Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Medical Training

I may not go to the doctor very often, but when I do choose a doctor it's important to find one who knows what they are doing. I want someone who knows their field of expertise very well. And keeping up with the current information and latest techniques is important to me as well.

When you are a nurse or doctor, how do you stay up with the latest medical information? I'm sure it's not an easy task. Things are changing constantly with new things that we're discovering and changed in technology all the time. There are resources out there for medical teaching course.

In 2004 Oxford Medical started their company to be a source of help in management training, interview skills training and medical education training to doctors from all over. They have many different options in this fields for further education through consultant interview course,  medical management courseteach the teacher course and more. Being the largest provider of these services helps give Oxford Medical a head above others.

Take a look around their website, and you will see all the training that Oxford Medical offers. They have much experience in the fields they teach which helps them be best at what they do. They offer online courses, DVDs, in house courses and more. You can also check out their free videos for more information.


*This post was brought to you by your friends at medicalinterviewsuk.co.uk.*

Wordless Wednesday: School's Out



Tuesday was our last day of school. I can't believe how fast this year has gone. My son is officially a 1st grader! And he's ready for summer break. I hope that we find lots of fun things to do. What keeps you busy in the summer with your kids?

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Hope Harris "Picasso, That's Who! and so can you!" CD #Giveaway (CLOSED)

This giveaway is now closed. Congrats to the winner listed below!


We enjoy listening to many different types of children's music. I am happy that there are so many great artists out there. When my son is listening to a children's CD, I know that he is enjoying the music. I can feel good about the fun lyrics and style of music that I know is appropriate for him too.

The product: The newest CD from Hope Harris is Picasso, That's Who! and so can you! You can enjoy this children's music artist and dance and sing along with your children.


HOPE HARRIS'

'PICASSO, THAT'S WHO! (AND SO CAN YOU!)' 

Hope Harris combines country and swing with a little touch of show music … Harris has a clear and friendly voice that reminds one of Kate Taylor and Patsy Cline. 

 2011 Parents' Choice® Silver Honor Award review of Hope Harris’ Cousins Jamboree


Cousins Jamboree is decidedly energetic.  Songs … exude warmness and good time celebration.  A Parents’ Choice Silver Award winner.”
– Education.com, The Best Children’s Music of 2011
“The wide appeal of this album makes it a must-have.”
– School Library Journal starred review of Hope Harris’ Cousins Jamboree 

RICHMOND, VA (March 26, 2012) – Hot on the heels of her 2011 Parents’ Choice® Silver Honor Awardwinning CD, Cousins Jamboree, independent children’s musician Hope Harris is excited to embark on a lively new adventure into the world of art with the May 22 release of Picasso, That’s Who! (And So Can You!).  The album takes kids and families through a tuneful celebration of 19th and 20th century visual artists, offering musical mini-lessons in art appreciation and encouraging listeners to pick up a brush or a crayon and try creating art!
  
Expertly produced by Rob Friedman, co-producer of the Dan Zanes family albums, Picasso,That’s Who! (And So Can You!) invites kids to hop a train with Romare Bearden, action paint like Jackson Pollock, take a line for a walk with Paul Klee, jump off the diving board into a painting by David Hockney, look closely at the petals of a flower like Georgia O’Keeffe, and more.  

Every one of Hope Harris songs is graced with an energy that encourages further artistic exploration in both learning about and creating artThe title track of Picasso, That’s Who! (And So Can You!) is appropriately colored with vibrant Spanish rhythms, melodies, and instruments.”  A funky retro rock ‘n’ roll ‘60s groove that’s sure to move listeners to action describes the free spirit of Jackson Pollock’s art in sound. Lots of bluegrass pickin’ expresses Grandma Moses, Alexander Calder receives a cool jazz treatment, and Georgia O’Keeffe’s vision is conveyed through a gentle waltz with soothing cello harmonies.  Paul Klee’s song, “Dot in Motion,” has a solid roots rock feel, while “Impression Monet” (decorated with the distinctive sound of a French accordion) gives one the feel of floating down the Seine. Songs about David Hockney, Romare Bearden, and Henri Matisse round out the album, each offering a distinctive change of pace.

Says Hope Harris, “With Picasso, That’s Who! (And So Can You!) my goal is to spark curiosity and inspire creativity.  I want kids to look at the world around them, be motivated to visit art galleries and museums, and to realize that artists are everywheremaking all kinds of art.  I’d like to say to every child who hears this music, ‘Now it’s your turn … paint it, glue it, draw it, mix it, try it!  All the artists on this album did, and you can, too!  It doesn’t have to be perfect.  Use your imagination and have some fun!’”

A graduate of the University of Virginia and, later, the Neighborhood Playhouse School of Theatre, Hope Harrisspent many years living and performing in NYC, appearing both on and off Broadway, in regional and stock productions across the country, and even doing stints at venues like Nashville’s famed Bluebird Café.  A crowning success in the kids’ realm was her starring appearance, for three years running, as “Baker Bobbie” for the Park Slope, Brooklyn, Chocolate Chip Chamber Music Series, for which she is also a contributing scriptwriter.   Hope now lives with her family in Richmond, VA but returns often to NYC to perform.  

Coming next from Hope Harris, in spring 2013, will be an Earth-friendly CD titled Lemonade Stand.

Picasso, That's Who! (And So Can You!) will be available online at www.hopeharris.comamazon.com,cdbaby.com, and at independent retailers nationwide.

        # # # 

CD Details: Picasso, That's Who! (And So Can You!)  
For ages 3 - 10.
Label: Holcomb Rock Records
SRP: $15.00
Run time: 33 minutes.



http://hopeharris.com


Halo Safe Sleep Crib Set


My son is 6 years old now. He's not a baby anymore. I keep asking him if he'd like the be my little baby again, but he says not and won't stop growing. Hmph!

It's amazing to see how many things have changed in 6 years for babies. Plenty of baby gear has come onto the scene that wasn't big or around at all when my son was little. Other things have become more and more common.

And there have been some new updates and changes that the American Academy of Pediatrics have recommended. If/when I would have another baby, I'll have to read up on these things really well. One of the recent changes that I've heard about from the American Academy of Pediatrics is no crib bumpers. While that has been commonplace for years, now we must start to adjust.

The product: Now there is a great alternative for putting baby to sleep safely. The HALO Safe Sleep Crib Set is just what you need to take care of your baby.

With the American Academy of Pediatrics now saying “no” to crib bumpers, HALO Innovations has introduced its own Safe Sleep Crib SetTM designed to create an attractive and safe sleep environment for babies.

The five-piece HALO Safe Sleep Crib Set consists of a HALO SleepSack wearable blanket, SleepSack Swaddle, both in 100% cotton; two coordinating crib sheets in soft cotton jersey; and a matching crib skirt.

“Too often parents ‘overdress’ the crib with quilt and bumpers, both of which can pose a breathing threat for baby,” comments Bill Schmid, founder of Halo Innovations. “The Halo SleepSack and SleepSack Swaddle are the only things a baby needs in the crib to stay warm and sleeping safely, and the soft jersey sheet provides a snug fit on the mattress.

The new HALO Safe Sleep Crib Sets are available on amazon.com and babiesrus.com. The set comes in six patterns including pink, blue and neutral tones.

Monday, May 28, 2012

VPS Hosting

I'll be the first to admit that I don't know a lot about hosting, servers, and more. (Ask my husband about all that stuff if you need to know more.) There are plenty of words and terms that come with all of the information about servers and VPS Hosting Stacks that I don't understand at all.

But if you are looking for VPS Hosting check out dotblock.com. They have a lot of information about everything that they offer. You can see the services they offer, their pricing and more. And if you're a little lost with all of this, they have a great support page on their website.

If you're looking for something new to try out, they have a special for you on their website. You can get a 30 day trial for only $9.95 with the coupon code: 30DAY. Some of their hosting features include: guaranteed CPU share, web based console and VNC access, your choice of 32 & 64-bit platforms, and much more.

I may not know much about VPS Hosting, but I do have a place to start now if I needed it. If you need it, you know where to go, dotblock.com is here to take care of all your hosting needs.




*This post was brought to you by your friends at dotblock.com.*

Friday, May 25, 2012

Weekend Winners 5/25/12

The Big G Curvy Straw Prize Pack goes to...

#50 - Erin

The "Illusion" by Frank Peretti goes to...

#34 - Beth

Congrats! You have been sent an email with directions to claiming your prize.

I hope that you all have a wonderful holiday weekend! Here are the other great giveaways going on now:


Wednesday, May 23, 2012

PeachSuite.com

I have worked quite a few odd jobs in my time. Not that the jobs themselves are odd, but an odd assortment or jobs I suppose. I had a newspaper route for long time as a kid. I worked for my school the summer after I graduated cleaning, washing, etc, getting the school in tiptop shape. Then I worked at a grocery store for a few years in college. After I got married I took a little break since I was commuting quite a ways to school, but I was the editor for my college newspaper for a couple years too. I had a home sales business (Pampered Chef), then finished college with my teaching degree.

When I graduated I subbed for a year, since I couldn't get a full-time job. Over the summer I worked for some friends who had just opened a coffee shop/cafe. That was my first and only restaurant experience, but I really enjoyed working for/with friends and ended up sticking around longer. They hired me on as a kitchen manager. I loved working in the small kitchen and keeping things moving there. I stayed for about a year before going back to subbing, tutoring, then becoming a stay at home mom.

I think many people have worked in food service at some point. Being the kitchen manager I got a lot of experience in keeping things running smoothly behind the scenes too. PeachSuite.com is the place for all kinds of Hospitaliy Supplies & Hotel Catering Supplies. Whatever you are looking for you'll be able to find the right Restaurant Equipment. So if you are in the food industry and you're looking for Restaurant Supply, you should check them out. They have a little of everything in that field.



*This post was brought to you by your friends at PeachSuite.com.*

Wordless Wednesday: Birthday Party

My nephew and niece both have birthdays this month, so my sister-in-law decided to have one big party for both. It was fun to celebrate their 2nd and 1st birthdays. They are growing up so quickly. The funniest thing for me was watching Grace devour her piece of cake. Patrick was a little more careful with his, but he’s 2 after all. Happy Birthday!

GEDC0776
Patrick - 2

GEDC0777
Grace - 1

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Winner for 5/22/12

Today I have one giveaway closed. The winner is below.

Winner of the Crayola Outdoor Bubble Prize Pack is...

#109 - Jamie Brigham

Congrats, Jamie! I sent you an email about how to claim your prize.

Here are the other giveaways I have going on now. Good luck!


Beth Moore's "A Heart Like His" Book #Giveaway (CLOSED)

This giveaway is now closed. Congrats to the winner listed below.



I have long been interested in learning more about the Bible. Since last fall I've been doing various studies of the Old Testament and digging deeper into some of the stories and Bible passages that I've heard all my life. I find that the deeper I dig, the more interested I am.

The product: Beth Moore is a well-known Christian author and speaker. I often hear about her events and Bible studies. A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David is a book about King David. From a young shepherd boy to a king after God's own heart. There are so many twists and turns in David's life. There are lots of things that we can all learn from David, and that's what Beth Moore wants to teach us about.

Summary: We all go through times when we feel insignificant or times when we feel certain that we have experienced a degree of failure from which there is no return. This is not a reality we experience alone, but is one that a man after God’s heart experienced as well. 
In “A Heart Like His,” Beth Moore looks at this bond of mutual love and admiration between a man who was not unlike any of us and the one true God who is all good and all powerful. The book is an exploration of David’s incredible life, drawing spiritual insights from a man who boldly fulfilled his divine destiny not merely by what he did, but who he loved and served.
Bringing lessons from David’s life to bear on your own, this picture of a man who loved and followed God will help you to serve with a heart focused on Him no matter the circumstance.
About the Author: Beth Moore is a best-selling writer, teacher and founder of Living Proof Ministries. Her numerous books and Bible studies, including “Breaking Free” (B&H Books), “Believing God” (LifeWay Christian Resources), “The Patriarchs” (LifeWay Christian Resources) and most recently, “James: Mercy Triumphs” (LifeWay Christian Resources) have been read by women in Beth Moore Bible study groups all over the world. Her Living Proof Live conferences have reached women in all 50 states in the United States. 

What I thought: I am aware of Beth Moore and her great Bible studies and books. I have yet to read anything of hers...until now. I'm sure that I will be finding more of her books from our church library to read after seeing how wonderful A Heart Like His was.

I have learned new things about King David in this book. I knew a lot of the basics having read through it in the Bible, but Beth Moore brings up issues that I never thought about. She has a beautiful way with words that I love. There are so many great quotable thoughts in the book. I'm probably driving my Facebook friends nuts quoting things from it.

If you're looking for something to either learn about David or just dig into the Old Testament/ Bible a little more this book is a great place to start. It's a new addition of a book that has been around for a little while, but it's timeless in it's relevancy. There are also discussion questions at the end of the book that you can use to keep your focus and think about things as you go along. It would also be great to use these with a friend, small group or Bible study as you read this book together.

Where to buy: A Heart Like His by Beth Moore is available in book stores and online now.

How to connect: You can find out more about Beth Moore, her ministries, and her books at http://www.lproof.org/. You can also connect on Facebook.

Prize: One reader will win a copy of "A Heart Like His".

Giveaway: This giveaway is open until 6/6/12 at 12:01am EST. It is open to US residents only. Please enter in the Rafflecopter form below. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


*Disclaimer: I received this product to review. All opinions are my own.*

Monday, May 21, 2012

"Need You Now" by Beth Wiseman #Giveaway (CLOSED)

This giveaway is now closed. Congrats to the winner listed below!



When I first saw that Beth Wiseman had a new book out, I thought it would be an Amish fiction. I thought this because Beth Wiseman writes Amish fiction books that I've read before. Turns out this is the first modern fiction novel that Wiseman has written. I, for one, am really glad that this author tried something a little different. While her Amish fiction books are great, Need You Now is fantastic.

The product: Need You Now by Beth Wiseman is a contemporary fiction novel. This story is about a normal family who is going through life and dealing with a little more than they expected. They made a move, thinking it would be a simpler life for them, but that wasn't necessarily the case. Sometimes issues within families lies just beneath the surface. But with love, patience, and learning to listen to each other, maybe this new chapter of their lives will be OK.
When big-city life threatens the safety of one of their children, Brad and Darlene Henderson move with their three teenagers from Houston to the tiny town of Round Top, Texas. 
Adjusting to small-town life is difficult for the kids, especially fifteen-year-old Grace who is coping in a dangerous way. 
Married life hasn't always been bliss, but their strong faith has carried them through the difficult times. When Darlene takes a job outside the home for the first time in their marriage, the domestic tension rises. 
While working with special needs children at her new job, the widowed father of one of Darlene's students starts paying more attention to her than is appropriate. Problem is, she feels like someone is listening to her for the first time in a long time. 
If Darlene ever needed God . . . it's now. 
Experience a family's triumphant defeat over lies, betrayal, and loss while still clinging to the One who matters most.

What I thought: I think I already mentioned that I LOVED this book! The characters and family were very easy to relate to for me. Here is a Christian family who works hard, loves each other, and fits God into the mix. I see a little of myself in the future in the main character, Darlene, in this book. I hope that I can handle what God throws at my life as well as she did.

I think you'll enjoy this book, especially if Christian fiction if up your alley. It's a nice, easy, modern story. I couldn't put it down after I started. And I strongly encourage Beth Wiseman to write some more modern fictions like this...she's good at it.

Where to buy: Need You Now by Beth Wiseman is available in stores and online now.

Author Beth Wiseman
How to connect: You can learn more about author Beth Wiseman and her books at http://bethwiseman.com/. She is also available on Twitter and Facebook.

Prize: I have one copy of Need You Now for one of you to win for yourself.

Giveaway: This giveaway is open to US residents only. It will close at 12:01am 6/5/12. You can enter in the Rafflecopter form below. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


*Disclaimer: I received this product to review. All opinions are my own.*

Reputation Defender

The internet is not always a nice place. Sometimes you have to fight for yourself and what you stand for. I'm always reading on Facebook and Twitter about issues people have with others posting mean things. It happens. I think people feel like they can say whatever they want about anyone.

I just read about a blogger having issues, because another blogger had stolen the pictures. I read about a blogger having their posts stolen and reposted on someone else's blog. It's just so strange to me why someone would do that.

I choose to speak kindly to people. I'm an optimist, so I look at the positive side of things. Life's too short to dwell on the negative. I would rather get what I want with kind words than demands and anger. That's how I choose to live my life. And I live a very happy life!

Along these lines you might enjoy this article about an online reputationdefender. Imagine that you did post something online that you wanted to take back. We all have times when he post things, whether on Facebook, Twitter or our blogs, that maybe later we wish we hadn't said. What would you want to take back?

Saturday, May 19, 2012

Dougie in Disguise DVDs



These new animated stories from Spain are brought to life in the launch of a new DVD series: Dougie in Disguise.

The product: The newest title in a series of children's animated stories, Dougie in Disguise, with charming tales to Spain to encourage imaginative play, launches in two volumes. Dougie is a curious kid who loves to play with sticker albums and is never without his friend, Tim the dog. Curiosity and imagination combine when Dougie dresses up in a disguise and has adventures. Dougie in disguise allows children to help Dougie choose stickers from his book that will help him in his travels. Warm and funny, engaging and cheerful, each vignette helps children learn about occupations, geography, and famous characters from literature. Thirteen adventures on the first disc and 14 on the second disguise Dougie as famous characters, familiar objects and adventuresome occupations.

Dougie in Disguise, Volume 1 & 2
Dougie and his dog Time explore the world through Dougie's sticker albums full of characters and objects, which emerge from the pages and come to life. If Dougie dresses up as chef, he has to look for ingredients, and find out which ones go together; if he dresses up as an eskimo, he learns about Arctic wildlife: as a farmer, he learns about wild animals and farm animals; as a policeman, he brings order to pedestrians and traffic, and as a gardener, he looks after flowers, planting and watering them. The show is an outstanding learning tool. In each story, Dougie asks us to help him make decisions about things to use from his sticker book. Through Dougie we find out about different jobs, animals, and parts of the world.

What we thought: This is a fun little show for young kids. My son was a bit too old for it, so we were able to pass it along to my nephew and niece. I'm sure they'll enjoy it and it's a little more age appropriate for them.

Where to buy: Two volumes of Dougie's adventures, aimed at children up to age 5, are on Amazon, www.organa.com and various stores and websites.

How to connect: You can learn more about this series and others like it at www.organa.com.



*Disclaimer: I received this product to review. All opinions are my own.*

Awesome Adventures: Rescue Friends DVD



Here's a little something for the boys. (And I'm sure there are plenty of little girls that can enjoy this too.) The first Awesome Adventures is full off energy and fun perfect for your preschool boys.

The product: An all-new line just for boys is coming to the rescue! You'll see six great episodes in Awesome Adventures from your favorite preschool characters like Thomas & Friends, Fireman Sam and Bob the Builder. Awesome Adventures: Rescue Friends is available on DVD, Digital Download, and On Demand from Lionsgate and HIT Entertainment.

Calling all heroes! Spencer shows his mettle when he steams through thick fog to rescue Percy while Toby's new whistle rings friends and animals to safety! Bob the Builder's Machine Team helps Scratch out of a sticky situation, as Dizzy surprises her friends - and herself - when she turns a big mistake into a great success. Fireman Sam proves that a hero's work is never done and James learns that some rescues are best left to the professionals. Everyone is racing to the rescue in this exciting collection from your favorite preschool friends!

This DVD includes Thomas & Friends "Spencer the Grand", Thomas & Friends "Toby's New Whistle", Fireman Sam "Off Duty Sam", Fireman Sam "Fireman James", Bob the Builder "Scratch Goes Solo" and Bob the Builder "Whizzy Dizzy".

What we thought: It's fun to have this collection of my son's favorite preschool characters in one place. Even though this one is targeted towards boys, it holds a certain appeal to girls too. The episodes on this DVD are high speed and adventure filled. Your preschoolers will love every minute.

Where to buy: You can purchase the Awesome Adventures: Rescue Friends DVD in stores and online now.

How to connect: Learn more about these HIT favorites, play games, and purchase fun merchandise at www.hitentertainment.com.



*Disclaimer: I received this product to review. All opinions are my own.*

Friday, May 18, 2012

Timmy Time: Timmy Finds Treasure DVD



Ooh, wouldn't your kids like to search for treasure with Timmy and his little friends? They'd have the adventure of a lifetime. So, even though they can't truly do it with him, with this new DVD and a good imagination, I'm sure your kids will be able to join in the fun adventure.

The product: With Timmy Time: Timmy Finds Treasure, on DVD now from Lionsgate and HIT Entertainment, there's tons of fun to boot-y with this all new release of Timmy. Come aboard and yo-ho-hold on as the lovable lamb gets his pirate on in five treasure-filled episodes that arrrrr sure to entertain your little swashbuckler again and again.

With slapstick humor and not a single line of dialogue, Timmy Time follows a day in the life of barnyard preschoolers. With diverse animal characters along with a rich and colorful nursery school backdrop, Timmy and his friends learn life lessons that every preschooler needs to know.

In this DVD there's LOOTs of fun to be had with Timmy and his mateys. Timmy practices his pirate captain skills, accidentally leading his crew to special treasure. There's mis-arrrdventure on the hunt for treasure and the crew must get creative to get back on course. Then when Timmy sets sail, he and his friends cause chaos on the seas. Join Timmy for some swashbuckling fun and see that good mateys are the best treasure of all!

The Timmy Time: Timmy Finds Treasure DVD comes the episodes: "Timmy Finds Treasure," "Timmy's Treasure Hunt," "Timmy's Tractor," "Timmy Makes a Splash," and "Timmy's Spring Surprise." Also on this DVD are bonus features Timmy's Day of the Week video and Shaun the Sheep bonus episodes "Spring Lamb" series- 2 episodes.

Crystal Light Pomtini and Peach Bellini



It's starting to feel like summer. School is ending. The weather is warming up. It's time to think about picnics, cookouts and cool drinks. But too many drinks might make it harder to fit in that bathing suit. With the Crystal Light Mocktails new flavors, you'll have something to drink with less guilt and great taste.

The product: The newest in the line of Crystal Light drinks is the limited edition Pomtini and Peach Bellini have joined the low-calorie Mocktails line-up. Maybe you saw the new flavors revealed on NBC's Celebrity Apprentice. Last year's new flavors were great, and these are even better.

About Crystal Light Mocktails
·         Limited-edition Pomtini and Peach Bellini flavors will join permanent Crystal Light Mocktails flavors, Margarita, Mojito and Appletini, which were first introduced last summer for a limited time but brought back for good in January.  ·         With only five calories per serving, all five Crystal Light Mocktails flavors give consumers the great flavor of their favorite beverage, guilt free.·         Best of all, Crystal Light Mocktails mix-up easily without the hassle of muddling limes, blending ice or using a cocktail strainer. Just add water, mix it up and toast to the flavor you love!·         Crystal Light Mocktails are available in multi-serve canisters with five 2-quart pitcher packs so there is always enough to share

Big G Curvy Straws # (CLOSED)

This giveaway is now closed. Congrats to the winner listed below!





Have a little fun with your breakfast cereal. Big G cereals now have fun, curvy straws to finish up your milk in the bowl. What fun! Now kids can have the OK to play with their food!


The product: You'll want to check out the fun Big G cereals with curvy straws now.


Did you know that simply drinking the leftover milk from cereal bowls may help kids work towards fulfilling their body's daily dairy, calcium, and Vitamin D needs? And what better way to slurp down to the bottom of the bowl than with the new Curvy Straws, available in-pack of specially marked boxes of Big Gcereal! With these collectable, connectable CurvyStraws, children of all ages can enjoy mixing and matching to build bigger, colorful straws all while helping them work towards stronger bones and muscles through increased calcium intake!


  • Be sure to collect all six different colorful straws featuring beloved Big G cereal characters
  • Participating Big G cereals include Cinnamon Toast Crunch® (17 oz.), Lucky Charms®(16 oz.), Reese´s® Puffs (18 oz.), Honey Nut Cheerios® (17 oz.), Trix®(14.8 oz)  and Cocoa Puffs® (16.5 oz)
  • Made with more whole grain than any other ingredient, Big G cereal, combined with a ½ cup of milk, can help provide a great start to your family´s day 
Whether you use one or connect them all, the fun with Big G Curvy Straws doesn´t have to stop when you reach the end of the bowl. Simply grab another serving of ice cold milk, and slurp away! Need more cereal to go with your milk? You can visit this link to download a printable coupon for $1.25 off of the purchase of (2) boxes of participating Big G cereal today!




What we thought: Breakfast can be fun again. My son likes cereal for breakfast. It's quick, easy and he can get it himself when he wants. But something my son has never done with cereal is eat it with milk on top. I just usually give him dry cereal, and even when he was old enough to handle it with milk on top, he didn't want it. More often that not, he eats it dry still. But with this new "spilt" milk bowl, Zachariah actually asks for milk on his cereal once in a while. And it's so much fun to slurp up the leftover milk with the new curvy straws.


We really like Big G cereals in general. They make kinds that my family enjoys. And now with more whole grain, add milk, and I'm happy with this as a great option for breakfast. Plus you can't beat the deals that you can find on the Big G cereals in stores from time to time paired with coupons. That's the best time to buy.


Where to buy: Big G Curvy Straws are available with Big G cereals in stores near you now.


How to connect: Learn more about the Whole Grain Nation at http://bit.ly/CurvyStraws.



Prize: One of you will win a Big G Curvy Straws prize pack just like I had (pictured above). It includes: 1 box of a participating Big G cereal, 1 Curvy Straw, 1 'spilt' milk bowl, 2 glow cups and 2 tangle toys.


Giveaway: This giveaway is open until 12:01am EST 5/24/12. It is open to US residents only. You can enter in the Rafflecopter form below. Good luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway






*Disclosure:  The prize pack, information, and giveaway have been provided by General Mills through MyBlogSpark. All opinions are my own.*

Winner for 5/18/12

Only one prize to list today. But here it is:

The winner of the I Am Happy CD is...

#35 - Brooke Thomas


Congrats, Brooke! I have sent you an email.

There are some other great giveaways open now...and more coming soon too!


Orange Sherbet's Kid CD "Delicious" #Giveaway (CLOSED)

This giveaway is closed. Congrats to the winner listed below!



Another great children's music CD to add to your collection. Hey, with all this great music out there, your children will not only be exposed to music at a young age, but you'll never get tired of the same, boring, old kid's music over and over again.


The product: Delicious by Orange Sherbet is a great children's CD. This is Orange Sherbet's 5th album. Here is a little more about the album:



ORANGE SHERBET’S
DELICIOUS’
A MUSICAL FEAST OF SEASONAL FOODS DELECTABLE, JAZZED-UP, AND COOL!

“Jazzy jammin’ and folky strumming soup up this electric hodgepodge of rhythm-propelled ditties.”– Parenting magazine review of Orange Sherbet’s Big Brother, Big Sister
“It’s a wholly winning sound … timeless songs sound fresh, and new songs sound like they’ve been part of the canon forever.”   –Zooglobble review of Orange Sherbet’s Campfire Sing-Along
 
BERKELEY, CA (March 2, 2012) – Top-notch musicians praise the delights of eating seasonal, locally grown foods!  The award-winning Bay Area group Orange Sherbet serves up its most abundant family platter yet with its fifth album, Delicious. Set for release on May 15Delicious is a tasty, jazzed-up, seventeen-song musical celebration of the foods of spring, summer, fall, and winter and the joys of growing, preparing, and enjoying nourishing, delicious meals. Five years ago, Orange Sherbet’s Tamsen Fynn participated in the Eat Local Challenge with her husband, professional baker Eduardo Morell.  They spent a month preparing and eating local foods grown and produced within 100 miles of home.  Around that same time, Tamsen was introduced to the Local Foods Wheel, a wonderful tool for discovering local, seasonal food in the San Francisco Bay Area. Her creative energy went into high gear, and she soon found herself spending hours at the kitchen table with a pile of cookbooks and a long list of foods, on a quest for dishes that were mouthwatering and would lend themselves to musical treatment. With the enthusiastic agreement of Orange Sherbet bandmates Jill and Steve Pierce, both of whom love savoring a good, home-cooked meal, Orange Sherbet embarked on writing music for Delicious.  Recalls Jill Pierce, "We fell in love with every food we wrote songs about.  What started as an inspiration to create a celebration of foods in season became a meditation on every bite."  Tamsen Fynn adds, “Everyone who worked on the CD needed regular lunch breaks, because we all got so hungry listening to the tempting descriptions of rice & beans, sautéed vegetables, or al dente pasta.  This might be the first time a child who hears our music wants to taste bok choy, rutabaga, and mustard greens!" Delicious encourages adventurous eating as it moves happily through the seasons of the year, with songs ranging from the jazz-influenced title track exploring the many flavors of food to a rock anthem in praise of waffles! Other highlights include “Farmers’ Market,” in which folk and rock combine with a dash of pop and a pinch of gospel, and “Chase That Pig,” where opera meets Zydeco. There’s even a nod to Santana in the Latin infused “Rice and Beans,” a song that is also a Puerto Rican recipe taught to Steve by Tamsen’s husband, EduardoThe album’s finale, the “Garden Song,” was inspired by the simplicity of Kaulana Kanekoa and Vince Esquire’s version of “Somewhere Over the Rainbow,” with just three voices and ukulele, recorded live.
Orange Sherbet has been featured in Parenting magazine, San Francisco magazine, the San Francisco ChronicleDailyCandy KidsSF WeeklyZooglobble, and more. The band’s award-winning body of work includes the CDs Jackson’s Lullaby (2001), Ridin’ (2003), Big Brother, Big Sister (2005), and Campfire Singalong (2007; recorded with the band Hot Buttered Rum and featuring special guest Dan Zanes on an Orange Sherbet song written especially for him). Delicious will be available online at www.orangesherbet.orgamazon.comcdbaby.com, and iTunes.

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Harvey Prince Ageless Perfume #Giveaway (15 winners!) (CLOSED)

This giveaway is now closed. Congrats to all the winners below!

Ageless

I’ve not been a huge perfume/fragrance person…until recently. In the last few months I’ve gotten several new perfumes. And I found that I enjoy wearing them. I guess it’s just one more girly thing that I realize I like as I get older. I recently added one to my collection from a new brand. It’s a great every day perfume that works well for me.

The product: Harvey Prince Ageless is the newest perfume that I’m using. Harvey Prince has a variety of fragrances, each one unique. Here is a little about the one I’m using:
AGELESS
Inspired by scientific research and crafted with love, Ageless defies your skin’s natural age-revealing scent.  Women from around the world love ageless; based on their testimonials and clinical trials, the luminous scent can make you feel and smell 8-12 years younger. This inviting blend of citrus, delicate florals, and natural musk is the original fragrance from Harvey Prince. It is the first of the Scents of Purpose collection, whose mission is to inspire women in feeling younger, happier, slimmer, sexier through fragrance.

How it Works: Ageless is backed by recent studies conducted by the Smell & Taste Treatment and Research Foundation in Chicago, which find pink grapefruit and mango to be the olfactory antidote to aging. The fragrant notes disguise the familiar scent of age, caused by the breakdown of
particular fatty acids in your skin. Top notes of pink citrus, pomegranate and mango yield to a feminine core of jasmine, tuberose, and ylang-ylang ending with a classic sandalwood finish.

How to Use: Swirl onto pulse points:  neck, wrists, back of ears, and inner elbows for an all-over luminous glow.

Notes: Pink Grapefruit, Pomegranate, Mango, Jasmine, Tuberose, Ylang Ylang, Sandalwood

Style: Fresh. Sensual. Luminous

Wordless Wednesday: Touch a Truck

Our local library has a really neat program that they do every year called Touch a Truck. I don’t know how long they’ve done it, but we’ve never been able to make it. We went this year, and I’m sad we didn’t go sooner. It was so much fun. Zachariah loved it!

 

All these trucks are open and ready for kids to climb in, “drive”, beep the horns, run the sirens and more. It’s an experience that they wouldn’t otherwise have. If you are local to me, you need to check this out next spring. Especially if you have little boys or girls who are fascinated with big trucks, tractors, etc, like mine always has been.

 

GEDC0681

 

GEDC0683

 

GEDC0688

 

GEDC0692

 

GEDC0698

 

GEDC0699

 

GEDC0705

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Dove® Clear Tone Anti-Perspirant/Deodorant #Giveaway (CLOSED)

This giveaway is closed. Congrats to the winner listed below!

Dove Clear Tone Sheer Touch

Warm weather is here…at least part of the time for us in Ohio. Summer is coming soon. You know what that means. Sleeveless shirts, bathing suits, and more shaving of the legs and armpits. At least that’s how it is for me. Sometimes it’s hard to keep my armpits smooth and nice when I’m shaving everyday during warm weather. Now I have a product that really does help.

The product: Busy mom’s know what matter. Being cool and comfortable in the summer are right up there on my list. I don’t want to worry about finding the right beauty products to help. I want something that’s easy and quick too. Dove® Clear Tone Anti-Perspirant/Deodorant is the first and only US deodorant designed to reduce underarm red and dark marks caused by shaving irritation, while also offering 24-hour odor and wetness protection.
As mentioned, Dove® Clear Tone Anti-Perspirant/Deodorant is the first and only U.S. deodorant designed to reduce red and dark marks and even skin tone thanks to Calendula, Sunflower Seed Extracts and unique Dove® moisturizers that help accelerate the natural skin renewal process. Not only does Dove® Clear Tone Anti-Perspirant/Deodorant restore skin to its natural tone, it also provides the same benefits women expect from all Dove® Anti-Perspirant/Deodorant products, including:
· 24-hour odor & wetness protection
· Care for delicate underarm skin with Dove® ¼ moisturizers™
· Alleviate the formation of white marks on clothing
· Dermatologist-tested

Dove® Clear Tone is available on shelves this month in the following formulas:
  • Skin Renew Invisible Solid – Light floral notes of violet, lilac and rose with vanilla musk
  • Sheer Touch Invisible Solid – Light citrus notes with hints of almond and coconut milk
  • Clinical Protection Renew – Offers prescription strength wetness protection with the maximum level of active ingredients (20%) available without a prescription.

Winners for 5/15/12

Hurray! It’s that time again. I have several giveaways that closed recently and winners were drawn. I wanted to announce them all.

 

The La Bella Stella CD goes to…

#18 – Shannon Rothe Naugle

 

The Olly Oogleberry books go to…

#35 – Gladys Parker

#78 - Crafty

#67 - Jennifer Clay

 

The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Picture Puzzles puzzle books go to…

#83 - Crafty

 

The e.p.t pregnancy tests go to…

#94 – Ashleigh Walls

 

The Stoneyfield yogurt goes to…

#5 – carlaboo11 (kid’s yogurt)

#6 – April (kid’s yogurt)

#4 – JC (Oikos drinkable yogurt)

 

Congrats to all the winners! You have all been notified and have 48 hours to claim your prize.

 

If you didn’t win, try, try again!! There are other great giveaways going on now.

BBC "Frozen Planet" DVD Viewing Party #Giveaway (CLOSED)

This giveaway is closed. Congrats to the winners listed below.



Maybe you’ve already seen some of the Frozen Planet shows on the Discovery Channel. If so, you know what all the fuss is about. From the first time I saw it advertised, I knew it would be a show that my family could enjoy together. All about life in the extreme cold, Frozen Planet is a great documentary that everyone will love.

The product: From the Emmy-winning team behind Planet Earth and The Blue Planet: Seas of Life, this is the original 7-part BBC series, Frozen Planet, narrated by world-renowned naturalist Sir David Attenborough and including over 90 minutes of footage not shown on television plus over four hours of bonus materials.

The Artic and Antarctic remain the greatest wildernesses on Earth. The scale and beauty of the scenery and the sheer power of the elements are unmatched anywhere else on our planet. And these vast, frigid landscapes are surprising rich with life. Using the latest camera technology, Frozen Planet captures unimaginable imagery above and below the ice and follows the extraordinary fluctuations that accompany the changes of seasons. Using crystal clear high definition cinematography, Frozen Planet will open your eyes to the remarkable colors and variety of life in this truly unique environment.

Frozen Planet Overview
A BBC/Discovery Channel co-production four years in the making, Frozen Planet is ambitious and epic in scale and provides the ultimate portrait of our earth’s Polar Regions, capturing the power of natural elements and the fragile, jaw-dropping beauty of scenery unlike anywhere else in the world. This landmark high definition series brings to the screen the frozen wilderness of the polar region for what could be the last time before they change forever.
Featuring the incredible wildlife cinematography that made Planet Earth a worldwide success, Frozen Planet has taken new technology to the most extreme and remote parts of our planet capturing groundbreaking imagery above and below the ice.
Encounter spectacles that few of us will ever witness first hand. Go deep under the sea-ice into a magical world of giants, plunge into the heart of an erupting polar volcano and fly to the South Pole across the Antarctic icecap – the largest concentration of ice on earth – retracing the steps of the great Polar explorers.
Get closer than ever before to the lives of our best loved and most charismatic animal characters – polar bears, penguins, wolves and orcas, and witness the most extraordinary examples of survival against the odds that can be found anywhere on our planet.

Frozen Planet Viewing Party



What we thought:

Friday, May 11, 2012

Crayola Outdoor Colored Bubbles #Giveaway (CLOSED)

This giveaway is now closed. Congrats to the winner listed below!

Crayola


Do your kids love playing with bubbles outside in the summer? Mine loves it…always has. I have to make sure that we have them around for summertime fun. Crayola Outdoor Colored Bubbles are a magically colorful way for kids to enjoy one of their favorite outdoor activities and they’re now designed to clean up better!

The product: Crayola Outdoor Colored Bubbles aren’t ordinary bubbles. Because they contain color, they’re messy and will leave temporary colorful marks on skin, cotton and cotton-blend clothing and intended outdoor surfaces. This took some moms by surprise when they used the product last year. They loved the idea of bubbles in different colors, but weren’t expecting them to be messy. So Crayola quickly acted on parents’ feedback and created a new version that keeps all the fun for kid and makes clean up easier for parents. Color magically rubs off skin, hoses off of many outdoor surfaces and washes out of cotton and cotton blend clothing.

Before you get blowing, here are some simple tips for you that make playing with Crayola Outdoor Colored Bubbles and cleaning up even more awesome and enjoyable for both kids and moms.
  • Dress for Mess. Wear washable play clothes and shoes. It’s best to not wear suede, leather or any other material that can’t be washed.
  • Play Outside. An open grassy area is best away from new concrete, decks and porous surfaces like marble. Don’t use at formal events like weddings.
  • Rub skin to remove color.
  • Launder clothes promptly with water and detergent. Repeat washing may be needed.
  • Hose off outdoor surfaces like sidewalks and driveways to wash away color.


Crayola Colored Bubbles Collage




What we thought: When my son first started using the Crayola Outdoor Bubbles he chose the pink ones. He blew a few bubbles from the wand and said “Hey, these aren’t even colored!” He was right, they really weren’t too colorful. It was hard to see the color in them when we blew bubbles. It was mostly like blowing regular bubbles, except there was a lot of dye on the grass from the drips.

As far as making messes, we took precautions before we used the Crayola Outdoor Bubbles. Zachariah changed into an old shirt and pants. He put on his play shoes and we headed to a grassy spot in the yard away from any yard furniture, the house, and patio.

These bubbles are a little messy. The bubble formula is thicker than most and you can see the color in it in the bottle. Zachariah was pretty good about trying to lean over the grass when he was blowing bubbles, so any drips would fall to the ground and not on his clothes. He managed to keep his clothing free from the bubbles. His hand were another story.

We also got to use the Crayola Outdoor Colored Bubble Launcher. The launcher came with two containers of bubbles in different colors. We followed the directions and put the yellow bubbles in. It took a little time to get enough in the launcher for it to work. Our experience was that the launcher is hard to use. You have to turn the handle fairly fast to get it to put out bubbles. (You can see Zachariah’s concentration in the picture above.) And we didn’t get that many bubbles out of it. Mostly they just ran down the front and made a mess. Honestly, Zachariah got tired of it pretty quickly. It just didn’t work well.

I think the Crayola Outdoor Colored Bubbles are OK. They color isn’t bright, and they are messy, but it’s something different for a little fun. The launcher I don’t think works well. I would not buy it for us or others. It just didn’t work like it should have. Just stick with the bubbles, I say.

Where to buy: You can find Crayola Outdoor Colored Bubbles & Bubble Launcher in stores and online.

How to connect: Crayola has this product and so many more that you can see on their website-  http://www.crayola.com/. They are also on Facebook and Twitter.

Prize: One of you will win the Crayola package like I received. It contains a Crayola Outdoor Colored Bubbles 3 pack and launcher.

Giveaway: This giveaway is open until 12:01pm EST 5/19/12. It is open to US residents only. Please enter in the Rafflecopter form below. Good luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway



*Disclaimer: The Crayola Outdoor Colored Bubbles product information and gift packs have been provided by Crayola through MyBlogSpark.*