Saturday, July 30, 2011

“Sweet Sanctuary” by Sheila Walsh & Cindy Coloma Book Review

Sweet Sanctuary

A single mother learns to depend on others, love her family, and protect her son in Sweet Sanctuary by Shelia Walsh and Cindy Coloma. Wren is living a quiet life with her son in their small community. Everything in her life is looking up. She and her son are happy and healthy, they have friends and a good house. She loves her job and is looking forward to a promotion. Then Grandma Ruth comes un expectedly to their house, and everything else in Wren’s life seems to turn upside down. Where is God when she needs him most?

Wren’s life is not perfect. She is dealing with so many things. She thinks it’s under control, but then things start to quickly deteriorate. She has to learn to deal with her family, who never could get along, and then she develops feelings for a man she knows.

I love how relatable this book is. We’ve all been there when we struggle to know up from down or right from wrong. It’s not always easy to live our lives relying on God every day…every moment. But we find that when we can fully trust in God, he will pull us out of even the worst situations. Just like Wren learning to love her family again and trust God to protect her son, we are the same.

I enjoyed Sweet Sanctuary. It is a modern book that even discusses the future of libraries and how e-books have changed things (the main character is a librarian). It’s not lost on my that this topic came up in the novel while I was reading it on my new e-reader. But I enjoyed getting to know Wren and her family. She ultimately gives over control of her life over to God, and when that happens everything falls into place. The only issue I had was a few spots where the story seemed to lack connections to the next part of the story, but overall it was a fun read.

You can find Sweet Sanctuary by Sheila Walsh & Cindy Coloma in stores and online now.



*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Friday, July 29, 2011

7/29/11 Winners!

Woo! I have lots of giveaways that have closed, so stick with me here. The good news is…lots of winners!

Skin MD Natural Shielding Lotion...

#44 - Retro ReDesign 

He is We CD

#36 – Melanie 

Barney PlayDate 3 DVD Pack

#69 – Pauline 

Thomas & Friends 3 DVD PlayDate Pack

#90 - shadow_kohler 

Robby Wash Laundry Ball

#127 – Kittas 

Lavender Space Bags

#61 – chelseacarson1 

Barney: Mother Goose Collection

#71 – Crafty 

Daddy A Go Go CD

#43 – Kittas

Recess Monkey "Flying" CD

#28 - NW Homesteader 

Hope Harris "Cousins Jamboree" CD

#45 – Kittas

"The Creed Legacy" by Linda Lael Miller

#24 – Krystal 

Hungry Jack Hashbrown Potato Prize Pack

#261 - Virginia Soul

#208 – Kittas


CONGRATS!! I hope all the winners enjoy their prizes. You will be receiving an email from me shortly. I need a response to the email within 48 hours in order for you to claim your prize.

Be sure to check out these other giveaways going on now:

Thursday, July 28, 2011

“Savor the Danger” by Lori Foster Book Review

Savor the Danger

Dare, Trace and Jackson are back to protect the innocent and find the troublemakers. Savor the Danger by Lori Foster picks up where the last book in the “Men Who Walk on the Edge of Honor” series (“Trace of Fever”) left off.

Lori Foster brings her “Men Who Walk on the Edge of Honor” trilogy to a dramatic close with Savor the Danger (HQN Books; July 2011; $7.99). When confident and dangerous mercenary, Jackson Savor, wakes up from a drugged state, he must put together what happened the night before in order to save the woman he loves. Savor the Danger follows the series’ New York Times best-sellers When You Dare (May 2011) and Trace of Fever (June 2011).

She may be aloof, and more pretty than gorgeous, but Alani Rives is the kind of woman a hot-blooded mercenary can’t forget, no matter how hard he tries. So when Jackson wakes up next to the sleeping beauty – with no memory of what happened – he knows he’s been drugged, even if Alain doesn’t.

After she was kidnapped, Alani vowed never to fall for another man again, but something about this strong, sexy hero makes her want to trust him. As Jackson hunts down a mysterious intruder, he swears he’ll move heaven and earth to keep Alani safe. But what really happened that night? And will the truth bring them closer than they ever thought possible – or put Alani in harm’s way again?

After reading Trace of Fever I was excited to hear that there was another book immediately following it. This book would stand alone well, but I think if you’d like this you’d like the whole series. I missed the first book, but I have it on my wishlist. I want to learn a little more about Dare’s story too.

In Savor the Danger we meet another member of the mercenary group. Jackson came into play just a little in the last book, and we learn more about him and what makes him the man he is today. But there is a new complication in his mission, love seems to have found him rather quickly and unexpectedly.
These books are romance books, and they do contain some explicit parts. The story line is good, and I enjoyed that it continues with the characters from the other books as well.

Find out all about Jackson and Alani in Savor the Danger by Lori Foster. It’s available now in bookstores, on e-readers and online.



*Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of this book for review. All opinions are my own.*

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

I Love Toy Trains: All Aboard! DVD Review + {Giveaway with Rafflecopter – Ends 8/9} (CLOSED)

This giveaway is closed. Congrats to the winner #152 Louise (Raven in a Blue Room)
All Aboard
Chugga chugga choo choo! All aboard to see the new I Love Toy Trains: All Aboard! on DVD now. Do your kids love trains? Big trains, little trains, real trains, and toy trains. They will love this DVD.

Michigan City, IN (April 25,2011) – To meet the demands of its fans, the popular, award-winning DVD series, I Love Toy Trains – previously capped off after its 15th title – introduces a brand new release – I Love Toy Trains: All Aboard! So grab your ticket and climb aboard for another journey into the whimsical world of toy trains with this delightful new DVD, available May 10, 2011 from TM Books &amp; Video.

One of the country’s best-selling children’s video series, the 15-part I Love Toy Trains – released over 10 years ago with over three million sold – has thrilled and entertained kids and grownups alike. Packed with wall-to-wall train action, fun facts and songs by singer/songwriter James Coffey, the series is a winner for train fans of all ages.

I Love Toy Trains: All Aboard! features thrilling live-action footage – irresistible toy and real train action, elaborate layouts, train trivia, spectacular new special effects and six songs by award-winning composer James Coffey. Hop aboard the spooky Halloween Train featuring lots of ghouls, ghosts and goblins. Take a trip to Area 51 and see flying saucers, UFOs and aliens. Visit Big Rock Candy Mountain, where your favorite candies are being loaded and unloaded on Lionel accessories. Be amazed by the world’s largest G-scale, outdoor layout at the Living Desert in California, and a giant Lego train layout. Watch a jet-powered Budd car set a speed record that still stands today.

I Love Toy Trains: All Aboard! is recommended for ages 3-8 and available for a suggested retail price of $9.99. To order, call toll free 1-800-892-2822 or visit www.tmbv.com.

About TM Books &amp; Video TM is licensed by John Deere, Boeing, Lionel, Caterpillar, and Chicago’s Museum of Science &amp; Industry to produce educational and entertaining family shows. TM specials have appeared on network TV, PBS, RFD-TV, and cable stations around the country. Their flagship series, I Love Toy Trains, has sold 3,000,00 copies the most ever for an independently produced children’s show. Sales have been fueled by rave reviews in the national media (NBC Today Show, Parenting Magazine, USA Today, People Magazine, Disney’s Wondertime Magazine, New York Magazine, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, Amazon.com, and the Library Journal.) Awards include the prestigious Parents’ Choice and the Parenting Magazine award for excellence. 

My son has always been fascinated by trains. And some of his favorite videos to watch are the live-action ones with trains, trucks, and automobiles. So, you can see that the I Love Toy Trains: All Aboard! DVD is just right for him.

This is a fun video that all little kids will enjoy. Seeing the toy trains do different things in fun make-believe lands is neat. The candy mountain will interest any kid. They can watch yummy candies being loaded on toy trains. It also gives them ideas and ways to play with their own trains.

You can get the I Love Toy Trains: All Aboard! DVD online through their website and Amazon. And you can win your own copy by entering the Rafflecopter form below.

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

“Silver Girl” by Elin Hilderbrand Book Review + E-vent

Silver Girl

If you’re looking for a great summer book, look no further. “Silver Girl” by Elin Hilderbrand is the perfect fit. The book is about 2 middle age women who are starting over with their lives. They’ve both been through some huge chances recently. One is grieving the loss of her husband, the other is in the midst of a huge scandal that is threatening to destroy her life. But the friendship they’ve had since childhood brings them together again. In each other they find a familiarity and openness that gets them through one of the hardest summers ever.

I have read Hilderbrand’s “Castaways” and loved that so much last summer. The newest Silver Girl gets just as much praise from me. I couldn’t put the book down once I started it. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The characters are very relatable as they are going through their life struggles. And I think that’s what makes Hilderbrand’s books great to read. You feel like you are part of the story and quickly care about the well-being of everyone involved.

Silver Girl2

There is an awesome E-vent to go along with this new book Silver Girl by Elin Hilderbrand. The live event with Elin is being hosted by BookTrib. BookTrib will get the party started on the homepage at 3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT. Elin will begin answering YOUR questions LIVE! At the end of the party, we will announce the fifteen lucky attendees who will win an exclusive Silver Girl tote bag courtesy of The Elegant Setting along with an autographed copy of the book.

To join the chat, BookTrib members can simply log in and start asking questions on the homepage. If you’d like to sign up for BookTrib, click the “First Visit? Sign up!” button on the top right. Party go-ers can also sign in to the party with a Chat Roll account, a Facebook account, or as a guest.

I’m going to try my hardest to participate in the E-vent tomorrow with BookTrib. I’m really looking forward to it. (I have to get my car in for service a little before that, so I’m hoping they’ll be finished in time for me. We’ll see.) I hope that you can join us. There are great prizes being given away too.

If you haven’t picked up Silver Girl yet, I really encourage you to do so. I think you’ll enjoy it. The book is available for purchase in bookstores and online.


*Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book for review. All opinions are my own.*

Monday, July 25, 2011

“Bossypants” by Tina Fey Book Review

Bossypants2

One of the biggest books to hit the shelves this spring was “Bossypants” by Tina Fey. Bossypants is an autobiography. In it Tina Fey tells about her life from childhood to her most recent successes. Instead of being one big story about her life, though, it’s more like a collection of fun stories about important times that she remembers from her life. And of course, they are hilarious.

I enjoy Tina Fey’s writing style. I felt like I was sitting in a room with a good friend and just sharing stories about things in our lives. Of course my end of the conversation would not have as much witty banter as Tina’s. But I truly enjoyed hearing her stories about growing up, coming of age, and making it in the industry she’s in.

Many people know Tina Fey solely from her Saturday Night Live years. She was part of that show for a long time as a writer, later a Weekend Update star, and eventually involved in skits. She shares some of her ups and downs there, as well as leaving for her own show 30 Rock.
If Tina Fey intrigues you, I recommend picking up this book. I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. I really read it just to learn more about her, but I felt like I was having a conversation with a friend and it make her so much more endearing to me. I just really enjoyed her writing style. I hope that someday she’ll write another book, maybe about parenting. I’m sure she has a great perspective on that, especially since the birth of her 2nd child recently.

You can find Bossypants by Tina Fey in bookstores and online.


*Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book for review. All opinions are my own.*

Saturday, July 23, 2011

Flip Flop Wines Review

Print

Sometimes a nice glass of wine in the evening is a great way to relax! I know a lot of mothers, like myself, enjoy a little time to sit and enjoy the quiet when the children are in bed. Having a glass of wine just adds to the pleasure.

I must admit that I’m not a big wine drinker most of the time. I’m not much of a drinker (of alcoholic beverages) anyway, never have been. But once in a while I’ll have a small glass of wine if my husband has it around. Or I’ll order a mixed drink at a restaurant once or twice a year. I usually veer towards the sweeter drinks, probably because I don’t like anything too strong when I do actually have an alcoholic beverage.

 FlipFlop_Dev13

When I was first introduces to Flip Flop Wines, I thought, alright I’ll give it a try. While I’m not a big wine person, I am willing to try new things. And my husband does enjoy wine once in a while. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised by Flip Flop Wines. Not only are they are great company, but I really enjoyed the wine. I still didn’t finish a bottle, but I still had a few glasses and really liked what I tried.

Flip Flops Wines is all about individuality. They strive to create tasty, quality wine from the grapes they grow in California. And they keep their product at an afforable price for everyone. A bottle of Flip Flop Wine retails for only $7.00.

Flip Flop Wines also partners with awesome charities often. Groups like Friends of the Forest, Netting Nations and Habitat for Humanity are part of the list of working with this great company. The most recent, Soles4Souls, is a non-profit partner with Flip Flop Wines. Here is a little more about Soles4Souls:

The partnership with  flipflop wines and Soles4Souls is important. With more than  300 million children in the world without shoes, flipflop’s dedication to the cause is helping put shoes on more than 100,000 feet.

Shoes help prevent the spread of parasitic diseases that plague over 1.4 billion people worldwide, and they are a basic human necessity.

The reality of life for many individuals in developing nations is that having a pair of shoes is a rarity. It is not uncommon for children to grow up in these areas without ever having had a pair of shoes at all.

The number of barefoot orphaned children, in Sub-Saharan Africa alone, is estimated to be above 20 million.

Shoes are very often considered a required part of the school uniform in developing countries and without shoes, many children are unable to attend school.

Many serious health conditions can be absorbed through the feet, even through the toughest soles. As the skin on the bottom of the feet toughens and thickens, large cracks can form, which allows parasitic infections such as hookworm and threadworm to penetrate the skin. In addition, constant cuts and scrapes to the feet and ankles frequently become infected and many of these infections can lead to ulcers and worse.

Among the dangers of going barefoot are the risk of puncture wounds, cuts, scrapes and burns to the feet. These injuries are almost never treated and can lead to serious infections, amputations and even death. With the number of children living in abject poverty and therefore
surviving at a scavenger's existence, the feet are at tremendous risk as the child hunts for food or household items in garbage dumps, abandoned housing/construction areas, or while crossing through open sewer trenches and contaminated areas.

In addition to infections brought on by external injuries, a child's bare foot is particularly at risk of infection by hookworm. Especially at risk are children living in African and Southeast Asian countries, where hookworm infections are about 60 times more common.

In 2011, flipflop wines and Underdog Wine Merchants are partnering with Soles4Souls to help them achieve their goal of 11 million pairs of shoes in 2011.

For more information, contact Elizabeth Kirk, elizabethk@giveshoes.org, 615/391-5723 Soles4Souls, Inc., 319 Martingale Drive, Old Hickory, TN 37138 

Partnering with Soles4Souls means for each bottle of Flip Flop Wines purchased (up to 100,000 pairs for the first 100,000 bottles sold; where promotion is legal) they receive one pair of flip-flop sandals. I think this is a great promotion. And when you’re only spending $7 for a bottle of wine anyway, this is such an easy way to know that you’re helping a great charity too.

[#Beginning of Shooting Data Section]
Nikon D2X
2010/12/10 16:49:08.6
Compressed RAW (12-bit)
Image Size: Large (4288 x 2848)
Color
Lens: 28-70mm F/2.8 D
Focal Length: 70mm
Exposure Mode: Manual
Metering Mode: Spot
1/125 sec - F/10
Exposure Comp.: 0 EV
Sensitivity: ISO 100
Optimize Image: 
White Balance: Flash
AF Mode: AF-S
Flash Sync Mode: 
Flash Mode: 
Auto Flash Comp: 
Color Mode: Mode I (Adobe RGB)
Tone Comp.: Normal
Hue Adjustment: 0°
Saturation: Normal
Sharpening: Normal
Image Comment:                                     
Long Exposure NR: Off
High ISO NR: Off
[#End of Shooting Data Section]
We got to try the Riesling Flip Flop Wine and Pinot Grigio Flip Flop Wine. They have a great description of each of their wines on their website. They explain details about the wine, its flavor, what to eat it with, how to serve and store it and more. The Riesling is rated in the medium sweet/sweet category (between dry and sweet), and the Pinot Grigio is right in the middle. Being a sweet girl myself, I figured I’d favor the Riesling a little more. But I was a little surprised that I liked the Pinot Grigio. The flavor was amazing, and I really enjoyed it.


You can check stores near you to see if they carry Flip Flop Wines. They also will ship to certain states (at only $7/bottle). You can keep up with Flip Flop Wines on Facebook and Twitter as well. I recommend you run out and buy some right away. You’ll like it!


*Disclaimer: I received products from Flip Flop Wines to try for this review. All opinions are my own.*

Friday, July 22, 2011

Shout Out for Zenni Optical!

This is a Sponsored post written by me on behalf of Zenni Optical for SocialSpark. All opinions are 100% mine.

I know I am not the only person who has heard Zenni Optical being mentioned in passing conversation lately. It’s not just now and then either, so many people seem to be really into Zenni. And I can see why.

Zenni Optical carries prescription eye glasses for a very reasonable price. They have anything from classic to stylish looks. And I could get at least 6-8 pairs of great glasses for the price that I pay at my optometrist. At that low price, I can afford some style to match my clothes.

A recent issue of Time magazine [“Eyes on the Price”, July 4, 2011] mentioned that Bill Saporito, a Time editor, actually paid $1,000 for a pair of glasses! Yikes! And a wise reader responded with this remark-

Hey, Bill, Can You Read This?
Please tell me editor Bill Saporito is receiving mental-health treatment, because he is insane for spending $1,000 on a single pair of glasses. I buy glasses from Zenni Optical, and online site. It’s $20 for a complete set at my doorstep, shipping included.
-Peter Minton, Winsted, Conn.

I love it. I think it’s great that the reader called out the big spender here. Why waste your money, when you ca use it somewhere else. Glasses don’t have to be expensive. And there are styles to suit anyone’s tastes at Zenni. Zenni even got some recent accolades from a US solider who is serving in Afghanistan- http://blog.zennioptical.com/. I say why spend more, when you can get more for less.

I am new to wearing glasses, and I bought my first pairs from my eye doctor. But with all the great things I’ve heard from my people online and in real life, I’ll definitely give Zenni Optical a try next time I’m due for some new eyeglasses. Have you tried them yet? What was your experience?

Visit Sponsor's Site

Shaun the Sheep: The Big Chase DVD Review + {Giveaway with Rafflecopter – Ends 8/4} (CLOSED)

Shaun the Sheep The Big Chase

Silent, silly, zany and wacky! That’s how every day is with Shaun the Sheep. Add in a little speed and adventure and you have the him in Shaun the Sheep: The Big Chase DVD. You won’t want to much Shaun and his barnyard pals in their races and chases. It’s always good for a laugh.

Program Description On your mark…get set…laugh! Shaun the Sheep and his barnyard buddies are revving up for all new hilarious antics and adventures in Shaun the Sheep: The Big Chase roaring onto DVD April, 19, 2011 from Lionsgate and HIT Entertainment. From big races to big chases, bikes and boats and everything in between, the beloved and International Emmy-winning animated series is speeding off for more wacky adventures.

Five minute shorts of the series currently air in the U.S. on the Disney Channel and the series ranks in the top 5 animated shorts on the network!

DVD Synopsis Start you engines for fun and laughter with Shaun the Sheep and his barnyward buddies, as they speed off to stir up some mayhem in the meadow. The Oscar-winning creators of Wallace & Gromit accelerate the laughter with revved up adventures from big races and chases, to bikes and boats, and everything in between. So buckle up for a wild ride with Shaun, Bitzer, Shirley, those Naughty Pigs next door and introducing their new pal, Timmy (from “Timmy Time” on Playhouse Disney) as fun on the farm shifts into high gear.

Episodes include:
* “The Big Chase” – When Timmy drives off on The Farmer’s brand new quad bike, Shaun, Bitzer and the flock have to give chase by any means available! Very soon half the animals on the farm have joined in the chase. Can the sheep rescue Timmy and return the quad bike before The Farmer finds out?

* “Bitzer From the Black Lagoon” – Bitzer falls into a muddy pond while trying to retrieve his ball. When Shaun sees a big, blobby, shambling “thing” squelching across the field, he’s convinced they are being attacked by a swamp monster!

* “Zebra Ducks of the Serengeti” – After getting covered in soot, two hapless ducks are mistaken for a pair of rare African Zebra Ducks. Seeing a way to make money, The Farmer transforms Shaun’s field into an exotic duck sanctuary, which he gleefully opens to the public. Shaun doesn’t appreciate losing his field and sets about exposing the fraud.

* “Bitzer’s Basic Training” – Bitzer thinks The Farmer is planning to replace him, so Shaun helps to get his friend into shape. Unfortunately, Bitzer goes completely over the top with his training regime and starts running the farm with military precision, driving everyone crazy.

* “The Magpie” – A magpie has nested in the big tree and is causing chaos by stealing everything around the farm. The magpie’s nest soon begins to fill up with loot and Shaun has to come up with a brilliant plan to outwit the burgling bird.

* “The Boat” – the Farmer gets Bitzer to help him renovate an old boat, but as soon as his back is turned, the sheep and pigs turn the refurbishment into a swashbuckling game of pirates.

* “Hide & Squeak” – A cute mouse appears in the farmhouse and terrorizes The Farmer. Pidsley the car is ordered to dispose of the rodent. When the mouse takes refuge in Shaun’s fleece, the flock persuades him to protect their new friend from the pitiless cat.


This Shaun the Sheep DVD is up to par with all his others. Shaun is so funny with his buddies in the barnyard. My son and I enjoyed this video together. Even with a silent sheep, it’s still entertaining…maybe even more so this way.

The Shaun the Sheep: The Big Chase DVD also has bonus features “The Mini Making of Shaun Videos” and “Timmy’s Tune #1” for your enjoyment. You can find Shaun the Sheep: The Big Chase DVD in stores and online as well. And I have one copy to giveaway, so enter in the form below.










*Disclaimer: I received a product for this review. All opinions are my own.*

Thursday, July 21, 2011

“Treasuring Emma” by Kathleen Fuller Book Review

Treasuring Emma

The ways of the Amish are so different than the Englischers. In “Treasuring Emma” by Kathleen Fuller we experience how an Amish girl deals with losing her love to the world. When he comes back, how will this affect Emma? She's lived a protected life, and this is a new experience. Losing a mother is hard enough, then an old love returns to complicate her feelings.

I enjoy reading books about the Amish like this. And when the story takes me to a place that I’ve never thought about before, it’s great. The story of Emma is very relatable, even though her world is so different than mine. I wonder if I were in her shoes how would I deal with everything that she’s going through. It’s not easy, but with God on her side she can get through anything. This is a lesson that I try to live my life on.

If you enjoy Christian Fiction, you will enjoy this Treasuring Emma. It’s an Amish story from an author I’ve never read before, but I’m already looking into reading more of hers. This book is available through Amazon and at other book dealers as well.



*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”*

Organically Grown Review

Organically Grown logo
I love having cute clothes for babies. They are already so adorable and cuddly. Why not wrap them up in organic cotton clothing that looks great and is so soft on their fresh new skin.

Organically Grown  is a company that cares not only about style and comfort, but they care about the environment. Their clothing is made from 100% organic cotton, which is grown using safe, pesticide-free methods from plants that are not genetically modified. They support various organizations to help our earth too. They do all this without comprising the great quality of their clothing.

Organically Grown girl

We received a sweet little onesie from the Garden Fun 3-Piece Organic Cotton bodysuit set for my new niece. It is white with pink butterflies, bugs, and flowers on it. The material is so soft. It’s exactly what I’d want for a tiny baby. I like that the clothing is sturdy and will hold up too. This is a garment that you won’t have any problems washing over and over again.

You can see the onesie like I got plus so much more at www.shoporganicallygrown.com. In addition to baby and children’s clothing, they all so have men and women shirts and more. Their products are available for purchase through their website as well. And you can find the on Twitter & Facebook.


*Disclaimer: I received a product for my review. All opinions are my own.*

Hungry Jack Premium Hashbrown Potatoes Review + {Giveaway with Rafflecopter – Ends 7/27} (CLOSED)

GEDC2311
We like potatoes in our house, that’s for sure. We prepare and eat them many different ways. They can round out many different meals. So, I’m always looking for different ways to serve potatoes. We have them almost once a week. It’s always nice to find something new that my family will love too.

GEDC2313Hungry Jack has an easy, fun, tasty way to make hashbrowns. The Hungry Jack Premium Hashbrown Potatoes are fantastic and a super easy addition to round out any meal. This is a great product for busy moms and families will love it.

The new Hungry Jack Premium Hashbrown Potatoes are made from 100 % Idaho potatoes. The potatoes are cooked seasoned and shelf stable. There is no need to put them in the refrigerator. In about 15 minutes you will have these yummy hashbrowns from their box to your plate.

GEDC2315You will have no problems whipping up the Hungry Jack Premium Hashbrown Potatoes for your family. They are so simple to make, even someone who doesn’t cook can figure these out. First you open the box of hashbrowns. Then you add water and let them sit for a while. They will soak up all the water. After that you put them in a hot skillet with some oil and cook. If you want them brown on both sides, you flip them and cook a little longer.

I made these for my family for a quick breakfast-for-super night. They were so easy to do. And the hashbrowns were delicious. I added a little diced onion while the hashbrowns were cooking. Then I melted shredded cheese on top before taking the pan off the stove. This added a little something more and was very good.

GEDC2316

The Hungry Jack Premium Hashbrown Potatoes can also be used in other recipes. You can make a Hashbrown Omelet, a yummy Hashbrown Meatloaf or perhaps Zucchini Parmesan Cakes. They all sound delicious!

Hungry Jack Premium Hashbrown Potatoes are a budget-friendly, quick and easy solution to make a special and delicious family meal. The pint-sized carton is made for convenient storage in home pantries and is easily portable for outdoor activities such as camping and backpacking. They are affordable too at only $1.79 (retail) per box and one box serves 6! You can find Hungry Jack Premium Hashbrown Potatoes at various grocery stores including Walmart, HEB, Safeway, Albertsons, Kroger, Publix, Food Lion and Super Target. For more stores or just more information visit www.hungryjackpotatoes.com

I have a prize pack that contains 2 boxes of Hungry Jack Premium Hashbrown Potatoes, a pan to cook them in, a Hungry Jack apron and turner. 2 lucky readers will win one of these prize packs. You can enter following the directions on the Rafflecopter giveaway form. (See my latest post if you need help with Rafflecopter.)
        GEDC2309





*Disclaimer: I received the products to try for this review. All opinions are my own.*

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Palmolive Ultra Antibacterial Dish Soap Review

I’ve tried many different dish soaps over the years. Sometimes I opted for cheap, but others I wanted something that really worked for washing dishes. We don’t have a dishwasher in my house (except me), so I go through plenty of dish soap.

Palmolive

I recently got to try Palmolive Ultra Antibacterial Dish Soap. It is a concentrated liquid dish soap with antibacterial contents. You know that your dishes are getting clean, and you’re killing the germs on them at the same time. The orange scent gives the soap a pleasant aroma. This soap is great for breaking down baked-on grease too.

Here is a little more about it:

Spring is the time to tidy up and get rid of grime in every area of the house, including the kitchen.  You may think you keep a clean kitchen year-round, but research shows that even the most careful of cooks need to be cognizant of bacteria in this area of the home. E. coli, Salmonella and Staph can contaminate everything from cutting boards to sink drains.  And that basic dish liquid you keep by the sink can’t help you clean the germs and bacteria that contaminate our counters, stovetops and sinks. 
Ultra Palmolive Antibacterial Dish Liquid is the only dish liquid approved to kill 99.9 percent of E. coli, Salmonella and Staph on dishes and non-porous surfaces in 30 seconds. And since it’s Palmolive, you can trust this dish liquid will still cut through grease and break down baked-on fats and oils with ease.


I knew I liked the Ultra Palmolive Antibacterial Dish Soap right away. A little really does a great job on a whole sink full of dishes. I like that it cleans my dishes so easily, and I really enjoy the light orange scent. My hands aren’t dried out when I finish washing dishes, and my dishes are clean and shiny.

You can get Palmolive Ultra Antibacterial Dish Soap and other Palmolive products at your local stores and online as well.


*Disclaimer: A sample product was provided for this review. All opinions are my own.*

Monday, July 18, 2011

Yoga By the Dozen DVD Review + {Giveaway – Ends 7/31} (CLOSED)

Yoga by the dozen

Keeping kids active and healthy is one of the most important things that we as parents do. When our children are young, we don’t want (or usually need) to push it too much about food and exercise. It’s our job as parents to make eating and trying new things fun. And we also provide activities and fun things in order to keep our kids active and moving.

The Yoga By The Dozen DVD is a great resource for getting young kids to stretch, exercise, and move. It’s prefect for young children who just want to have fun and be silly. The instructor teaches children simple moves that they can understand and participate with. And they are doing great things for their bodies while having a fun time.

Yoga by the Dozen


Product Information:
Discover an exercise that fosters respect, coordination, and self-confidence for kids!  It’s Yoga, of course!  Children are natural yogis because of their “in the moment attitude”.  Yoga nourishes their mind, body and spirit and paves the way for a life-long tradition of health and fitness.


“Yoga By The Dozen” DVD is a fun, interactive children’s yoga video, designed especially for kids ages 2-6.  JoAnna and her 12 friends demonstrate a ‘dozen’ fundamental poses that will introduce your children into the exciting world of Yoga.


Key Benefits:


* Increased cognitive and motor skills
* Confidence, courage and self-esteem
* Balance and coordination
* Memory retention and concentration
* Nurture creativity and self-expression
* Respect for themselves and each other

My son has always likes mimicking me when I do a yoga DVD or yoga poses on the Wii Fit. So this was fun for him to be able to try the moves. He got to see other children doing it on the DVD, and I could do it right beside him. Yoga is great relaxing, stretching exercise for adults and children alike. Zachariah and I enjoyed the Yoga By The Dozen DVD and I think you will too!

The Yoga By The Dozen DVD is $17.99 and available on their website- http://www.yogabythedozen.com/. They also have other yoga products available there. You can preview the DVD and learn some of the poses as well.



Prize – 1 winner will receive a Yoga By The Dozen DVD

To Enter – Tell me what your kids do to stay active.

Extra Entries:
-Subscribe by RSS feed or feed reader
-Subscribe by email
-Follow by Google Friend Connect
-Post my button on your blog/website
-“Like” my Facebook fan page
-Be my friend on Facebook
-Follow me on Networked Blogs
-Enter another giveaway here
-Comment on a non-giveaway post
-Follow me on Twitter
-Post about the giveaway on TwitterEnter to #win a Yoga By The Dozen DVD from @psmomreviews – http://tinyurl.com/6eg5sd7 #giveaway



This giveaway is open now through Sunday, July 31st. I will post the winner on Monday, August 1st.

Open to USA only!




*Disclosure: I received a product for review. All opinions are my own.*

Princess & My Pea Boutique Review + {Giveaway – Ends 7/31} (CLOSED)

Angela from the Princess & My Pea Boutique knows how to make some cute things. Her shop’s tagline “Your baby wrapped in love” is perfect for the great items that she’s crafted.

Angela specializes in baby items, like burp clothes, adorable taggie blankets, bows, headbands, bibs and more. You will find the perfect item for your little bundle, whether it’s a boy or a girl. And purchasing the perfect gift for a friend will be easy in at the Princess & My Pea Boutique.

DSCN9558 DSCN9556 DSCN9557

I received a Reusable Sandwich Bag from Princess & My Pea Boutique. As soon as I opened the package, I knew I’d like this sandwich bag. I am all for reusable stuff (ask my husband how particular about using my reusable grocery bags), and this is right up my alley. The bag is sewn with water resistant materials, which makes it so easy to clean the bag. Angela suggests just rinsed or wiping it clean, but for bigger messes you can put it in your dishwasher on the top rack or in the washing machine then air dry. I only had to wipe mine out. It was easy to do and there were no problems at all. The velcro closure is just right to keep things inside and the size is perfect for a sandwich or other small snack.

The Reusable Sandwich Bags, like the one I have, are available for purchase at Princess & My Pea Boutique by special order. But you can check out all the great products that are available there as well. And Angela has graciously offered to give one lucky reader a monogrammed burp cloth in their choice of boy or girl.

Burp cloth

Prize – 1 winner will receive a Monogrammed Burp Cloth from Princess & My Pea Boutique

To Enter – Tell me what your favorite item is from her store- http://princessandmypea.etsy.com/.

Extra Entries:
-Subscribe by RSS feed or feed reader
-Subscribe by email
-Follow by Google Friend Connect
-Post my button on your blog/website
-“Like” my Facebook fan page
-“Like” Princess & My Pea on Facebook
-Be my friend on Facebook
-Follow me on Networked Blogs
-Enter another giveaway here
-Comment on a non-giveaway post
-Follow me on Twitter
-Post about the giveaway on TwitterEnter to #win a personalized monogrammed burp cloth from @psmomreviews – http://tinyurl.com/6eg5sd7 #giveaway

This giveaway is open now through Sunday, July 31st. I will post the winner on Monday, August 1st.

Open to USA only!




*Disclosure: I received a product for review. All opinions are my own.*

Giveaways with Rafflecopter Entry

Have you seen the new Rafflecopter giveaway entries? I used one for the first time with the Kindle giveaway I did recently.

Rafflecopter makes entering giveaways so much easier. Instead of having to sign in and leave a comment for every form of entry, it’s all in one place right on the blog post. It’s simple and easy.

Did you enter the Kindle giveaway? Did you like using Rafflecopter? Have you used it on other blogs?

I’ve heard some people saying that they find entering giveaways with Rafflecopter so easy, that they won’t enter giveaways that don’t use it. I now have a membership for Rafflecopter, and I plan to start using it. I would like some feedback from you, my readers first.

I’m wondering what you think of it. Is it something that you’d like to see for every giveaway or just occasionally? I would love to hear what you think. For now I’m thinking I’ll start using it for at least one giveaway per week, then see what you all like. I can work my way up to using it all the time if that’s what will be best too.

Thanks for your feedback, I appreciate it! And if you aren’t familiar with Rafflecopter, or using it is still a little confusing, then I recommend reading this blog post about it- http://www.mommylivingthelifeofriley.com/2011/06/detailed-instructions-on-how-to-enter-blog-giveaways-using-rafflecopter/. She does a great job describing what Rafflecopter is and how to use it when you’re entering giveaways.

7/18/11 Winners + Kindle winner from PS Mom Reviews!!

First of all, thank you all so much for signing up for these great giveaways. I had fun the last few weeks co-hosting the Sparklin’ Kindle Giveaway. All the blogs participating had to have our entries compiled and a winner drawn. And guess what? The Kindle winner was from an entry here at PS Mom Reviews!

The winner of the Sparklin’ Kindle Giveaway is…

#710 – Erica R. – Congrats Erica! Your prize has already been handled I hear, and it should arrive soon. Enjoy!

The winner of the Trace of Fever book by Lori Foster is…

#56 - lewalk 

The winner of the Silk Soymilk Free Coupon & Chicobag is…

#33 – eclairre 

The winners of the Zone Diet 1-2-3 ($179 value) are…

#149 – Meredith 

#125 – Jennifer 

#43 – Tabathia 


Congrats to all the winners. You have received an email from me, and you’ll have 48 hours to claim your prize. For the rest of you, don’t miss out on the other great giveaways going on now as well.

Friday, July 15, 2011

Still Time to Enter the KINDLE Giveaway!!



You have a few hours left to enter the Sparklin' Kindle Giveaway going on now. It officially closes at 11:59PM EST tonight 7/15. Don't miss out.

There are lots of ways to enter too. Go read about it at my post here- http://psmomreviews.blogspot.com/2011/06/sparklin-kindle-giveaway-139-value-open.html.

Good luck!

Next Day Flyers Business Cards Review

next day flyers logo

As you know, I was looking for a great place to get some blog business cards from a while ago. I found a fantastic company to work with just in the nick of time.

Next Day Flyers is a go-to company for ordering printed materials online. They specialize in custom-made business cards, brochures, greeting cards, postcards, specialty die cuts and other marketing items. And they can meet your need large or small.

The best part is the Next Day printing promise. When you see that in their name, they mean it. When you submit a print ready file that is approved before 6 PM PST, they will have it printed and shipped out the next business day. You can’t beat a quick response like that and have what you need so quickly.

GEDC2336 I got to try their business card printing. I was really excited, because I have been looking for a place to purchase blog business cards. I have gone to a few events and not had any cards to had out to people I meet. Plus I wanted to have cards to any events I might go to where I could hand my card to companies and businesses.

It was so easy to design my business cards with their online design center. I chose to put my PS Mom logo on the front with all of my information. I was able to match the colors that were on my logo and blog too. On the back I had a full color picture of myself and my name, address and phone number. Then there is enough clean, white space that someone could jot down a note too.

The 500 two-sided business cards where quickly printed and shipped to me. They are good quality cards. I like the smooth glossy texture that they have too. The color pops just right and was very true to the color that I chose on my computer screen. The photo printed very well and was high quality too.

GEDC2338

Next Day Flyers
has great options to chose from. With business card you can choose the basic rectangle like I have, or they also have rounded corner and fold business cards too. There are also lots of premade templates that you can choose from if you don’t want to design the whole thing yourself. Or you may upload a design that you already have. It’s very easy to do all right on their website.

And if you need help through the process, their customer service was great. They are willing and able to answer any questions with a quick email or phone call. I also think their prices are very reasonable. I will definitely reorder my business cards with them (when I get through the 500 I have now), and I will use them for any other printing needs I have.

I would highly recommend Next Day Flyers for any of your printed marketing materials. And for bloggers who don’t have business cards, you should get some right away. You never know when you might want to hand one to someone. It would be great to have them on hand to promote your blog.

You can get more information and learn more about Next Day Flyers services on their website- http://www.nextdayflyers.com. All items for purchase can be seen there as well.


*This post was written for Family Review Network & Next Day Flyers who provided the complimentary product for review in exchange for my honest opinions.*

Thursday, July 14, 2011

Nutrisystem Review

Nutrisystem ad

By now if you haven’t heard of Nutrisystem, you must be living in a cave. (It's OK if you haven't...I'll tell you a little about it.) Nutrisystem makes diet foods. They have prepackaged convenience foods that are designed to help you lose weight.

TVTopTen.com is the go to place for the top products that you see advertised on television. And right now you can get Nutrisystem through them. Nutrisystem has products that will be delivered to your door. It takes the guesswork out of dieting. You can get meals, snacks, and more with easy online ordering. This is supposed to be a great way to diet.

Nutrisystem has several plan options in order for you to find the best fit for your lifestyle. They have plans for women, men, diabetics, and even vegetarians. In addition to the meals and snacks you have a great online support community and counseling available.

Nutrisystem 
I had the chance to try a few of the Nutrisystem foods (pictured above) to see what I thought. I had two varieties of cereal, soup, pizza, and a snack/dessert bar. The pizza was pretty good. Being shelf-stable, it was a little different, but when I baked it it did nicely. The cereals were great. I think they’d be awesome on a diet. The soup was pretty good too. It heated up easily and quickly in the microwave, so it would be perfect to take to work when you’re on a diet. And lastly, the snack bar, it was yummy. It was similar to a granola bar and would be a great sweet treat on a diet. I can see why the Nutrisystem diet works well for so many people.

If you visit the TVTopTen Nutrisystem website, you can learn a lot more about the Nutrisystem diet. They list all the diet plans as well as pros and cons to the diet. You can also connect with TVTopTen on Twitter and Facebook.


*I received some products in order to try for this review. All opinions are my own.*

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

“The Creed Legacy” by Linda Lael Miller Book Review + {Giveaway – Ends 7/27} (CLOSED)




Last month I read and reviewed “Creed’s Honor” by Linda Lael Miller. This was the second book in a series by the author. I did not get the chance to read the first one (though I plan to go back and read it too), but I didn’t miss out on too much since the 2nd book brought in all the characters well. I didn’t feel like I was in the dark. It was very easy to pick up the story.

Now the 3rd book to the Creed Trilogy is on shelves. “The Creed Legacy” by Linda Lael Miller is the last book in the series. It picks up with a few characters from the last book, but it focused on their new story. This book would be fine as a stand along book, but the characters do build from the last book as well. I really like that about Miller’s writing.

In “The Creed Legacy” we learn a little more about Carolyn Simmons and the other Creed twin, Brody. Carolyn is just hitting her stride and finding her way in life…but something is still missing for her. Brody Creed has found his way back to Lonesome Bend and his family. He has a few obstacles to overcome to make things right and get his life back on the track he always wanted.

Here’s a little more about the new book:
The Creed cowboys are back from the final installment of “First Lady of the West” Linda Lael Miller’s exciting, authentic WEstern series—the Creed family trilogy. Following the #1 New York Times best-sellers A CREED IN STONE CREEK (March 2011) and CREED’S HONOR (June 2011), THE CREED LEGACY (HQN Books; July 2011; $7.99) ends the beloved three-part series with the story of rough-and-tumble rodeo star Brody Creed, the estranged twin brother of Connor Creed from CREED’S HONOR. Brody likes life on the move. Until a chance encounter with his long-estranged twin brother brings him back to Lonesome Bend for the first time in years. 
Suddenly Brody is in Creed territory—at thirty-three, he’s a restless bad boy in a family with deep ties to the land and each other. And Brody has a secret past that haunts him as he tried to make plans for his future. Soon he meets Carolyn Simmons who is looking for Mr. Right as her biological clock ticks. Will she fall for the gorgeous new cowboy in town—the opposite of everything she wants?

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is a fast read, because the story will just draw you in. If you’re into romance books, this one is right up your alley…especially if you enjoy cute cowboys too.

You can find “The Creed Legacy” by Linda Lael Miller in bookstores and online now. You can also see more from Miller on her website- http://www.lindalaelmiller.com/.



Prize – 1 winner will receive a copy of “The Creed Legacy” by Linda Lael Miller book

To Enter – Tell me what you think you’d like about this book.

Extra Entries:
-Subscribe by RSS feed or feed reader
-Subscribe by email
-Follow by Google Friend Connect
-Post my button on your blog/website
-“Like” my Facebook fan page
-Be my friend on Facebook
-Follow me on Networked Blogs
-Enter another giveaway here
-Comment on a non-giveaway post
-Follow me on Twitter
-Post about the giveaway on TwitterEnter to #win “The Creed Legacy” book by Linda Lael Miller from @psmomreviews – http://tinyurl.com/6eoxdrl #giveaway


This giveaway is open now through Wednesday, July 27th. I will post the winner on Thursday, July 28th.

Open to USA & Canada only!




*Disclosure: I received this product for review. All opinions are my own.* 

Hope Harris “Cousins Jamboree” CD Review + {Giveaway – Ends 7/26} (CLOSED)

Hope Harris CD1
Another great children’s music CD is out. You’ll want to check out “Cousins Jamboree” with Hope Harris. Here is a little about the album:
RICHMOND, VA (April 28, 2011) –With a 2011 Parents’ Choice® Silver Honor Award for her new CD Cousins Jamboree proudly in hand, independent children’s musician Hope Harris is all set to share her music with the world!  Rocking songs, whimsical songs, heartfelt songs, and soon-to-be sing-along-songs combine on this 16-track album of Hope Harris originals and arrangements, each one set with imagination, style, and country warmth.

Beautifully produced by the man who co-produces the Dan Zanes family albums, Rob Friedman, Cousins Jamboree cannot help but engage listeners from the get-go, in large part due to the open friendliness and musical purity of Hope Harris’s inviting voice.  Hope relies on the quality of her singing to carry the song and compliments her young listeners by assuming they are intelligent enough to appreciate music that doesn’t rely upon gimmicks.  In creating Cousins Jamboree, Hope’s wish has been to create  a down-home, good-times celebration showcasing country, swing, jazz, blues, ‘50s rock & roll, folk, and show-tune sounds — a montage of American music — while at the same time reminding children that being kind to one another, looking out for friends, and behaving with good manners is a happy way to live.
Wrote Lahri Bond in his Parents’ Choice® Silver Honor Award review of Cousins Jamboree, “Unlike her first album Julie the Starfish and Other Lullabies, which was more subdued, Cousins Jamboree takes a decidedly more energetic approach. Songs such as ‘Howdy Hello,’ ‘Hang on Friend,’ ‘I Love Apples,’ and the fun loving title track all exude country warmness and good time celebration. Though the majority of the album is danceable party music, when Harris turns her pen to such ‘lesson’ songs as ‘Good Manners,’ ‘Seatbelt Buckled,’ and ‘A Little Bit Afraid,’ she does so with style and avoids becoming obvious or preachy. Her cover songs like the lovely ‘Down in the Valley,’ or the Andrew Sisters-esque ‘Five Little Monkeys,’ sit well next to her finely crafted originals. The album closes with the picturesque ‘Holcomb Rock Road,’ which plays like a taste of cool country water.”

Hope Harris’ debut album, Julie the Starfish and Other Lullabies, was declared an “instant classic” by parents and was nicknamed “the magic CD” because of its ability to relax listeners of all ages with an ethereal blend of voice and guitar.  The arrival of Hope’s two sons fueled inspiration for new material, which turned out to be a handy way to keep the boys entertained!  In light of Hope’s ability to sing a song that tells a good story with her characteristic open friendliness and total lack of pretense, Cousins Jamboree promises to be another “instant classic.”

A graduate of the University of Virginia and, later, the Neighborhood Playhouse School of Theatre, Hope Harris spent many years living and performing in NYC, appearing both on and off Broadway, in regional and stock productions across the country, and even doing stints at venues like Nashville’s famed Bluebird Café.  A crowning success in the kids’ realm was her starring appearance, for three years running, as “Baker Bobbie” for the Park Slope, Brooklyn, Chocolate Chip Chamber Music Series, for which she is also a contributing scriptwriter.   Hope now lives with her family in Richmond, VA but returns often to NYC to perform.
Coming next from Hope Harris, in fall 2011, will be Picasso, That’s Who, an album honoring great artists through the centuries.  Looking ahead to spring 2012, Hope plans to release an Earth-friendly CD titled Lemonade Stand.

Cousins Jamboree, previously released locally in Richmond, Virginia, is available online at www.hopeharris.comamazon.com, and cdbaby.com, as well as at Franklin Goose in Richmond, Virginia.
# # #
CD Details: Cousins Jamboree   For ages 3 - 10.
Label: Holcomb Rock Records
SRP: $15.00
Run time: 42 minutes.

Hope Harris CD2 Hope Harris has done a lot. She’s been an actress and music teacher. She’s appeared on Broadway and performed on small stages as well. She loves making music for children, but she has a way of making it enjoyable for adults as well. As a mom and wife, she has plenty on her plate, but her music hasn’t suffered. Maybe it’s her experience as a mom that helps inspire her fun songs too.

My son and I enjoy the songs on Cousins Jamboree. When my son hears “Howdy Hello” he says “That’s my favorite song.” It has a fun beat and catchy lyrics that everyone can sing along. And with other songs like “Five Little Monkeys” and “I Love Apples” this CD will keep your kids dancing. I like that it’s fun and my son gets into the music right away.

Hope Harris CD3 Cousins Jamboree by Hope Harris is available online at www.hopeharris.com, amazon.com, cdbaby.com, and at Franklin Goose in Richmond, VA. This would be a great birthday gift for any kid in your life. (Or even a wonderful stocking stuffer for Christmas, if you’re planning ahead.) You can learn more about Hope Harris on her website- www.hopeharris.com.




Prize – 1 winner will receive the Hope Harris “Cousins Jamboree” CD

To Enter – Tell me what your favorite song is from this album, go listen here- www.hopeharris.com.

Extra Entries:
-Subscribe by RSS feed or feed reader
-Subscribe by email
-Follow by Google Friend Connect
-Post my button on your blog/website
-“Like” my Facebook fan page
-Be my friend on Facebook
-Follow me on Networked Blogs
-Enter another giveaway here
-Comment on a non-giveaway post
-Follow me on Twitter
-Post about the giveaway on TwitterEnter to #win Hope Harris “Cousins Jamboree” Children’s CD from @psmomreviews – http://tinyurl.com/67h5rpz #giveaway

This giveaway is open now through Tuesday, July 26th. I will post the winner on Wednesday, July 27th.

Open to USA only!




*Disclosure: I received this product for review. All opinions are my own.*

Recess Monkey “Flying” CD Review + {Giveaway – Ends 7/26} (CLOSED)

Recess Monkey CD1

With a name like Recess Monkey you might not be too surprised to learn that this children’s music band is a group of teachers who worked together in Seattle. Their latest album takes you to new heights- Flying by Recess Monkey is available now.

Here’s a little about the band and new album:

SEATTLE, WA (April 19) – For those who understand how a gravity-defying leap from the couch is mightily enhanced by wearing a bed sheet cape, celebrated independent children’s recording group Recess Monkey offers a superhero-inspired collection of music on their seventh studio CD, FLYING! (Monkey Mama, $14.99, for ages 3 – 8, run time 47 minutes. Release date: June 21, 2011.).

Superheroes usually populate a world of make-believe, but most of the songs on FLYING! are firmly grounded in the everyday, real-life experiences of Recess Monkey as teachers, parents, and (former) kids and graced with the knowledge that an ordinary person can, indeed, transform into a superhero. Think Wonder Woman re-imagined as a five-year-old playground dynamo covered in band-aids, Superman as a “Superkid” who bravely tells the truth and stands up for what's right, or a tribute to one of the greatest superheroes of all time: Grandma!

Kids’ music authority Stefan Shepherd (Zooglobble) has declared, ““Dan Zanes may be the godfather; They Might Be Giants, the legitimizer; and Laurie Berkner, Ralph Covert, and Justin Roberts the genre’s superstars.  But RecessMonkey is the heart of kids’ music today.”
“Kindie” music favorites Chris Ballew/Caspar Babypants, Molly Ledford (Lunch Money), Justin Lansing (The Okee Dokee Brothers), Dean Jones (Dog on Fleas), Johnny Bregar, Tom Baisden (The Not-Its!) and Chris Wiser (Sugar Free Allstars) play superhero on FLYING! The album’s producer, Tor Hyams, launches flights of keyboard fancy on several tracks, and children’s author/illustrator Jarrett Krosoczka (Lunch Lady, Punk Farm) contributes FLYING’s stunning interior comic strip artwork, showing the world just how Recess Monkey became superheroes.

The three members of Recess Monkey are teachers who met while working at the same Seattle school and shared a genuine enthusiasm for a grad school project that morphed into their 2005 debut release Welcome to RecessMonkey Town. This was followed by another popular (and zoologically correct) hit, Aminal House.  The teachers —Jack Forman, Daron Henry, and Drew Holloway — made history with their next release, Wonderstuff, the first double CD children’s album produced from material generated at a kids’ summer camp workshop. Likewise, 2008’s Tabby Road, 2009’s Field Trip, and 2010’s The Final Funktier each came from real life children’s experiences.  

From a plethora of remarkable Seattle-based “kindie” musicians, Seattle Magazine chose to honor Recess Monkey in 2010 with its “Best Local Kids’ Music” accolade. The band’s 2010 release, The Final Funktier, was highlighted on CBS-TV’s The Early Show and in People magazine. The Final Funktier was on “Best of 2010” lists by Amazon.com; Parents Magazine; The Washington Post; Time Out NY Kids; Kidsmusic.About.com; Boston Children’s Music; Cool Mom Picks;Daily Candy Kids; MetroKids; MilwaukeeMoms.com; Minivan Blues; You Know, for Kids; Zooglobble; and more. The album was a KIWI magazine 2010 “holiday pick” and was featured in ParentsConnect’s holiday gift guide.   Each of Recess Monkey’s previous albums has received similar acclaim.

“Kindie” music favorites Chris Ballew/Caspar Babypants, Molly Ledford (Lunch Money), Justin Lansing (The Okee Dokee Brothers), Dean Jones (Dog on Fleas), Johnny Bregar, Tom Baisden (The Not-Its!) and Chris Wiser (Sugar Free Allstars) play superhero on FLYING! The album’s producer, Tor Hyams, launches flights of keyboard fancy on several tracks, and children’s author/illustrator Jarrett Krosoczka (Lunch Lady, Punk Farm) contributes FLYING’s stunning interior comic strip artwork, showing the world just how Recess Monkey became superheroes.

The three members of Recess Monkey are teachers who met while working at the same Seattle school and shared a genuine enthusiasm for a grad school project that morphed into their 2005 debut release Welcome to RecessMonkey Town. This was followed by another popular (and zoologically correct) hit, Aminal House.  The teachers —Jack Forman, Daron Henry, and Drew Holloway — made history with their next release, Wonderstuff, the first double CD children’s album produced from material generated at a kids’ summer camp workshop. Likewise, 2008’s Tabby Road, 2009’s Field Trip, and 2010’s The Final Funktier each came from real life children’s experiences.

From a plethora of remarkable Seattle-based “kindie” musicians, Seattle Magazine chose to honor Recess Monkey in 2010 with its “Best Local Kids’ Music” accolade. The band’s 2010 release, The Final Funktier, was highlighted on CBS-TV’s The Early Show and in People magazine. The Final Funktier was on “Best of 2010” lists by Amazon.com; Parents Magazine; The Washington Post; Time Out NY Kids; Kidsmusic.About.com; Boston Children’s Music; Cool Mom Picks;Daily Candy Kids; MetroKids; MilwaukeeMoms.com; Minivan Blues; You Know, for Kids; Zooglobble; and more. The album was a KIWI magazine 2010 “holiday pick” and was featured in ParentsConnect’s holiday gift guide.   Each of Recess Monkey’s previous albums has received similar acclaim.

Recess Monkey CD2
The Recess Monkeys are energetic and lively. They definitely know how to have fun with young children. As teachers of Pre-K - 3rd graders they know how to reach out to that younger crowd, and you can definitely tell in their music. You will even get to meet the band’s superhero alter egos inside the album cover.

My son enjoys this CD. The kid’s pop music is perfect for him. It’s lively and upbeat and the songs tell a story. Children everywhere will be amazed! The songs are fun and relatable for young kids. Your kids might like “Flying” or “Grandmom’s House” and I’m sure they’ll enjoy all the others just as much.

Recess Monkey CD3 You can learn more about the Recess Monkey group on their website- http://www.recessmonkeytown.com/. There are bios about the 3 guys in the band, show information, videos, lyrics, and a store to purchase their album. The Recess Monkey “Flying” CD is available for purchase through their website and on Amazon.com as well.


Prize – 1 winner will receive the Recess Monkey “Flying” CD

To Enter – Tell me what your favorite song is from this album, go listen here- http://www.recessmonkeytown.com/.

Extra Entries:
-Subscribe by RSS feed or feed reader
-Subscribe by email
-Follow by Google Friend Connect
-Post my button on your blog/website
-“Like” my Facebook fan page
-Be my friend on Facebook
-Follow me on Networked Blogs
-Enter another giveaway here
-Comment on a non-giveaway post
-Follow me on Twitter
-Post about the giveaway on TwitterEnter to #win Recess Monkey “Flying” Children’s CD from @psmomreviews – http://tinyurl.com/6cgk8te #giveaway

This giveaway is open now through Tuesday, July 26th. I will post the winner on Wednesday, July 27th.

Open to USA only!




*Disclosure: I received this product for review. All opinions are my own.*