Monday, March 26, 2012

Why I've Been Quiet... My Son's Surgery



I want to apologize to you for not being a very good blogger lately. Life seems to have taken a turn for crazy these last few weeks. When I do have extra time, I'm just not in the mood to type out blog posts. So, thank you for bearing with me. I'm not sure what kind of time I'll have in the next week and on, but I'm thinking I will finally have a little more down time to return to regularly blogging.

Many of you know that my son, Zachariah, has had a bad year for illnesses. I wrote about it a few times. He just kept getting sick over and over again. It's been very discouraging. I feel bad for him, but fortunately he takes it all pretty well. Honestly, not much keeps him down and he's a cheerful child. One of my favorite things about him!

Poor Zachariah has had doctor appointments about once every 2-3 weeks since December. He has had strep throat or tonsillitis off and on since January. Every time he comes off an antibiotic, he gets sick again within 5 days. After 6 visits to the doctor with this happening, they referred us to an ENT expecting that they would recommend a tonsillectomy.

A little less than 2 weeks ago we went to see our ENT doctor. She was very nice, and discovered something else upon examining Zachariah. His ears are full of fluid, and he needs tubes. Poor guy. And with his large tonsils and history of illnesses this winter, she said removal of tonsils and adenoids were a must as well.

It all seemed to happen quickly from that. She prescribed a new antibiotic for him to start a week before the surgery, so he didn't have the chance to get sick again. And we were able to schedule the surgery only 2 weeks out.

So, tomorrow is the big day. We will have Zachariah to the surgery center at 7:00AM and his surgery is scheduled after that. it is an outpatient surgery, so he only has to stick around 2 hours after it then can come home to rest. And he will have to stay home for 10-14 days after surgery to avoid other germs, rest and recovery.

Please, pray for us tomorrow. Pray for my son as he is operated on. Pray for the surgeons that God will guide their hands and everything will go well. Pray for Matt and I that we will have peace and ability to take care of Zachariah as he recovers.

I am hoping and praying this is the end of the illnesses after this. It should fix most of the issues he's had. Then maybe he can finish this school year and not miss so many days being sick next year.

Saturday, March 10, 2012

Thomas & Friends: Adventure on the Tracks 6-DVD Set



My son likes Thomas and so do I. He has been around for a long time and has many fans. My brother-in-law fondly tells about watching Thomas when he was a young boy. Now that he has a son of his own, I'm sure this will be a fun show for them to watch together. I know I enjoy sharing things from my childhood with my son. With this pack of Thomas DVDs, in Thomas & Friends: Adventure on the Tracks 6-DVD Set, you can enjoy hours of Thomas and see many adventures.


Thomas & Friends: Rescue on the Rails DVD




You'll see adventures, problems and working together in the Thomas & Friends: Rescue on the Rails DVD. Thomas makes a new friends, Flynn, and together they will come to the rescue of an engine in trouble. You'll see this and so much more in the recent Thomas hit Thomas & Friends: Rescue on the Rails. Here's a little more about this DVD:


Thursday, March 8, 2012

Timmy Time: Go Kart Timmy DVD



Timmy is one of the newest popular characters in a long list of successful shows by HIT Entertainment and Lionsgate. With his funny little adventures, Timmy and his friends are always finding some mischief with their friends and classmates. The silent adventurers make the comedy even better for preschoolers.

Join Timmy and his preschool pals for fast action fun with trains, go karts, sports and more in this DVD from the award-winning creator of Wallace And Gromit and Shaun The Sheep - Timmy Time: Go Kart Timmy. It's go time for lovable lamb Timmy and all his barnyard buddies in Timmy Time: Go Kart Timmy, featuring five fun adventures all about being preschoolers on the move. From the Oscar winning creators of Wallace and Gromit and Shaun the Sheep, Timmy Time features a winning combination of slapstick humor and classic silent comedy that will delight preschoolers again and again. Join the gang as they test out a new go-kart, trip out on a new tricycle, rally for Sports Day, huddle up for soccer and more in these hilarious new episodes.


HIT Entertainment Friends & Family DVD



Timmy, Fireman Sam, Roary the Racing Car, Bob the Builder, Kipper, Thomas, Angelina Ballerina and Barney are all great preschool favorites. These are characters that I got to know really well when my son was younger.  In the  Friends and Family DVD you can see all your preschool favorites in one place. This DVD is a fun collection of videos from all of these great characters.


FunBites Post Updated with Giveaway

Hello everyone, I hope that you are having a great week. I have been pretty busy this week, and in the midst of it my son is sick again. He's basically on his last strike with his strep/tonsillitis problems. For now he's on antibiotics again, and next week we have an appointment to see the ENT. We're praying for healing for our little guy no matter what needs to be done.


*****

In other news, I posted about a great product earlier this week- FunBites. They have graciously offered a giveaway to one of my readers, so that post has been updated to include a giveaway. I don't want you to miss out on that. You get to choose which FunBites you want to win. Good luck!

http://psmomreviews.blogspot.com/2012/03/funbites.html

Enter the giveaway now!

Softlips


It's winter and with the cool weather comes dry, chapped lips. I have found a great product that helps with my lips in the winter, spring, and all year round- Softlips. Each season Softlips introduces new varieties that are fun and yummy to use.



Right now the winter flavors come in dual packs. You can get Softlips in Winter Mint/Vanilla, Sugar Cookie/Raspberry, and Sugar Cookie/Cherry. I got to try some of these, and my favor scent is the Sugar Cookie. Mmm, it's a sweet scent/flavor that leaves you feeling a little more sweet.


Tuesday, March 6, 2012

FunBites {Giveaway - Ends 3/22} (CLOSED)

This giveaway is closed. Congrats to the winner listed below!



Do you have young kids? Mealtime with young kids can be quite a chore. Everything babies and young children eat needs to be cut into small bite-sized pieces for them to manage. Sometimes you're spending the time cutting their food, and in the meantime your own food gets cold. It can be frustrating, but it's just part of being a parent.

Well, do I have a great solution for this problem. FunBites is a plastic piece that has the ability to easily cut food for kids. You just put it on top of the item that needs cut up, sandwiches, fruit, even meat will work with it, then when you push it down the food is cut into bite-sized pieces. Here's a little more about FunBites:


Kroger Cart Buster 5.0 {$25 Gift Card Giveaway} (CLOSED)

This giveaway is closed. Congrats to the winner listed below!



Do you look for great savings at the grocery store? Do you plan your trips around good ad sales? I do! One of the simplest ways for me to save my family money is by getting good deals on groceries that we need. We don't have a Kroger store in town, but there is one not too far away. I like to go once a month or every other month when they are having good sales. And the Cart Buster Savings Event is one of their best events with big savings on big brands. Get out your coupons and get to Kroger today!


Monday, March 5, 2012

Happy Feet Wii Game & Pump It Up



I have a hard time finding games for the Wii that my son really likes and I don't mind him playing. So many games are rating E10+ or higher. I'm surprised at the cartoon oriented and kid-themed games that are rated this high. So it gets my son's interest only to find out he can't play that game. (I've mentioned before that I'm pretty strict with ratings on TV, movies, and games.)

As you would suspect, when we find a game that it well-made, works for younger children, and has an E rating, we are very excited. The game we found recently that is perfect is the new Happy Feet Two: The Video Game. This game is fun, easy to do, and entertaining for the whole family.

With a controller and a nunchuck and just a little bit of rhythm, anyone can figure out this fun game. The penguins from the movie Happy Feet Two are the stars. You are trying to collect music notes and other penguins by "learning" the dance moves and making them dance along.

Zachariah has enjoyed this game, and he even taught Grandma how to play (she doesn't do video games often).  If you're looking for a fun Wii game that the whole family can play look for Happy Feet Two: The Video Game in stores and online now.



If you're looking for a little more fun to wear off some energy for your kids, check our your nearest Pump It Up for a fun time. You can check them out on Facebook for their latest specials and their site for finding locations.


*Disclaimer: I received this game to review. All opinions are my own.*

Saturday, March 3, 2012

Bumbo Seat Proper Use

I never had a Bumbo Seat for my son. I hadn't really seen much of them until after he was already too old for them. I know now that they are a big baby product on mother's must have lists. While Bumbo Seats are a great item for babies, there are certain safety precautions that you should use when using the Bumbo. So please use this information to properly use your Bumbo Seat.




BUMBO BABY SEAT PROPER USE INFORMATION

Website: www.BumboUSA.com
Contains a video about proper use as well as proper use instructions that can be downloaded, customer service contacts for those that may still have questions, as well as the links we’ve provided below.

  • Link to Consumer Products Safety Commission (CPSC) news release about Bumbo Baby Seat Safety:

  • Link to Juvenile Products Manufacturers Association (JPMA) news release about key children’s product safety tips:


Key Points about Bumbo Baby Seat:
  • The maker and distributor of the Bumbo Baby Seat have as their highest priority the safety of children.
  • The Bumbo Baby Seat helps babies sit upright and must be used only when babies can adequately support their own heads.
  • The Bumbo Baby Seat must only be used on the floor.
  • The Bumbo Baby Seat is safe for its labeled and intended use (on the floor).
  • A warning against placing the Bumbo seat on an elevated surface has been included on the back of the seat since it was first produced, and in 2007 it was voluntarily recalled so that a more explicit warning could be added to the front of the seat as a strong reminder to caregivers not to use the seat on elevated surfaces.
  • The Bumbo Baby Seat is fully compliant with applicable safety standards, however there are continuing efforts by the makers and distributor of Bumbo and the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) to educate consumers and reinforce proper seat usage.
  • Babies are active and curious and may wiggle out of the seat, which is why a baby should never be left unattended in the seat and caregivers should always follow these basic safety guidelines:
  • Use the Bumbo Seat ONLY on a floor-level surface
  • Do NOT use the Bumbo Seat on any elevated surface
  • Do NOT use the Bumbo Seat as a car or bath seat or in water
  • NEVER leave a baby unattended

# # #



*Thanks to Bumbo for sharing this information. I did not receive any compensation for sharing this. I just want my readers and their children to be as safe as possible.*

Happy Birthday to Zachariah!

Mommy visiting Zac in special care nursery - 3 days
A few days old

Today is a very special day. 6 years ago today, I was in labor with my one and only child. He was born at 6:01PM March 3, 2006. He has brought so much joy and happiness to our lives. I am thankful that God gave him to us.

Zac's 3 week picture
A few weeks old


Happy Birthday, Zachariah! I hope that your day is full of all the things you love! And even though you're not a baby anymore, you'll always be my baby. Daddy and I love you very much!

Ready for bed as a 5 year old...6 now!

Thursday, March 1, 2012

Blooming Blog iPad2 {Giveaway}


Our Readers are great, and we would like for you to win an iPad2 so you can surf the reviews, giveaways, deals, steals and freebies with ease. PS Mom Reviews, CheckPoints and 49 other fabulous bloggers are offering (1) reader the chance to win an iPad 2 in our Blooming Blog iPad2 Giveaway

CheckPoints provides you an App that pays you back Simply download the CheckPoints app for your iPhone or Android mobile device. Then, fire up CheckPoints whenever you go shopping.  Check in your location and you’ll see nearby products that you can scan to earn points.   You even get points for simply checking-in and then redeem your earned points for a variety of rewards from gift certificates to your favorite stores and restaurants, to airline miles and must-have electronics.  Even give back to your choice of charitable causes.



FREEBIE ALERT


Here's a special promo for my readers - when you register for an account with CheckPoints use the code: psmom and you will automatically get enough CheckPoints for a free and instant $1 gift card or charitable donation.  What a great way to be rewarded for doing what we love - SHOPPING so sign up (iPhone) (Android) and don't forget to use the psmom code to grab your free CheckPoints!




Simply enter to win the through the rafflecopter form below -   the giveaway ends 4/1/12 @ 8pm EST
There are 50 participating blogs, but you only need to enter the giveaway on one of our blogs. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


 Check out the other generous bloggers involved in this event

Red Carpet-Approved Products from Beauty Bar


Hollywood’s biggest night finally arrived, and newcomers and A-listers alike lit up the red carpet with their best beauty looks. Whether you were lusting after Angie’s luscious red pout or Emma Stone’s glamorous up-do, Beauty Bar has all the beauty staples to help you get that coveted, red carpet-approved, Oscar-worthy makeover.


Red Haute
Rooney Mara, Milla Jovovich, and the always-impeccable Angelina sported red lips at the Oscars. Capture their classically sexy look with By Terry Rouge Terrybly Age Defense Lipstick in Terrific Rouge.

 cid:image001.jpg@01CCF55B.65CDFFD0


Buns Make a Comeback
Between J. Lo and Emma Stone, buns were back in a big way last night. For a sleek, full-blown updo, try Rahua Voluminous Hair Spray – an ingenious spritz that holds your style and boosts volume, too.
cid:image002.jpg@01CCF55B.65CDFFD0
http://www.beautybar.com/p/rahua-voluminous-hair-spray-93770


 Shimmer and Stun
What's the one must-have accessory for a strapless gown? Flawless décolletage. Sweep Jouer Cosmetics Highlighter (in Champagne) across clavicles and chest for luminous, show-stopping shimmer.
cid:image003.jpg@01CCF55B.65CDFFD0
http://www.beautybar.com/p/jouer-cosmetics-highlighter-123013


Just for Men
For tousled, sexy style √° la Brad Pitt, work a little Jack Black Body-Building Hair Gel into locks. The residue-free formula gives maximum hold and control, letting you sculpt your way perfect.
cid:image004.jpg@01CCF55B.65CDFFD0
http://www.beautybar.com/p/jack-black-body-building-hair-gel-73515


Did you watch the Oscars? What was your favorite moment? Did you have a favorite best-dressed actor/actress?