Monday, December 23, 2013

Kidoodle.TV

I participated in a Blog Blast program on behalf of Mom Central Consulting for Kidoodle.TV. I received a promotional item as a thank you for participating.




Kidoodle.TV is a website and app made just for children to easily (and safely) watch great shows that they and you will love. Kidoodle.TV is unique in that it is specifically designed for children under 12 years old. It is an easy to use website and app that young children can easily navigate, but even better than that are the parental controls that make your job supervising what they watch even easier. Your children can watch what they want, but you set the standard.



Right now anyone can try Kidoodle.TV for free until the end of the year. And they are running a great giveaway for a chance to win 1 of 10 tablets or 1 of 10 Kidoodle.TV year-long subscriptions. Get your free trial and enter the contest by December 31, 2013.

It was very easy to sign up for Kidoodle.TV on their website. I also downloaded their free app on my iPhone. My son is excited about the great shows available. I like that there are a mix of old and new. It's always fun seeing cartoons and shows that I enjoy as well as my kids. I like that I can set age restrictions, block particular shows of my choosing, and limit watching time all so simply. And it's easy for my 7 year old to use.

Check out Kidoodle.TV on their website. Plus you can connect with them and learn more on their Facebook and Twitter pages too.

Tuesday, December 10, 2013

SAVING MR BANKS - Premiere Images

I am excited about this new movie. What do you think? Is this something that you want to go see? How about your kids? I have a feeling it's something that parents are going to be more excited about than our kids.



     

     

Like SAVING MR. BANKS on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SavingMrBanks

Follow SAVING MR. BANKS on Twitter: https://twitter.com/disneypictures

Follow SAVING MR. BANKS on Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/disneystudios/saving-mr-banks/  

Visit the official site here: www.disney.com/savingmrbanks

SAVING MR. BANKS opens in theaters limited on December 13th and opens wide on December 20th!




Macintosh HD:Users:connod200:Desktop:Screen shot 2012-07-12 at 3.34.49 PM.png

SAVING MR. BANKS
DISNEY
Website and Mobile site: www.disney.com/savingmrbanks
Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/disneypictures

Genre:                                      Drama 
Rating:                                      PG-13  
Release Date:                           December 13, 2013, limited; December 20, 2013, wide
Running Time:                           120 min

Cast:                                        Emma Thompson, Tom Hanks, Paul Giamatti, Jason Schwartzman, Bradley Whitford, Annie Rose Buckley, Ruth Wilson, B.J. Novak, Rachel Griffiths, Kathy Baker and Colin Farrell
Director:                                   John Lee Hancock                    
Producers:                                Alison Owen, Ian Collie, Philip Steuer
Executive Producers:                Paul Trijbits, Christine Langan, Andrew Mason, Troy Lum
Written by:                                Kelly Marcel and Sue Smith
 
 
Two-time Academy Award®–winner Emma Thompson and fellow double Oscar®-winner Tom Hanks topline Disney’s “Saving Mr. Banks,” inspired by the extraordinary, untold backstory of how Disney’s classic “Mary Poppins” made it to the screen.

When Walt Disney’s daughters begged him to make a movie of their favorite book, P.L. Travers’ “Mary Poppins,” he made them a promise—one that he didn’t realize would take 20 years to keep. In his quest to obtain the rights, Walt comes up against a curmudgeonly, uncompromising writer who has absolutely no intention of letting her beloved magical nanny get mauled by the Hollywood machine. But, as the books stop selling and money grows short, Travers reluctantly agrees to go to Los Angeles to hear Disney’s plans for the adaptation.

For those two short weeks in 1961, Walt Disney pulls out all the stops. Armed with imaginative storyboards and chirpy songs from the talented Sherman brothers, Walt launches an all-out onslaught on P.L. Travers, but the prickly author doesn’t budge. He soon begins to watch helplessly as Travers becomes increasingly immovable and the rights begin to move further away from his grasp.

It is only when he reaches into his own childhood that Walt discovers the truth about the ghosts that haunt her, and together they set Mary Poppins free to ultimately make one of the most endearing films in cinematic history.

Inspired by true events, “Saving Mr. Banks” is the extraordinary, untold story of how Disney’s classic “Mary Poppins” made it to the screen—and the testy relationship that the legendary Walt Disney had with author P.L. Travers that almost derailed it.
 
 
Notes:

·       “Saving Mr. Banks” is the first feature-length, theatrical drama to depict the iconic entrepreneur Walt Disney.
·       Richard and Robert Sherman’s original score and song (“Chim Chim Cher-ee”) would go on to win Oscars® at the 1965 ceremonies.
·       “Mary Poppins” won five awards of its 13 Academy Award® nominations: Best Actress (Julie Andrews), Best Effects, Best Film Editing, Original Score and Original Song. Among the nominations were Best Picture and Best Adapted Screenplay.
·       P.L. Travers’ father was a banker and is the basis for the “Mary Poppins” story’s patriarch, Mr. Banks—the character in the book whom the famous fictional nanny comes to aid.


OFFICIAL BOILERPLATE

Two-time Academy Award®–winner Emma Thompson and fellow double Oscar®-winner Tom Hanks topline Disney’s “Saving Mr. Banks,” inspired by the extraordinary, untold backstory of how Disney’s classic “Mary Poppins” made it to the screen.

When Walt Disney’s daughters begged him to make a movie of their favorite book, P.L. Travers’ “Mary Poppins,” he made them a promise—one that he didn’t realize would take 20 years to keep. In his quest to obtain the rights, Walt comes up against a curmudgeonly, uncompromising writer who has absolutely no intention of letting her beloved magical nanny get mauled by the Hollywood machine. But, as the books stop selling and money grows short, Travers reluctantly agrees to go to Los Angeles to hear Disney’s plans for the adaptation.

For those two short weeks in 1961, Walt Disney pulls out all the stops. Armed with imaginative storyboards and chirpy songs from the talented Sherman brothers, Walt launches an all-out onslaught on P.L. Travers, but the prickly author doesn’t budge.  He soon begins to watch helplessly as Travers becomes increasingly immovable and the rights begin to move further away from his grasp.

It is only when he reaches into his own childhood that Walt discovers the truth about the ghosts that haunt her, and together they set Mary Poppins free to ultimately make one of the most endearing films in cinematic history.

Disney presents “Saving Mr. Banks,” directed by John Lee Hancock, produced by Alison Owen, Ian Collie and Philip Steuer, and written by Kelly Marcel and Sue Smith. Executive producers are Paul Trijbits, Christine Langan, Andrew Mason and Troy Lum. The film will release in U.S. theaters on December 13, 2013, limited, and open wide on December 20, 2013.

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Gorton's Wicked Good Seafood - Fish BLT Sandwich Recipe

Disclaimer: I received this product for review. All opinions are my own.




How does your family feel about fish? Mine likes it quite a bit. Fish is not something that my mom made a lot of when I was growing up. I never really developed a taste for it. I think the most I'd do was eat the frozen fish sticks. As I got older I started trying more fish and other seafood. I found that I really do like it. I am still bad about cooking it for my family enough, but we all do like fish.


I recently participated in a campaign for Gorton's Wicked Good Seafood. We got to try a few different varieties of the frozen fish products that they make. One of my favorites is the Lemon Herb Fish Fillets. So tasty and easy to make. We also were able to try the new Fish Sandwich Fillets

I looked at Gorton's website for recipes to inspire me. Not only do they have recipes, but you can also download coupons and explore their other great products. When I found the recipe for a Fish BLT Sandwich, I knew we had to try it. My boys love bacon. I knew this recipe was a winner for us. The Fish BLTs were very quick and easy to make. I served them along with a salad for dinner and everyone was pleased. My son enjoyed it and so did my husband and I. If you're looking for a great way to change up a fish meal for your family, you should give this recipe a try.


Fish Sandwich BLT

INGREDIENTS:
4 Gorton's Fish Sandwich Fillets
4 Hamburger Buns
8 Slices Bacon
Lettuce
Tomato

DIRECTIONS:
1. Prepare four Gorton's Fish Sandwich Fillets according to package instructions.
2. Meanwhile, prepare 8 slices og bacon according to package instructions.
3. Place Gorton's Fish Sandwich Fillet on hamburger bun and top with two slices of cooked bacon. Add lettuce and tomato and enjoy!

We added tartar sauce on the bun and served with a salad. Perfect!


Connect with Gorton's on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest too. 

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Disney Classics Box Set

Disclaimer: I am participating in a blog post campaign from One2One Network and Walt Disney Records. All opinions are my own.




Like many people I have a lot of memories wrapped up in Disney movies from my childhood. I remember the favorites that my sisters and I had. There were several movies that I could probably quote from start to finish, including the songs. It's probably the songs that stick with me the most. Maybe that just goes with my musical ability, but I think songs/music play a special part in most people's lives.

The product: Just released yesterday, November 12th, the Disney Classics box set is something that parents, kids, and even grandparents can enjoy together. 

The box set includes 4 discs of 94 original recordings. They are Disney Modern Classics, Disney Theme Park Classics, Disney Timeless Classics, and Disney Television Classics. And there is a special bonus for box set purchasers, a new medley of Disney hits by YouTube a capella sensations. See the video!

Find out more about this and other Disney music at www.disneymusic.com. They are also on Twitter and Facebook.


What we thought: We received a sample CD with a few songs on it. They brought me right back to my childhood. I love this music & it's something that I can sing along with and enjoy with my sons too. Just the other night I had songs popping in my head from Disney movies when I was singing Jonah at bedtime. Nothing like "A Whole New World" to get your baby to sleep.

Where to buy: You can get the Disney Classics box set at Amazon.com. (It is also available at Disney parks for purchase.) It has a suggested retail price of $49.98, but prices can vary depending on the retailer.

Friday, November 1, 2013

A Jedi & a Wolf Saber? Halloween 2013


We don't usually make Halloween a big deal around here. Just not a holiday we get really into.

I generally let Zachariah choose a trick or treat event to participate in and we do that together. This year our church had trunk-n-treat, so we went to that. 


I really wanted to have the boys costumes coordinate, but time just didn't allow for me to complete Jonah's costume. I did manage to get Zachariah's done just in time. He went as Mace Windu, a jedi from the Star Wars movies. (I think he makes a better Anikan or Luke with that blonde hair!)


So, I really wanted to make Jonah be yoda. We have a little robe/jacket that he fit into from one of Zachariah's toys. But I needed to make a yoda hat. Crocheting one would be no problem, but I had so many other crochet/knitting projects started and didn't get around to making it in time.

So instead of yoda, we used a cute jacket (and shoes) that I got from Crazy 8 and made him a snuggly wolf. I think he pulls this look off pretty well. Plus a cute outfit doubled as a Halloween costume. Since he slept through half of the trunk-n-treating anyway, it wasn't a big deal. 


This is too funny not to share. Zachariah was having fun using a stick as his light saber (seen in photos at the top). When I got photos of the boys together, he was swinging Jonah around (gently) and calling him his "wolf saber". Ha! This kid cracks me up!


For just trunk-n-treating I think he did pretty well. He has more candy that he really needs. But best of all he had a blast, and that's why we did it. 


Halloween night we were supposed to go trick-or-treating in our neighborhood, but all the area trick-or-treats got rescheduled due to back weather. There were storms in the forecast and it was VERY windy. So early in the day all the communities changed the day and time. We'll be trick-or-treating Saturday afternoon. Not quite the same, but it will still be fun.

Since we couldn't go out, I agreed to help Zachariah carve the pumpkins. We stuck with the Star Wars theme here. Our pumpkins are Jabba the Hutt and Darth Maul. It was a lot of work, but I love how they turned out.

How was your Halloween? What did your little pumpkins dress as this year?

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Carmex Lip Conditioner

*Disclaimer: I received this product for review. All opinions are my own.*



Fall and winter mean things dry out...including our lips and skin unfortunately. It's tough to find the right products to keep the moisture that we need. Here is something that you'll want to try for your lips.

The product:

Carmex Lip Conditioner

Like your lip balm on the lighter side? Our Lip Conditioner absorbs quickly and doesn’t feel sticky or greasy, plus we blend a hint of natural orange flavor with 13 moisturizers to deliver extra-soothing results.
  • Your skin’s lipid bilayer is made up of two layers of fatty acids; its job is to help keep moisture in the skin. Our Lip Conditioner includes lanolin, which replicates the way the lipid bilayer in your skin retains moisture.
  • Our formula includes dimethicone to aid with moisturization and protect the tender skin on your lips.
  • Our Lip Conditioner uses allantoin to effectively aid with moisturization plus help healing.

What I thought: I like the Carmex lip conditioner. It is smooth to put on and has a pleasant citrus flavor. It's also great for the boys in my house. They like to complain when the only things I have for lips are too girly. This is definitely something that is good to keep on hand for wintertime for those chapped lips.

Where to buy: You can find this product in stores and online.

Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden

*Disclaimer: I received this product for review. All opinions are my own.*


Another great historical fiction book that I've found is Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden. This is a new author for me. While I love historical fiction, especially of the love story variety, I find it fun to explore different authors from time to time.

The product: Against the Tide is a book about a young lady trying to find her way through life when a man catches her eye. There are a few problems to overcome, but it seems that Lydia and Bane have a little "thing" for each other.

Lydia Pallas has carved out a good life for herself in Boston, where she has landed an enviable position as a translator for the U.S. Navy. When her talents bring her to the attention of the mysterious Alexander Banebridge, he hires her to translate a seemingly innocuous collection of European documents. 
But Lydia soon discovers this job is more than it appears. Bane is driven by a secret campaign to end the opium trade, compelled by his troubled past. When Bane’s enemies gain the upper hand, can Bane and Lydia—and the love growing between them—survive the forces that are conspiring against them?

What I thought: I enjoyed this book. I like the the issues, even set in the late 1800s, are still relevant today. And love isn't always easy. If you're a fan of romantic, historical fiction, give this one a try.

Where to buy: Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden is available in book stores and online.

Friday, October 18, 2013

Last Night I Had a Laughmare! Bedtime Adventures in Gigglyville, by J.E. Laufer

Disclaimer: I received this product for review. All opinions are my own.


Sleep should be a good, peaceful time for children. Sometimes they are worried about the "what if's" and it's hard to sleep. Help them have fun before bed instead with the book Last Night I Had a Laughmare! by J.E. Laufer.

The product:


“This story will not only hold the children’s attention, but give them the wonderful sensation that they are part of the story and frolicking with the characters…”
– Clive CusslerNew York Times Bestselling Author of American Adventure/Thriller Novels

www.laughmarebook.com / List Price: $16.95

J.E. Laufer’s delightful new picture book, Last Night I Had a Laughmare, takes sleepyheads of all ages to a magical world of bedtime adventure where nothing is EVER quite what it seems! Star-hung swings? Purple hair? Shoelaces made of spaghetti? These are just a few of the surprises in store for visitors to Gigglyville…and the town’s silly residents love to have company. Bring your own chair and join Liverlips, Smellyfeet, Purple Pudding and Dishes on an exciting romp through a place where special wishes are granted, snowballs are made of ice cream, and readers will be laughing ‘til morning. Fantastic fun!

What we thought: My son enjoyed this book. (He enjoys most books!) This book has such a silliness to it that really appeals to children. I'm glad for books like this to not take life so seriously. It will make a great addition to your children's bookshelves.

Where to buy: Please check the website link above for purchases.

Monday, October 14, 2013

LGMedSupply.com

*Disclaimer: This post was brought to you by your friends at lgmedsupply.com.*


LGMedSupply is a website that provides different products for pain management. They have TENS Units, Muscle Stimulators, and Ultrasound Units. These are meant to help people with pain relief and rehabilitation.

My chiropractor used muscle stimulators to help strengthen the back muscles to add healing and help you get back to normal faster. It seems to help. My husband actually really enjoys the feeling of the muscle stim when it's used on his back. It's relaxing for him. The LG-TEC Dual Combo TENS Unit and Muscle Stimulator gives you the benefit of both pain relief and the muscle stimulator for even better muscle tone and muscle pain rehabilitation.

LGMedSupply has pain relief products for many patients all over the world. The products on their website are in stock and ready for purchase. You can find more information from their online customer blog. Visit LGMedSupply Online.

Monday, September 30, 2013

"Burton the Scarecrow–Friendship Tales" from the Farm Series by V. A. Boeholt

Disclaimer: I received this product for review. All opinions are my own.


It's fall now. Time to get out the decorations, prepare for Halloween and get the seasonal books out for the kids, I'm sure I'm not the only mom who does this. (Well, I'm not really sure actually. Am I??) I like to keep seasonal books together in the closet, then I can get them out to show the kids and excite them about changing seasons and upcoming holidays. It was especially fun in the preschool and toddler years.

The product:

“A sweet, enchanting story of friendship, with memorable opportunities for learning. Everyone needs a friend like Burton the Scarecrow!”
–Meridel Hedges, National Learning Styles Consultant and Educational Reading Specialist

Website: www.ScarecrowStories.com / List price: $14.95

V.A. Boeholt brings Burton the Scarecrow to life with endearing tales about gardening, farming, and friendship. Whether he’s protecting Farmer Green’s crops or helping his friends, Burton sets an example of kindness and commitment that will help young readers develop these strengths within themselves. Interactive readers’ guides and curriculum supplements help parents and teachers apply Burton’s wisdom at home or in the classroom, setting the stage for character development in an enjoyable, memorable way. Boeholt’s Friendship Tales from the Farm series a must for children and their caregivers, creating delightful moments of interactive storytelling that will enrich any learning environment.

What we thought: So, the truth is my oldest son is past the preschooler age. But that means he can read and enjoy books on his own, whenever he wants, now. Burton is a kind scarecrow, not the scary kind, and he helps children learn about many different things. Your children will find this story cheerful and entertaining. And since it's the season for all things fall, this will fit right in with your other activities. I know that your children will enjoy this book just as much as my son and I did.

Where to buy: You can find Burton the Scarecrow online.

"Mended" by Angie Smith

Disclaimer: I received this product for review. All opinions are my own.




I first heard this author speak a few years ago at a Women of Faith conference. She is so funny and really personable, even when she speaks to a crowd of thousands of women. Angie Smith has some amazing stories to tell about her life and living in God. Her story of lovingly carrying a pregnancy to term, knowing the baby would not live, is heartbreaking. But she relies on God for all the hard times in her life and shares her story of faith.

The product:  "Mended: Pieces of a Life Made Whole" (B&H, September 2012; ISBN-13: 978-1433676604, $14.99) -- We love to cheer for the underdog and believe to our core that every life makes a difference. And we are right. There is no one God can’t use and no one whose brokenness is too broken for God. We know this is true for our friends when we want to encourage them. Yet, when it comes to the places of our innermost sense of shame and regret, we often wonder if it is really true that God can work all things together for good for those who love Him.

Mended takes you on a journey to show how faith lived in the regular events of daily life is all that it takes to be a part of creating God’s picture of redemption in your life and those around you. Your life does make a difference—because of how He is magnified in the cracks.


About Angie Smith

Angie Smith is the wife of Todd Smith (lead singer of Dove Award winning group Selah), author of "I Will Carry You and What Women Fear," and one of the most popular speakers and blog writers in the country. She holds a master’s degree in developmental psychology from Vanderbilt University and lives with her husband and daughters in Nashville, Tenn.

What I thought: I was really excited to read this book. I so enjoyed hearing Angie Smith talk at Women of Faith. But I had not had a chance to read any of her books yet. It turns out that she writes a lot like she talks. She has a funny, relatable, down to earth way of sharing things. I get her. And as a mom of young children, I get so many of her stories.

In Mended Angie Smith paints a great picture of the way God fixes our broken lives. We are all broken in some way. And this book is just the uplifting encouragement you need to start putting the pieces back together. You'll enjoy this devotional. It is written in little sections that you can read every day. I hope that it gives you the encouragement you need. It also makes a nice gift for any woman in your life.

Where to buy: You'll find Mended by Angie Smith in stores and online.

Big Top Scooby-Doo Blu-ray & DVD

Disclaimer: I received this product to review. All opinions are my own.


Scooby Dooby Doo where are you.... You know the song, and your kids probably do too. Scooby is in this original movie Big Top Scooby-Doo on DVD/Blu-Ray now.

The product: Big Top Scooby-Doo - Shaggy, Scooby and the rest of the Mystery Inc. gang are looking forward to a vacation in Atlantic City. Things are never that easy for this gang and they end up in a circus mystery. This time they get to go undercover and join the circus.
Scooby-Doo, Shaggy and the gang arrive in Atlantic City for a relaxing vacation...and land center stage in a three-ring mystery! 
After visiting a shuttered big top that's being hounded by werewolves, the gang goes undercover to find out why. It's up to Daphne the clown, trapeze artist Fred, Velma the human rocket, ringmaster Shaggy and the amazing trick dog Scooby-Doo to solve the mystery and save the circus. But when they repeat their crowd-pleasing performance for Shaggy's favorite Swedish metal band, Wulfsmoon, the beasts come back for one more hair-raising ruckus. Scooby-Doo and Shaggy juggle fun, fright and feats of bravery and puzzle-solving skill in the greatest original Scooby-Doo movie on earth.

What we thought: This movie was a fun mystery with all of the gang involved. It's nice to get a full Scooby movie once in a while versus the short episodes. And the circus theme made it that much more entertaining. This is another fun film that the whole family can enjoy.

Where to buy: You can find the Big Top Scooby-Doo on DVD and Blu-Ray in stores and online now.

Scooby-Doo! 13 Spooky Tales: Ruh-Roh Robot! DVD

Disclaimer: I received this product to review. All opinions are my own.



I don't have to tell you that my son is a big Scooby-Doo fan. I know I've mentioned it before. This latest Scooby Doo DVD set will not disappoint.

About the product:

JINKIES!
IT’S 13 ACTION-PACKED MYSTERIES THAT NEED SOLVING
ON WARNER BROS. HOME ENTERTAINMENT’S RELEASE OF
SCOOBY-DOO! 13 SPOOKY TALES: RUH-ROH ROBOT!
AVAILABLE SEPTEMBER 24, 2013

Release Features an All-New 22-Minute Scooby-Doo! Cartoon

BURBANK, CA (July 2, 2013) – Join Scooby-Doo and his pals for 13 zany, animated adventures on Scooby-Doo! 13 Spooky Tales: Ruh-Roh Robot! available in stores September 24, 2013 from Warner Bros. Home Entertainment (WBHE). This two-disc set will feature an all-new, 22-minute cartoon titled Scooby-Doo! Mecha Mutt Menace, plus 12 exciting mysteries that will delight kids and adults alike. Scooby-Doo! 13 Spooky Tales: Ruh-Roh Robot! will retail for $19.98 SRP.

Scooby-Doo and the gang are together again in this exciting collection that’s comprised of fan favorite episodes which are offered together for the first time in one set.  Strange and mystifying happenings take our favorite Great Dane and his pals on a variety of thrilling escapades the whole family will enjoy watching together.

On Foul Play in Funland, the gang is compelled to investigate a sea-side amusement park, which appears haunted when it comes to life all on its own. Scooby-Doo visits Mars on Way Out Scooby. A thief finds a way to shrink cars in order to steal them onDisappearing Car Caper. The gang is terrorized by a dinosaur on The Dinosaur Deception and encounters killer bees on The Bee Team. The ghost of George Washington haunts the White House on Night Louse at the White House. These and other captivating mysteries await viewers on this not-to-be-missed release.

Scooby-Doo! 13 Spooky Tales: Ruh-Roh Robot! offers a wonderful mix of popular Scooby-Doo episodes plus a brand-new, 22-minute cartoon we created especially for this set,” says Mary Ellen Thomas, Vice President of Family and Animation Marketing and Partner Brands. She added, “We think consumers will enjoy the selection of cartoons we’ve chosen for this set. The cartoons have been culled from a variety of different Scooby-Doo animated series. If you’re a Scooby-Doo fan, this is an entertaining release you won’t want to miss.” 


Featured Episodes:

  1. Scooby-Doo! Mecha Mutt Menace – All-new 22-minute cartoon
  2. Foul Play in Funland
  3. The Scary Sky Skeleton
  4. Way Out Scooby
  5. Who’s Scooby-Doo?
  6. Disappearing Car Caper
  7. The Dinosaur Deception
  8. The Hand of Horror
  9. Doom Service
  10. A Code in the Nose
  11. The Bee Team
  12. A Night Louse at the White House, Part I
  13. A Night Louse at the White House, Part II

What we thought: As expected my son loved this DVD. It's just a fun cartoon, especially for a 7 year old boy! Shaggy and Scoob always have great burping and farting funnies. What 7 year old wouldn't love that?

This DVD has 13 great episodes of spooky tales. And it's just in time to gear up for Halloween. I think your kids will enjoy this Scooby Doo collection.

Where to buy: The Scooby-Doo! 13 Spooky Tales: Ruh-Roh Robot! DVD is available in stores and online now.

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Scooby-Doo! Mystery Incorporated Season 2 Part 1: Danger in the Deep DVD

*Disclaimer: I received this product for review. All opinions are my own.*





The product:
THOSE MEDDLING KIDS AND THEIR LOVABLE DOG ARE BACK!

SCOOBY-DOO! MYSTERY INCORPORATED SEASON 2 PART 1: DANGER IN THE DEEP
IS AVAILABLE ON DVD NOVEMBER 13, 2012
FROM WARNER HOME VIDEO

Release Features 13 Episodes from the Hit Cartoon Network TV Series

BURBANKCA (September 18, 2012) – Captivating new mysteries and intriguing new villains will delight viewers on Warner Home Video’s DVD release of Scooby-Doo! Mystery Incorporated Season 2 Part 1: Danger in the Deep, available November 13, 2012. The latest incarnation of the popular Scooby-Doo! franchise, Scooby-Doo! Mystery Incorporated follows teenage pals Daphne, Fred, Velma, Shaggy and Scooby-Doo as they investigate strange happenings in their hometown of Crystal Cove. The release will feature 13 episodes from the second season of the hit animated series and will retail for $19.97 SRP.

In Scooby-Doo! Mystery Incorporated Season 2 Part 1: Danger in the Deep, the gang returns to their hometown, Crystal Cove, to solve a series of baffling mysteries. First on the agenda is the elusive Crybaby Clown, who tortures the Cove’s inhabitants and evades Scooby-Doo and the gang’s every attempt to capture him. Velma travels to Russia and comes face-to-face with legendary witch, Baba Yaga. A creature named Dreamweaver begins to haunt people’s dreams. Crystal Cove is attacked by a menacing beast known as the Hodag of Horror. It’s a season filled with engaging mysteries and dramatic developments that’s not to be missed!

Scooby-Doo! Mystery Incorporated Season 2 Part 1: Danger in the Deep presents fans with a fresh and fun version of the classic cartoon we all know and love. The stories are richer and more complex. The characters show greater depth and personality,” said Mary Ellen Thomas, Vice President Family & Animation Marketing and Partner Brands. She added, “While it’s aimed at kids, adults will find themselves easily wrapped up in both the personal storylines and the unfolding mysteries. If you’re a fan of Scooby-Doo!, this is a must-have for your home entertainment collection.”

The first season finale of Scooby-Doo! Mystery Incorporated was Cartoon Network’s most watched program of the day and ranked #1 with Kids and Girls ages 2-11 and 6-11, while also ranking in the top 3 with all Boys.* Additionally, the animated series’ first season finale delivered over 2.5 million total viewers.*

Scooby-Doo! Mystery Incorporated centers on Fred, Daphne, Velma, Shaggy and Scooby-Doo, who solve mysteries in the spooky town of Crystal Cove, a sleepy coastal village that boasts a long history of ghostly sightings, werewolves and glowing deep sea divers. Because of all the paranormal activity, Crystal Cove has become a tourist hotspot that capitalizes on its haunted reputation— and the gang's meddling is therefore not appreciated by the people of Crystal Cove. Executive produced by Sam Register, Scooby-Doo! Mystery Incorporated draws on the iconic look and feel of the original Scooby-Doo! series and is presented in a modernized visual style created by some of today's leading animation artists.

FEATURED EPISODES:

  1. The Night the Clown Cried
  2. House of the Nightmare Witch
  3. The Night the Clown Cried II: Tears of Doom!
  4. Web of the Dreamweaver!
  5. The Hodag of Horror
  6. Art of Darkness
  7. The Gathering Gloom
  8. The Night of the Haunted Mountain
  9. Grim Judgement
  10. Night Terrors
  11. The Midnight Zone
  12. Scarebear
  13. Wrath of the Krampus

What we thought: My son is crazy for Scooby Doo. And why wouldn't he be. I loved Scooby Doo as a child too. I think it's great that there is a cartoon that is loved by generations. That said, I'm a little more for the old school Scooby. This is part of the newer series. The animations and characters are a bit different in the newer cartoon, but Zachariah loves it none the less. He watches on TV, but it's great to have this DVD to take with us on the road or at home. It's one that your kids will all enjoy too.

Where to buy: The Scooby-Doo! Mystery Incorporated Season 2 Part 1: Danger in the Deep DVD is available in stores and online now.


Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Maesto Classics "Carnival of the Animals" CD

Disclaimer: I received this product for review. All opinions are my own.


The product: Over 50 National Awards ...

CARNIVAL OF THE ANIMALS
from
MAESTRO CLASSICS
 
A Stories in Music CD for Narrator, Soloists, and Orchestra
Featuring the London Philharmonic Orchestra
Stephen Simon, Conductor

 
"If your little ones are past the age of getting their classical music from Baby Einstein, here is the perfect next step." -- Entertainment Weekly

"You don't have to love classical music to fall under theenchanting spell of Stephen Simon's magical production." --Parents' Choice Awards

 

NEW YORK --  Maestro Classics™, winner of over 50 prestigious awards for its Stories In Music™ CD series, proudly announces therelease of the company's tenth CD for family listening, a sparkling, child-friendly rendition of Camille Saint-Saëns' famous,whimsical masterpiece for narrator, soloists, and orchestra, Carnival of theAnimals. (Maestro Classics, $16.98, for ages 3+ and families, run time 70 minutes).
 
Lions roar, elephants dance, roosters crow at clucking hens, kangaroos leap, fish swim, wild donkeys race, xylophones clatter like fossils, clarinets cuckoo, virtuosic flutes imitate sounds of the aviary, the cello plays its famous swan song, and the tortoise does the world's slowest can-can in Saint-Saëns' musical picture gallery of the animal kingdom that also includes pianists practicing scales and some animals with long ears who are rumored to be music critics.

The Maestro Classics recording of Carnival of the Animals features thedroll verse that Ogden Nash wrote for each of the work's fourteen movements, recited here by Maestro Classics' beloved narrator, Yadu(a.k.a. Dr. Konrad Czynski).
 
With eminent conductor Stephen Simon directing the London Philharmonic Orchestra, stellar contributions by pianists Wendy Chen and Donna Kwong, a lovely interpretation of the French folk song "Au Clair de la Lune" by soprano Rachel Barham, and intriguing observations by Stephen Simon and "elucidator" Bonnie Ward Simon, in addition to a French/English interactive singing project and activities offered in a beautifully illustrated, 24-page program booklet, this recording of Carnival of the Animals will be treasured forever by children and adults alike.

Notes Bonnie Ward Simon, "The story goes that in 1950, America's pioneer pops conductor, André Kostelanetz, noticed that no one in the audience was smiling when he performed Carnival of the Animals.  They thought that all classical music should be serious!  He was so taken aback that he personally commissioned Ogden Nash to write verses to go with the music so that audiences would understand that Saint-Saëns intended the music to be funny.  Generations of children now remember the pianos roaring like lions and couplets like 'Elephants are useful friends, Equipped with handles at both ends,' as part of a wonderful childhood experience with music."

What we thought: Here is another great children's CD from Maestro Classics. My son really enjoys the classical music with their CDs. And it is so neat for them to make fun lyrics and music that children love. My son enjoyed this one, and I think it's perfect for children of all ages.

Where to buy: You can purchase the Carnival of Animals CD on their website or Amazon.

How to connect: Learn more about Maestro Classics at http://maestroclassics.com. You can also find them on Facebook and Twitter.