Monday, October 31, 2011

WAT-AAH! Challenge



Wat-aah! makes Z strong!
Do your kids drink enough water. Is it hard to get them away from sugary juice and pop/sodas? Maybe you just want to introduce a little more variety into their lunchboxes. Look no further. Now WAT-AAH! has a lunchbox sized drink for kids!

WAT-AAH! has issued a challenge to get more kids to drink water with their lunches. And it's great that they will eliminate the sugary drinks in the process.

My son packs his lunch almost every day at school. He usually takes 100% juice or milk. But I knew right away when school started that he wasn't getting enough water while he was away from home. When we got the WAT-AAH! in the mail he was very excited. I don't know what it is about WAT-AAH!, but he's very interested in it. He loves the packaging (and the stickers we got too!).


When it came time to pack his lunch, my son was all for picking out which WAT-AAH! he wanted in hiss lunch that day. With great varieties like Defense, Energy, Power, Brain & Body, Zachariah gets excited that he's doing something good for himself when he packs WAT-AAH! in his lunch each day.

So go check out their challenge at http://wat-aahchallenge.blogspot.com and see what other kids and parents think. I know it was a hit in my house! You can also learn more when you follow them on Facebook and Twitter.


*Disclaimer: I received this product to try. All opinions are my own.*

Happy Muppets Halloween!


Winners 10/31

Colgate Sensitive Pro-Relief Toothpaste & toothbrush winner is...

     #34 - Debbie Jackson

Freschetta Pizza & earphones winner is...

     #35 - dianad

"Real Steel" Movie Prize Pack winner is...

     #23 - Julie Witt

Bertolli Olive Oil Let's Cook winner is...

     #52 - Cheryl Abdelnour

Betty Crocker Box Tops for Education Prize Pack winner is...

     #75 - Cheryl Free

Barney: 123 Learn DVD winner is...

     #105 - lisa

Congrats to all the winners! There are plenty more giveaways to enter. Plus I have a new giveaway going live tomorrow for $200 Paypal cash for the month of November. Best of luck!!

Sunday, October 30, 2011

Smart Kids Who Play Sunscreen Review

Kids love to play outside. It's great for them to exercise and get fresh air. But we're all wary of the damages that sun can do to our kids skin too. We want to protect them and make sure that they are playing smart. That's what Smart Kids Who Play Sunscreen is all about. Your kids can be covered and protected from the sun and still play and have fun. This sunscreen and some other new things are from Smart Girls Who Surf.


Introducing Smart Kids Who Play From Smart Girls Who Surf 
THINK: A head start on sun safety. 
WHAT IT IS: Smart sun protection for active kids. Just one blistering sunburn during childhood more than doubles the chance of developing melanoma later in life, so it's never too early to teach your little ones healthy skincare habits. This summer, Smart Girls Who Surf unveils an all-new sun protection line designed just for kids called Smart Kids who Play. Playing safely in the sun begins with an easy enjoyable SPF ritual kids will have fun learning and practice for a lifetime. 
*SPF 35+ Sunscreen Lotion for Face and Body ($14.99):  This kid-safe, non-penetrating SPF 35+ formula is made with micronized Titanium and Zinc that create a barrier against UVA/UVB rays. Free from harmful chemicals and synthetic ingredients that can irritate sensitive skin, SPF 35+ Sunscreen Lotion has a delicious aromatherapy blend of Orange essential oils. The ultra-protective water-resistant formula retains efficacy even after 80 minutes of water activity and perspiration. 
*SPF 15 Lip Balm ($3.99): Thick waxy lip balms are a thing of the past with this yummy new lip protector from Smart Kids Who Play. The all natural grape flavored balm is made with organic palm oil, beeswax, organic extra virgin olive oil, natural flavor, organic hemp seed oil, rosemary extract, and vitamin E for a delicious and safe way to guard sensitive lips from harmful UVA/UVB rays. 
*SPF 30+ Face Sticks ($12.99): Perfect for busy parents, this portable face protector makes for quick, no-mess application on the go. The SPF 30+ Face Stick shields delicate skin with a natural chemical-free blend of Titanium Dioxide and Zinc Oxide --no harmful additives that sting sensitive faces. 
WHERE TO BUY: www.smartkidswhoplay.com



We got the chance to try the Smart Kids Who Play 35+ Sunscreen this summer. This lotion is very nice to apply and it did it's job. My son loves to run around and play outside in the summer. We have a nice area in our yard where he can play. We also go to my parents' house a lot in the summer. They have a large property, and my son loves to run around, swing, play yard games, and swim in the pond. I am very careful about making sure that he has sunscreen on there, because there is not as much shade in the areas where he's playing. Plus with him in the water, some sunscreens rub off easily. The Smart Kids Who Play sunscreen is made to stay on even in water. That's a huge plus for me!

If you're looking for a nice sunscreen that will work to protect your kids, I definitely recommend the Smart Kids Who Play Sunscreen. You can learn more about them on their website. This sunscreen and their other products are available there and other places online too.



*Disclaimer: We received this product to review. All opinions are my own.*

Saturday, October 29, 2011

Shaun the Sheep: Animal Antics DVD Review + {Rafflecopter Giveaway - Ends 11/12} (CLOSED)

This giveaway is closed. Congrats to the winner listed below!


That funny sheep is back. He's lovable, furry, and so much fun for the whole family. Everyone can get into the humor and entertainment of the Shaun the Sheep: Animal Antics DVD. If you're a new fan or long time Shaun the Sheep lover, this DVD will not disappoint. Take a look at what you can expect:


PROGRAM DESCRIPTION
Ready to sow some seeds of fun?  Join the always delightful, baaaaa-dest sheep in the flock, Shaun, in the all-new Shaun the Sheep™: Animal Antics coming to DVD July 26, 2011 from Lionsgate and HIT Entertainment.  In these seven wild and hairy farm adventures released for the first-time-ever on DVD, Shaun and his barnyard buddies deal with a fiendish fox, attempt some clever catering, take to the links, run a farmer’s market, stage a daring rooster rescue and more!  With his woolly cronies in on the fun, “ewe” can’t go wrong with Shaun!

Five minute shorts of the series currently air in the U.S. on the Disney Channel and the series ranks in the top five animated shorts on the network!



DVD SYNOPSIS
Get ready for farm-fresh fun and laughter with Shaun the Sheep and his barnyard buddies, as they set the scene for more mayhem on the farm. Laugh out loud as Shaun tries to outfox a fox, Bitzer discovers his jazzy side, and thesheep try to sell everything on the farm to the highest bidder. Shaun and his friends deliver seven hilarious adventures full of animal antics that will make the whole family cock-a-doodle doo!

Episodes include:

  • Foxy LaddieA fox arrives at the farm, disguising himself as a handsome ram to infiltrate the flock and eat Timmy! All the lady sheep are beguiled by this charming new arrival – especially Shirley. Shaun becomes suspicious when the fox’s cunning disguise begins to fail.

  • Whistleblower: Bitzer loses his precious whistle and tests out the Farmer’s trumpet as a replacement.  Before long, the power of the trumpet goes to his head and his fanfares and jazz-styled bugling drives the flock aroundthe bend.

  • Frantic RomanticThe Farmer is trying to impress his new date by cooking her a romantic dinner. Unfortunately, the Farmer can’t cook and Bitzer is a useless maître d'. Can Shaun and the flock save the day when they take over the catering behind the scenes?

  • Who’s the CaddyThe Farmer discovers his old golf clubs and decides to knock a few balls around in thefield, instantly putting his back out. Shaun takes the opportunity to learn how to play while Bitzer, who desperately wants to show off his golfing prowess, is forced to tend to his injured master inside the house.

  • Everything Must GoThe Farmer has set up a stall by the side of the road, selling produce from the garden. He leaves Bitzer in charge for the day. But lazy Bitzer soon gets bored and gives Shaun the job while he puts his feet up by the pool. Shaun proves to be a much better salesman than Bitzer and the flock is only too happy to get stuck in selling pretty much all of the Farmer’s worldly possessions! 

  • Ithe DoghouseWhen Bitzer’s kennel is accidentally destroyed he hopes the Farmer will replace it with a new deluxe model. But when he sees his master’s clumsy attempt to build a new kennel, Bitzer is so horrified he packs his bags and leaves home. Shaun hopes to tempt Bitzer to return with the kennel of his dreams.

  • Cock-a-Doodle ShaunThe rooster is missing and there’s no one to wake up the farm. When Shaundiscovers the rooster has been snatched by the greedy fox, he sets off with Bitzer on a daring rescue mission. Will they get the rooster back in time to wake up the rest of the farm?

DVD BONUS FEATURES
·       Building-A-Pig Game
·       Timmy Time Sneak Peek -Timmy’s Tune #2

PROGRAM INFORMATION

Title Copyright: © 2011 Aardman Animation Limited.  All rights reserved. Shaun the Sheep (word mark) and the character ‘Shaun the Sheep’ © and  Aardman Animations Limited.
Type: TV on DVD
Rating: NR
Genre: Children/Family/Animated
Age Target: Fans of all ages from 2-60
Closed Captioned: English
Format: Widescreen
Feature Running Time: Approximately 44 minutes
DVD Audio Status:  2.0 Dolby Digital
Program Website: www.shaunthesheep.com


Shaun the Sheep is a little zany and wacky, but he's always fun. My son and I enjoyed watching this DVD. We like seeing what the barnyard friends will come up with next. Their adventures are so funny! I really like that this show can be enjoyed by everyone together. It's not a loud obnoxious cartoon either. These animals don't talk, so the old fashioned slap-stick comedy is what it's all about.

You can find the Shaun the Sheep: Animal Antics DVD in stores and online now. And I have one copy to giveaway. You can enter to win in the Rafflcopter form below.



*Disclaimer: I received this DVD for review. All opinions are my own.*

Will You Take the NaBloPoMo Challenge?

NaBloPoMo 2011



I was hesitant, but I need a challenge. Have you participated in NaBloPoMo before? BlogHer is now hosting NaBloPoMo, and you can learn more here- http://www.blogher.com/free-tagging/nablopomo.

What is NaBloPoMo? Each year in November a challenge is issued for bloggers to post every day in the month of November. The idea is just to make a habit or have a little fun blogging.

It's always a challenge for me. There are times when I can easily blog every day. Then there are times that I have to really make myself sit down to write. I don't know why I go in and out of these spurts, but I do. So to post each day should help me out.

There are also prizes being given away to NaBloPoMo participants. Now that they have combined with BlogHer, there is even a BlogHer conference pass being given away! All you have to do is sign up at the link above and blog every day.

So who will join me? Maybe this will be a stretching experience for you too. We'll have fun together. Plus if you're doing it, I want to make sure that I'm reading your blog too. Good luck!

Friday, October 28, 2011

Freschetta Pizza "Proud to Support Pink" Review + {Rafflecopter Giveaway - Ends 10/30} (CLOSED)

This giveaway is closed. Congrats to the winner listed below!



Freschetta
not only makes a great pizza, they are also "Proud to Support Pink". October is well known as National Breast Cancer awareness month. Freschetta is running the Freschetta Proud to Support Pink program until October 31st. 

You can purchase specially marked packages of Freschetta pizzas and Artisan Pizza Crusts and help them reach the goal of a $50,000 donation to the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center.  Specially marked packages are printed with codes that you can enter at www.ProudToSupportPink.com. For each code entry, the makers of Freschetta products will donate $1to this center to support breast cancer research, up to $50,000.

You can also share your breast cancer journey or the journey of a friend or loved one . These stories will be displayed on www.ProudToSupportPink.com and their Facebook page to inspire all those who read them. And they are giving away 50 pink iPod shuffle players each week in October as part of a giveaway on the site. Additionally, 50 pink iPod Shuffle players will be donated each week in October to four cancer centers around America to be enjoyed by breast cancer patients during treatments.




I received a coupon to try Freschetta pizza and two pairs of Freschetta Proud to Support Pink earphones (one for me & one to give to a friend). We picked out a supreme pizza and had it for dinner on our Friday Family Night at home. Everyone enjoyed the pizza. It was very good.

Freschetta not only wants you to join in with the Proud to Support Pink project, they would also like to offer a giveaway for my readers. One of you will be able to win the same kit I got! The kit includes a coupon to try any Freschetta Pizza and two pairs of Freschetta Proud to Support Pink earphones (one for you to keep and one to share with a friend or family member). All you have to do is enter in the Rafflecopter form below.


*Disclaimer: I received this product and information from Freschetta. All opinions are my own.*

Betty Crocker Fun da-middles Review + {Rafflecopter Giveaway - Ends 11/4} (CLOSED)

This giveaway is now closed. Congrats to the winner listed below!





If you're looking for a fun baked good, then look no farther. You will enjoy the new Betty Crocker Fun da-middles. They have a new twist on the classic cupcake. Now you can bake a little surprise inside your cupcake. Kids will love these and have fun helping you make them too!
Light up your child´s face with a home-baked treat that can be a perfect snack any time of the day. Betty Crocker® Fun da-middlesTM are the first boxed-cupcake mix of its kind that will leave you pleasantly surprised with their sweet center! Delight your family and watch the smiles unfold as you greet them with the delicious, fresh-from-the-oven taste of new Betty Crocker Fun da-middles cupcakes.

  • Combining cake mix and filling pouch in one box, Fun da-middles cupcakes have a special creamy filling that bakes inside the cupcake.
  • Available in three delicious flavors, Vanilla Cake with Creamy Chocolate Filling, Chocolate Cake with Creamy Vanilla Filling, and Vanilla Cake with Creamy Vanilla Filling, Fun da-middles cupcakes are a fun and portable treat that children can take everywhere they go!
With Fun da-middles, you´ll never need to frost cupcakes again. Because after all, it´s what´s on the inside that matters.

To download a printable coupon for $0.85 off new Betty Crocker Fun da-middles, you and your readers can visit http://www.myblogspark.com/uc/main/4d61/!

In addition, you can visit Betty Crocker TV on YouTube to check out a great how-to video on makingBetty Crocker Fun da-middles.





We received a package from Betty Crocker (pictured below) with a box of Fun da-middles to try for ourselves. It is very easy to make these cupcakes. First you mix up the cake batter. Then fill each cupcake wrapper about 1/3 full. I used a medium cookie scoop, which takes 2 scoops per cupcake. So it was perfect to do one scoop, then squeeze the filling on top, then another scoop of batter. Put them in the oven and it does the rest.

We ate our cupcakes without frosting on top. I would recommend putting a light frosting on though, because we missed it. The filling tastes like a mix of marshmallow fluff and canned frosting. It wasn't too bad. My son thought it was great!




You can find the new Betty Crocker Fun da-middles in your local grocery stores. And one of you can win the same package that I won (pictured above) by entering in the Rafflecopter form below.



*Disclosure: The Betty Crocker Fun da-middles product, information, and giveaway have been provided by Betty Crocker through MyBlogSpark. All opinions are my own.*

Daddy A Go Go Video

We loved reviewing our Daddy A Go Go CD a while ago. John Boydston has been very nice to work with too. He sent my son a brand new CD when he learned about the first one breaking. Plus he signed the CD and sent a Daddy A Go Go guitar pick. This guy loves doing things for kids. So I wanted to be sure to share his new video- "I Wanna Be An Action Figure" by Daddy A Go Go. Enjoy!

Winners 10/28

Winner of EvoraPet pet breath freshener -

   #104 - 
sweetpea08

Winner of the 
Making Silly Faces CD -

     #36 - 
Gladys Parker

Winner of the 
Big G Breakfast Cereal (6 boxes!) -

     # - Debbie Jackson


Congrats to all the winners. You have all been sent an email. You have 48 hours to claim your prize. I hope you enjoy them!

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

John Frieda Frizz-Ease Hair Serum Review




This crazy weather makes it hard to have nice hair. We've had a lot of wet, windy days this fall. I get a lot of fly-aways and frizz! I have found that one way to combat that is with John Frieda Frizz-Ease. It's easy to just put a little on your hair before you style it. Then it helps control the frizz all day!


Fight unruly frizz and sun damage this summer with help from the experts that brought you the world’s first-ever frizz-fighting serumJohn FriedaFrizz-Ease
Countless women rely on Frizz-Ease Hair Serum to help fight frizz – in fact, a bottle of the sought-after serum is sold every 15 seconds!  With three different formulas to choose from – Original Formula, Extra-Strength, and Thermal Protection – there’s a solution for every frizz type.  Also, each bottle is small enough to throw into your beach bag, which is perfect as you should apply the serum to wet hair!  Combat frizz with Frizz-Ease Hair Serum to get sleek, flawless style.
Frizz-Ease® Hair Serum collection includes:
Frizz-Ease® Hair Serum Thermal Protection Formula  – This formula is the ultimate way to protect hair from the damage that causes frizz and color-fading – namely, hair dryers, flat irons and, most importantly for summer, UV exposure. It contains a Thermal Shield Complex, and promotes smoothing in order to help prevent future frizz that can stem from heat and UV damage. In addition, it leaves hair silky and with vibrant, enviable shine.
 Frizz-Ease® Hair Serum Original Formula – This blockbuster formula began the Frizz-Ease® phenomenon to transform moderate frizz and flyaways. Original Formula Hair Serum is formulated with Seaweed Extract and promotes smoothing. With continued use, this formula actually helps to prevent future frizz from forming.

Frizz-Ease® Hair Serum Extra-Strength Formula – Designed for unruly, coarse hair, this formula contains Seaweed Extract and Silk Protein, known to condition and smooth hair. Over time, the use of this formula has the remarkable ability to help prevent future frizz. 

I had the chance to try out the Frizz-Ease Hair Serum Original Formula. It was very easy to use. My biggest problem was forgetting to apply it before my hair dried. But once it's part of your routine, you'll appreciate it. Just put a little on after you've washed your hair. It will help keep your hair smooth and soft. I get a lot of fly-aways with my hair, even when I have it pulled up. With the Frizz-Ease in it, this is no longer a problem. It really controlled my hair, which makes me very happy.

You can get the John Frieda Frizz-Ease Hair Serum Collection in stores and online as well. Go to http://www.johnfrieda.com/en-US/ProductFamily/Hair-Care/Frizz-Ease/Serums to see this product and others and order some for yourself.



*Disclaimer: I received this product for my review. All opinions are my own.*

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Big G Breakfast Solutions Review + {Rafflecopter Giveaway - Ends 10/27} (CLOSED)


This giveaway is now closed. Congrats to the winner posted below!






Let's face it- Moms are busy! There's no getting around that. Whether you have young preschooler or your kids are teenagers, they all keep us hoping. They are full of energy and their schedules are packed with activities. But we all know how important to start our days off right - and our kid's days too!

Get a great start with a healthy, filling breakfast. Especially now that my son is in school, I make sure that he eats a good breakfast every morning. It's so important for us to start our day right by having our bellies full and our bodies functioning properly. And with General Mills, we can do that without spending too much either.

Between finding that missing sock and making sure the dog didn´t eat last night´s homework assignment, it can be tough to sit down for breakfast with the family. But did you know that breakfast eaters tend to have better nutrient intakes, and kids who eat breakfast tend to perform better in school? This back-to-school season, enjoy the most important meal of the day while finding great savings on your favorite breakfasts with a little help from Big Cereals.
  • In your grocer´s cereal aisle, keep an eye out for specially marked boxes of Cheerios®, Chocolate Cheerios®, Cookie Crisp®, Golden Grahams®, MultiGrain Cheerios®, and Total®
  • Use the coupons printed inside the box to save up to $5 when purchasing select products from brands including Betty Crocker®, Nature Valley®, Pillsbury®Big G, and Maxwell House
Start the day off right with Big G cereals, and keep your stomach - and your wallet - full. To learn more about the benefits of breakfast, visit CerealBenefits.com today.

We received 6 boxes of Big G Cereals to have for our breakfasts. They are all yummy. And a bowl of cereal with fat-free milk is just enough to get us through to breakfast each day. There is a little something for everyone with this variety of Cheerios, Total, Golden Grahams and Cookie Crisp. 
You can find these Big G Cereals in your grocery stores. And you can enter to win a package of the cereals shown above for yourself!! Please enter in the Rafflecopter form below.


*Disclaimer: This product, prize pack, information, and giveaway have all been provided by General Mills through MyBlogSpark. All opinions are my own.

My First Hands-On Bible Review



My First Hands-On Bible is bringing the Bible to life for young children. This Bible is broken into major stories that children can read and comprehend. Along with each story are little activities and lessons that help parents relate the story to the children. There are questions and discussions that you can use to help relate the story to your children's lives.



Here's a little more about it:
My First Hands-On Bible is the preschooler version of the popular, which has sold over a half million copies. Jesus taught with hands-on lessons and illustrations; My First Hands-On Bible uses the same experience-based learning to communicate God’s Word in an active, understandable way. My First Hands-On Bible is a fun and simple yet meaningful way to engage preschool, pre-K, and K children (ages 3-6) with the Bible while helping them build a solid faith foundation. Each lesson focuses on a specific Bible point through a variety of activities in order to reinforce and help young children remember the stories and lessons. Using common household items, you can help your children have a “hands-on” learning experience while engaging them in 85 key stories from the Bible. My First Hands-On Bible doesn’t just retell the Bible stories; it also includes actual Scripture from the easy-to-understand and easy-to-read Holy Bible, New Living Translation. In addition to the stories and activities, there are fun illustrations, prayers, and a special Jesus Connection feature.
My 5 year old son loved this Bible. He enjoyed reading the stories with me. And his favorite part was the activities and questions that went along with each story. He understood what it was teaching him and able to discuss it appropriately for his age. And there is a little prayer at the end that I would read and have him repeat it. For quite a while this became a nice part of our nightly routine.

I think that if you have children around 3-6 you will enjoy this children's Bible too. You'll see that My First Hand-On Bible is a great way to share the Word with your children. It's a great thing that the whole family can do together. You can find the My First Hands-On Bible in stores and online now.

*Disclaimer: Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. All opinions are my own.

Monday, October 24, 2011

Glee Season 2 DVD Set Review

Glee_thumb3


Are you a “Gleek”? I’ll admit that I am. I watched the hit show “Glee” from the very beginning. And I believe I have seen every episode to date. I like “Glee” with all it's high school geekiness and cliques and everything else. It does not make me want to do high school again. More than anything I enjoy the singing and versions of songs that everyone knows and loves that the glee club performs.



THE #1 TV ON DVD & BLU-RAY IS BACK!



"GLEE" THE COMPLETE SECOND SEASON ARRIVES
ON BLU-RAY AND DVD SEPTEMBER 13
FEATURING NEVER-BEFORE-SEEN BONUS FOOTAGE
AND THE POPULAR “GLEE MUSIC JUKEBOX”
GLEE: Season 2, Volume 1 Also Available on DVD

Summary: TV's musical sensation, “GLEE” THE COMPLETE SECOND SEASON comes to Blu-ray and DVD September 13th from Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment packed with all 22 episodes and never-before-seen bonus features sure to incite fans everywhere to “Gleek Out.”

GLEE is a biting musical comedy about a group of eager and ambitious students who strive to outshine their singing competition to win Nationals while navigating the cruel halls of McKinley High. A pop-culture phenomenon, GLEE boasts critical acclaim, a loyal fan base of “GLEEks,” two Platinum and two Gold albums, more than 29 million song downloads, the record for the most titles on the Billboard Hot 100 by a non-solo act (beating out Elvis Presley, James Brown and The Beatles), an incredible 19 Emmy nominations - earning it the distinction of being the most-nominated series of the year - and four Emmy Awards. To top it off, the genre-defying, award-winning series has been picked up through its third season.

“GLEE” THE COMPLETE SECOND SEASON Blu-ray and DVD is bursting with exclusive bonus materials including the fan-favorite Glee Music Jukebox, a behind-the-scenes look at the epic Season 2 finale shot in New York City, a featurette showcasing the GLEE guest stars: Gwyneth Paltrow, Carol Burnett and more, additional featurettes highlighting sensational cast performances and much more.

“GLEE” THE COMPLETE SECOND SEASON
will be available for an average retail price of $44.99 Blu-ray and $39.98 DVD respectively. Pre-book date is August 3, 2011.

Based on the smash North American concert tour, GLEE LIVE: The 3D Concert Movie will be released in theaters nationwide, for a special limited two-week engagement, on August 12, 2011.

“GLEE” THE COMPLETE SECOND SEASON Blu-ray & DVD Features:
  • Glee Music Jukebox
  • Guesting on Glee
  • Stevie Nick Goes Glee
  • A Day in The Life of Brittany
  • Shooting Glee in New York City
  • Sue’s Quips
  • Santana Slams
  • Building Glee’s Auditorium with Cory Monteith
  • The Making of the Rocky Horror Glee Show
  • Exclusive Bonus Song - "Planet, Schmanet, Janet"
  • Getting Waxed with Jane Lynch
  • The Wit of Brittany
  • Glee at Comic-Con 2010


Season 2 of Glee was full of celebrity guest stars. I enjoyed seeing them come into the drama of this high school glee club. And in this season is a logo in a scene from a place that I used to work at and my friends own. Seriously! I live in the town that Glee is supposed to take place in. (Props to the first person who can figure out the answer to this!)

What is your favorite thing about Glee? Are you enjoying season 3? I am so far. Well, if you need to catch up or just want to watch it again, you can find Glee Season 2 on DVD now in stores and online.


*Disclaimer: I received this product for review. All opinions are my own.*

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Kidorable Pumpkin Carving Contest

pumpkin_contest_banner

Pumpkins Come and Pumpkins Go, but A Jack-O-Lantern steals the show! Carve, Chisel, or Shape your best pumpkin. One lucky fan will win a full Kidorable ensemble of their choice.

Its easy - just email a picture of a child you love with the pumpkin they carved to contest@kidorable.com. Whoever gets the most votes wins.

We will receive entries from October 17 through Monday, October 31. Then voting will continue through Monday, November 7 at 2pm when well announce the winner.

This information is from http://www.kidorable.com/pumpkincarving.html. You can also learn more through Kidorable’s Facebook and Twitter pages.

“Rocknoceros – Colonel Purple Turtle” CD Review +{Rafflecopter Giveaway – Ends 11/1} (CLOSED)

This giveaway is closed. Congrats to the winner listed below.

rocknoceros cd

It’s no secret that kid’s music is big in our house. (Remind me some time, and I’ll take a picture of the CDs piled by my son’s bed.) When we come across a band called “Rocknoceros”, we have to give them a try. The Colonel Purple Turtle by Rocknoceros CD is a great mix of musical styles. It’s fun for children to dance and sing along to and the whole family can enjoy this CD together.


IT’S A PURPLE TURTLE, IT’S A COLONEL, IT’S …
COLONEL PURPLE TURTLE
with
ROCKNOCEROS

AWARD-WINNING BAND’S
FIRST KID-FRIENDLY CONCEPT ALBUM
WITH COMPANION BOOK
A TRIBUTE TO FRIENDSHIP!
"An outstanding mix of folk and rock...literate songs...poppy approach...multi-generational appeal." - NPR, Best Music for Kids and Families
"Bubblegum Pop. The harmonies rival those of any killer alt-rock band (assuming they decided to sing about things little kids love)." - Parenting magazine

"Kudos to the great taste of the DC area. You already know what the rest of the country is starting to find out – that Rocknoceros is a gem of a band." – Stefan Shepherd, Zooglobble


rocknoceros cd2 VIENNA, VA (June 30, 2011)

– In tribute to their friendship of more than 20 years, Northern Virginia’s premiere power trio for children – Rocknoceros – celebrates friends everywhere with the September 13th release of its fourth studio CD and first-ever kid-friendly concept album, Colonel Purple Turtle.  Within the context of exceptionally beautiful music, the album offers lessons in science and lessons in life.  A 24-page book, Colonel Purple Turtle’s Purple Turtle Journal, will be available as a companion to the album.

As almost every family with youngsters in the Washington, DC area knows, Rocknoceros (pronounced like rhinoceros) is three guys: Coach Cotton, Williebob, and Boogie Woogie Bennie. The theme of Colonel Purple Turtle is one of friendship and working together, a subject close to the hearts of the Rocknoceros bandmates, who have been best friends since they were children. Colonel Purple Turtle reflects their abiding trust in each other and their desire to share a message of camaraderie through song and story.

With an astounding variety of musical styles, sounds, and compositional devices, the world of a mythical reptilian Colonel and his friends in their make-believe home of Soggy Bog comes alive on Colonel Purple Turtle. This album offers energetic music that is never raucous, reflective music that is never boring, and interactive music that does not patronize children.  Above all, Colonel Purple Turtle exposes kids to a world of musical tone color that goes far beyond the industrial gray of electric guitars, synthesizer keyboard, and drums. On this recording, small ears are opened up to the colorful nuance of a violin-viola-cello string ensemble, the harmonic language of jazz, the velvety blend of a barbershop quartet, the rhythmic complexity and vitality of Latin music, the antique sound of a recorder ensemble, and the relaxed style of finger-picking acoustic guitar, in addition to the driving energy of rock and roll.  This great musical variety is not an end in itself, but, rather, is put to the task of relating allegorical tales that convey the message that knowing how to be a friend is an important part of life.  Beyond the theme of friendship, the album’s songs also delve into such scientific topics as echolocation, the power of the sun, and the life cycle of ladybugs.  Colonel Purple Turtle can be enjoyed and appreciated on many levels.  It is fun and silly, festooned with colorfully descriptive language, word play, and humor, yet, at the same time quite serious and truthful.  Taken individually, all the components of this album — the singing, the playing, the musical form of the pieces, the vivid contrasts — represent the highest production values, yet they never call attention to themselves, and neither the telling nor the message of the story is ever obscured.

The three Rocknoceros bandmates grew up in Northern Virginia.  Boogie and Coach, best friends since they were four years old, remember endlessly spinning Beatles records in Boogie's suburban bedroom while “waiting for Williebob,” who appeared on the scene in high school. The three have been making music informally ever since, although it wasn't until 20 years later, when Coach Cotton was raising young’uns of his own, that the inspiration for Rocknoceros finally crystallized.

Rocknoceros has dominated the Washington, DC children's music scene since its inception in 2005, winning a remarkable seven Washington Area Music Awards (with 2011 marking their fourth consecutive year taking home the “Best Children’s Music Artist” award), and landing an ongoing Video-on-Demand offering through COX Cable.  In addition to Colonel Purple Turtle, the band’s albums include Rocknoceros (2005), Dark Side of the Moon Bounce (2007), and the NAPPA award-winning PINK! (2009), about which Sirius/XM’s Kids Place Live program director Mindy Thomas enthused, “PINK! is whimsical and wondrous, and we wouldn’t want it any other way.”

rocknoceros cd3

My son and I enjoyed this DVD. It’s a lot of fun and great for kids of all ages. You can get the Colonel Purple Turtle CD by visiting the Rocknoceros website- http://rocknoceros.com and it's available on Amazon as well. And you can enter in the form below to try to win a copy too.


*Disclaimer: I received this CD to review. All opinions are my own.*


“Real Steel” the Movie Prize Pack {Rafflecopter Giveaway – Ends 10/30} (CLOSED)

This giveaway is closed. Congrats to the winner posted below.

REAL STEEL DREAMWORKS PICTURES
Website and Mobile site: www.steelgetsreal.com
Like us on Facebook: facebook.com/realsteelmovie
Follow us on Twitter: twitter.com/realsteelmovie

Genre:                          Action-Drama
Rating:                          PG-13
U.S. Release date:         October 7, 2011
Cast:                            Hugh Jackman, Evangeline Lilly, Dakota Goyo, Anthony Mackie, Kevin Durand
Director:                        Shawn Levy
Producers:                    Don Murphy, Susan Montford, Shawn Levy
Executive Producers:     Jack Rapke, Robert Zemeckis, Steve Starkey, Mary McLaglen, Josh McLaglen
Screenplay by:              John Gatins
Story by:                       Dan Gilroy and Jeremy Leven
Based on the short Story “Steel” by:      Richard Matheson



A gritty, white-knuckle, action ride set in the near-future where the sport of boxing has gone high-tech, “RealSteel” stars Hugh Jackman as Charlie Kenton, a washed-up fighter who lost his chance at a title when 2000-pound, 8-foot-tall steel robots took over the ring. Now nothing but a small-time promoter, Charlie earns just enough money piecing together low-end bots from scrap metal to get from one underground boxing venue to the next. When Charlie hits rock bottom, he reluctantly teams up with his estranged son Max (Dakota Goyo) to build and train a championship contender. As the stakes in the brutal, no-holds-barred arena are raised, Charlie and Max, against all odds, get one last shot at a comeback.

“Real Steel” is directed by Shawn Levy (“Night at the Museum” franchise and “Date Night”).

“Real Steel” is an action drama about a former boxer (Hugh Jackman) who, against all odds,  gets one last shot at a comeback when he teams up with his estranged son (Dakota Goyo) to build and train the perfect contender for the new high-tech sport of robot boxing.




You can enjoy “Real Steel” in theaters now! And I have a prize pack listed below for one lucky reader. Just enter in the Rafflecopter form below.
ITEMS FOR GIVEAWAY:

- REAL STEEL t-shirt in adult  sizes of S, M, L, XL
- REAL STEEL bottle opener
- REAL STEEL stickers
- REAL STEEL temporary tattoos




 reel steel tshirt real steel bottle opener real steel tatoos
reel steel stickers

*Disclaimer: DreamWorks Pictures provided this giveaway for one winner.*