in Amsterdam.   Quirky, zany, offbeat, and unpredictable, The Mama Doni Band expands the horizons of traditional Jewish music with a contagious and unexpected blend of reggae, rock, disco, Latin, klezmer and “Jewgrass” – all woven together with a hip Jewish sensibility.    
The original songs and stories on Shabbat Shaboom transport listeners to a place where the album’s warmly sincere pop-rock title track happily melds with a Gloria Estefan-meets-Fiddler on the Roof conga line tune, "Challah-Day,” where the reggae-influenced “Mazel Tov” meets a disco ditty, “Sabbath Queen.”  Shabbat Shaboom touches on such aspects as lighting candles, being with family (mishpocha), celebrating bat mitzvahs, and even the “workout” that Mama Doni mischievously terms "synagoguersizing."    
Shabbat Shaboom marks the first Mama Doni CD to showcase the entire Mama Doni Band.  Says Doni, “Shabbat Shaboom is really an evolution for us.  It’s a little less shticky than my previous CDs.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s still fun!  But this album has a slightly different vibe.  It’s more sophisticated musically than my earlier work, a bit more soulful, you might say.”
The raison d'être of Mama Doni’s presentation goes deeper than surface “shtick.”  What’s important to Doni is the idea of giving children their own current and positive musical voice.  Doni lays out her mission: “I want to share with kids of all ages and backgrounds the humor and richness that effervesces throughout Yiddish language and Jewish culture. Through my music I hope that they can access the joy in this culture in a new way and have a rockin‘ good time in the process!”

Mama Doni3 We enjoyed the Shabbat Shaboom CD. We’re not Jewish, but we do love good music. My son appreciates a wide variety of music, and I love when he gets the chance to learn new things through a variety of means. This CD was fun and lively…just like we like our music. It’s great for children and the whole family too. You can purchase this CD at CDBaby.com, MamaDoni.com, and iTunes. And you have a chance to win one for yourself here.

Mama Doni2


Prize – 1 Shabbat Shaboom CD by Mama Doni 

To Enter – Go check out MamiDoni.com, and let me know which song you like best from the Shabbat Shaboom CD

Extra Entries:
-Subscribe by RSS feed or feed reader
-Subscribe by email
-Follow by Google Friend Connect
-Post my button on your blog/website
-”Like” my Facebook fan page
-“Like” The Mama Doni Band on Facebook
-Be my friend on Facebook
-Follow me on Networked Blogs
-Enter another giveaway on my blog
-Leave a comment on a non-giveaway post
-Follow me on Twitter
-Post about the giveaway on Twitter (once a day)– Enter to #win a “Shabbat Shaboom” CD by Mama Doni from @psmomreviews – http://tinyurl.com/3vty7cn #giveaway


This giveaway is open now through Saturday, May 7th. I will post the winner on Sunday, May 8th.

Open to USA only!


*Disclosure: This is not a paid post, I received the product for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.*

Saturday, April 23, 2011

CostumeDiscounters.com Review

Last fall I reviewed a great Snoopy costume for my son from costumesupercenter.com. Once again I’m able to work with the same company. They have several websites with a wide variety of costumes. They have them in all shapes and sizes.

The first thing I like about this review is that they have plus size costumes. I’m a big girl, and I can’t hide that fact. But does that really mean that I should have no options in clothing products? I don’t think it should, but sadly sometimes it’s hard to find things that fit that I want. So having a big selection of costumes just for me is wonderful. (It would be fun next Halloween to have the whole family in matching/coordinating costumes.)

+WARNING: This next paragraph will contain a bit more…ahem…personal information. It’s clean, but it you don’t want to know, just skip ahead to the next paragraph.+ This time I chose a costume that my husband and I could enjoy together…if you know what I mean. We’ve been married for almost 11 years, and it’s fun to keep the spark alive. So I looked through their sexy costumes. And I found the Plus Size Prep-School Delinquent Costume. This costume is sexy (especially for someone more conservation like me), but it’s not too crazy or wild either. It was just enough to spice it up in the bedroom for us.

I found the costume to be pretty true to it’s description and photo. It was well-made and cute. The only problem I had was the fit. It was snug. According to the size charts, I fall right in the middle of the size I received. I just barely squeezed into it. I definitely know someone bigger than me would be disappointed, because it just would not fit them. I wonder if this is true for most of their costumes or maybe just this particular one, but it might be wise to order up a size.

All in all I like the selection of great costumes from this site. I know that I will be back for more from them. I think that you’ll be able to find just what you’re looking for too.


*Disclosure: I was not paid to post this. I received the product for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.*

Friday, April 22, 2011

4/22/11 Winner

I have one delayed winner. I’m drawing for the Yoplait Fiber One Blueberry Yogurt prize pack. And the lucky number is…

#11 – Tina

Congrats! An email is on its way to you to confirm.
If you missed out this time, have no fear, there are plenty of other great giveaways that you’ll want to get in on now!

“Lily of the Nile” by Stephanie Dray Book Review + "{Giveaway – Ends 5/5} (CLOSED)

Lily of the Nile book

What happened to the children of Mark Antony and Cleopatra when they met their demise? Although this is not something I’ve ever thought of, but it’s the story Stephanie Dray tells about Princess Selene in "Lily of the Nile.”

I love all sorts of fiction, so I was willing to give this book a try. Historical fiction especially fascinates me, because the authors do some much research. They bring you into a story and also add elements of history. I learn while I’m being entertained. That’s a win-win for me. The “Lily of the Nile” did not disappoint. While the story was fiction, the events were based off real things that happen and real people that were figures in history. This story also has a fun element of fantasy that works well with it.

I definitely enjoyed learning about Princess Selene, daughter of Cleopatra. Her adventure into adult life is nothing short of exciting. I was sucked into the story right away and had a hard time putting it down. Now I’m anxiously awaiting Stephanie Dray’s next book. It can’t come soon enough for me.

Author of “Lily of the NileStephanie Dray is also founder of the Cleopatra Literary Contest. This is an inspirational writing contest for women ages 13-22. She’s all about inspiring young women to reach their full potential as young authors. For more information about this you can visit www.cleopatracontest.com. And you can find more information about Stephanie Dray on her website. You can purchase “Lily of the Nile” from Amazon. Or you can see below to win a copy for yourself.


Prize 
– 1 Lily of the Nile” by Stephanie Dray book 

To Enter – Tell me what captures your interest most about this book. 

Extra Entries:
-Subscribe by RSS feed or feed reader
-Subscribe by email
-Follow by Google Friend Connect
-Post my button on your blog/website
-”Like” my Facebook fan page
-“Like” Stephanie Dray on Facebook
-Be my friend on Facebook
-Follow me on Networked Blogs
-Enter another giveaway on my blog
-Leave a comment on a non-giveaway post
-Follow me on Twitter
-Follow Stephanie Dray on Twitter
-Post about the giveaway on Twitter (once a day)– Enter to #win “Lily of the Nile” book by @stephaniedray from @psmomreviews – http://tinyurl.com/6jvzvbm #giveaway


This giveaway is open now through Thursday, May 5th. I will post the winner on Friday, May 6th.

Open to USA only!


*Disclosure: This is not a paid post, I received the product for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.*

Dinosaur Train Hatchers & Cake Decorating Set Review

hatchers_2
Are you ready for Easter? My son went to Grandma’s today to help dye Easter eggs, decorate cookies, watch “Hop” and more fun. Since he was gone, I had the chance to put together his Easter basket. (This way I won’t be stuck scrambling after he goes to bed tomorrow night.) He will have an Easter basket and hidden eggs to find on Easter morning.

hatchers_1 If you’re looking for a little something extra to add to your kids Easter baskets this year, this is something you’ll want to get. From the show “Dinosaur Train” you can find Hatchers. These are little eggs (the right size for Easter baskets) that grow and hatch when placed in water. Your kids will love watching their own special egg “hatch”. Plus they have a fun toy with one of their favorite Dinosaur Train characters. The eggs are easy to use, when placed in water they will start hatching within 24 hours and grow 4x their size.

We received the Dinosaur Train Cake Decorating Kit and Cupcake Rings. The kit came with several Dinosaur Train character decorations that are fun to put on a cake for a themed birthday, to dress up your Easter cake, or just for fun. And the cupcake rings can easily be added to cupcakes for a party, and then the party-goers can take the ring home as a little parting gift. You can find these at http://www.cakes.com.

Dinosaur Train, from the Jim Henson Company, can be found on PBS. Check their website for more about the show. And you can follow on Twitter and Facebook as well. And the biggest Dinosaur Train fans will be interested in the new Dinosaur Train Eggspress application available for iPhone, iPod and iPad for $2.99. Your kids will try to match dinosaur eggs and reunite dinosaur families, while learning about lots of dinosaur information.

*Disclosure: This is not a paid post, I received the product for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.*

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Bari Koral Family Rock Band “Rock and Roll Garden” CD Review + {Giveaway - Ends 5/3} (CLOSED)

Bari Koral

Bari Koral
is a lifelong musician, but the need to stay closer to home is what got her into the children’s music scene. And so far she’s had great success at it. Her album was recently honored with the prestigious NAPPA Gold and Parents’ Choice Silver awards. Not too bad for someone who got into the work because she wanted a chance of scenery.

The new Bari Koral Family Rock Band “Rock and Roll Garden” is a fun energetic CD perfect for kids. She started out in children's music performing at the Long Island Children’s Museum writing songs “on the fly” with the children there. A little encouragement from another musician got her started in writing some fun and entertaining music just for kids.

Bari Koral2 I liked the sound of her pop music for kids. The lyrics and tunes are great for the younger crowd. Most of the songs on the Bari Koral Family Rock Band “Rock and Roll Garden” CD are upbeat and lively. That’s perfect for my son, who wants to get up and move when he’s listening to music. He enjoyed this CD a lot, and it will be in regular rotation with his music for a while I’m sure.

The Bari Koral Family Rock Band “Rock and Roll Garden” CD has 11 fun songs- “Hey Ducky,” “The Backpack Song,” “Pop,” “Boom Boom,” “Best Friends,” “Colors,” “Clap it!,” “Big Sounds,” “Dance All Day,” “Subway,” and “Uh Oh.” You can buy the CD online or download it on iTunes. I also have a copy to giveaway. I’m sure that your children will enjoy this music CD, and it’s fun for the whole family too.



Prize
– 1 Bari Koral Family Rock Band “Rock and Roll Garden” CD 

To Enter – Go to her website and listen to the songs (top of the page), let me know which you like best. 

Extra Entries:
-Subscribe by RSS feed or feed reader
-Subscribe by email
-Follow by Google Friend Connect
-Post my button on your blog/website
-”Like” my Facebook fan page
-“Like” Bari Koral Family Rock Band on Facebook
-Be my friend on Facebook
-Follow me on Networked Blogs
-Enter another giveaway on my blog
-Leave a comment on a non-giveaway post
-Follow me on Twitter
-Post about the giveaway on Twitter (once a day)– Enter to #win a Bari Koral Family Rock Band CD from @psmomreviews – http://tinyurl.com/3e5vsru #giveaway


This giveaway is open now through Tuesday, May 3rd. I will post the winner on Wednesday, May 4th.

Open to USA only!


*Disclosure: This is not a paid post, I received the product for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.*

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

It's Fun to Stay at the Hil-ton Ho-tel!

This is a Sponsored post written by me on behalf of Hiltons of Branson. All opinions are 100% mine.

Something big is about to happen in Branson, Missouri. Think costumes, music, lights, dancing, and fun for everyone. And there's no need to stay at the YMCA, because the Hilton Promenade is a great place to stay. And they have a special package just for this event.

Did you guess it yet? The Village People are coming to Branson! You can see them in all their 70s glory along with some other big favorites from the disco era. At the Branson Tri-Lakes Center on May 13th with The Village People you'll also get to see Maxine  Nightingale and Janice-Marie. After their performances, they will hang around for autographs and pictures with their biggest fans. And when you come to Branson to get your groove on, the Hilton Promenade will make a great place to stay.

The Hilton Promenade at Branson Landing is offering a Village People Concert package. This great package includes two 70s Supershow tickets and a one-night stay at the Hilton hotel. And this package starts at only $219.00 for two people.

The Hilton is a great place to relax and put your feet up after a long day of concert going, dancing and fun. Their very comfortable beds are from the Hilton Serenity collection and feature pillow top mattresses, down comforters and luxurious 250 thread count triple sheets. That spells relaxation to me right there. And you'll be able to upload all your concert pictures for your friends to see right away with the Hilton's free WiFi access.

There are so many other great things to do in Branson while you're in town too. You can check out other events at the Hilton Branson Convention Center Hotel. It's connection with the convention center means there are always lots of things happening. You will find many opportunities for shopping and good food nearby as well. With so many shops, I know my whole family would be happy with the shopping. My son could visit the Disney store, and my husband would stay occupied with Bass Pro Shops. We would round out our day with some Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que or Joe's Crab Shack

The possibilities are endless in Branson, Missouri. And if you're looking for a great place to stay with your family, look no farther than the Hilton Promenade at Branson Landing.
 

Visit Sponsor's Site

Monday, April 18, 2011

Glade Spring Fragrances Review + {Giveaway – Ends 4/23} (CLOSED)



Don’t you just love the sights and smells that spring is upon us? No, not the wet worm smell. Ugh! I’m talking about blooming flowers, fresh rain, and sunshine. Spring is here…well, mostly, and Glade has captured the scent in their two new limited edition fragrances- Bring on the Blossoms and Sparkle of Spring.

Spring is a great time to clean and refresh our homes with these new citrus and floral fragrances.  It’s also a great time to spruce up your wardrobe. Glade has partnered with E! personality and co-host of Fashion Police, Giuliana Rancic to help inspire women to update their looks and celebrate spring as well. Rancic says, “Spring is my favorite time of year. I can’t wait to stash away my winter coat and update my homes with bright, happy colors and scents that create an upbeat mood. With a few new accessories and the limited-edition fragrances from Glade, I can rest assured knowing my home’s decor looks as fresh as the room’s scent.”

How to Step into Spring
In order to help other women rejuvenate their look and surroundings, Rancic shares her top five tips to stay on-trend and feel fresh and exhilarated in time for spring.
· Reinforce Ruffles. Spring is all about feeling pretty and feminine, and designers are pumping up the volume with ruffles. Whether on a throw pillow, journal or jacket, this season we’ll be seeing gorgeous fabrics and textures draped and ruffled into fabulous creations.
· Revitalize Home Fragrance. Glade® Limited Edition Spring Collection fragrances refresh the home and wipe away the doldrums left behind when winter fades. “I love the Glade® Sparkle of Spring™ Premium Room Spray,” says Rancic, “because the hints of citrus create an energized vibe during the day and the fresh scent is a simple way to make my home more inviting for family and friends.”
· Bright Colors, Fresh Look. Cheerful citrus is perfect for those bright spring days. Take advantage of the season’s uplifting hues and make lips pop with orangey pink lipstick.
· Wake Up Happy. Start the day with colors that awaken your senses. Make your bedroom environment happy with a bright, cheerful new duvet or throw.
· Go for Geometric Jewels. Cool, geometric shapes are everywhere this spring. Clean, straight lines and bold color accents make a perfect pair. Best of all, you don’t have to spend a lot to achieve this look. “I love a good bargain and recently found a pair of bold emerald green earrings for just $8!” says Rancic.
We received a Bring on the Blossoms Premium Room Spray and Scented Oil Candle to try here in our home. I love the Glade Scented Oil Candles. I have used them before. The problem for me is I let them burn a long time all at once, so I use it up very quickly. I’m not a huge fan of room sprays, but this one has changed my mind. It’s not a strong, clingy spray like so many kinds are. It’s light, leaves a bit of scent, but doesn’t choke you when you walk by. I really enjoy the scent of these. It’s very light and flowery without being overbearing. It’s the perfect balance and leaves my room smelly very spring-y. The look is like and cute. It would fit with any decor and is perfect for spring. I was pleased with these products and will continue to use them in my home.

You can find the Glade Limited Edition Spring Collection in the air-care aisle of most stores (food, drug, and mass-merchandise stores like Walmart and Target). Suggested retail prices are $3.49 for Glade Candle 4 oz. Jar, $2.99 for Glade Premium Room Spray, $3.49 for Glad Scented Oil Candle Decorative Glass Holder, $3.49 for Glade Scented Oil Candle Refills (contains 4), and $3.49/$5.49 for Glade PlugIns Scented Oil Refills (available in 1- and 2-count). The packaging is bright, cheerful, and fun. The Sparkle of Spring scent is fresh and citrusy with zesty lime, ginger and vanilla notes. And the Bring on the Blossoms is fruity and floral with a medley of jasmine, rose, peony and sandalwood. You can find all these products and learn more about them at www.glade.com. And you can win some for yourself, see below.


Prize
– 1 Glade Spring room spray + 1 Glade Spring scented oil

To Enter – Tell me what scents remind you of Spring. 

Extra Entries:
-Subscribe by RSS feed or feed reader
-Subscribe by email
-Follow by Google Friend Connect
-Post my button on your blog/website
-”Like” my Facebook fan page
-“Like” Glade on Facebook
-Be my friend on Facebook
-Follow me on Networked Blogs
-Enter another giveaway on my blog
-Leave a comment on a non-giveaway post
-Follow me on Twitter
-Post about the giveaway on Twitter (once a day)– Enter to #win NEW Glade Spring fragrances room spray & oil candle from @psmomreviews – http://tinyurl.com/3f9tnq9 #giveaway


This giveaway is open now through Saturday, April 23rd. I will post the winner on Sunday, April 24th.

Open to USA only!


*Disclosure: This post was written for Family Review Network & SC Johnson who provided the complimentary product for review & giveaway in exchange for my honest opinions.*